We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday in Greece”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Irene Palace Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Kolimbia
Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

Went to Rhodes in Greece. The hotel shows it's rating as a 4star hotel. I personally think it is a 3star hotel. Their information on the website says it has a restaurant,I call it a mess hall,no a'lacarte menu,so all you get is buffet food. Have seen worse hotels,but still had a good holiday. If you go to Greece to scuba dive forget it........it is expensive and because of regulations in Greece,diving is not catered for. This is a holiday that we looked forward to and we did enjoy. But will not be going back to Greece.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacques71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 742 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2012

I'm just back from a short but amazing getaway in Rhodes, and I'm already looking forward to come back! My list of things to visit was way too long for 5/6 days only, but I managed anyway to fall in love with the island.
My boyfriend and I spent 5 nights in the Irene Palace Hotel, were we felt extremely welcomed by the entire staff, that surprisingly speak all sorts of different language (Italian, English, French, Spanish, German...amazing); this was particularly pleasant as I'm Italian and my boyfriend is half English and half Greek!
The people at the hotel are warm, helpful and entertaining, offering loads of activities during the day, like stretching, acqua gym, minigolf etc.
The hotel is fairly big and the view from the room is breath-taking. We really enjoyed the food, especially the broad variety of the buffet for dinner.
The hotel also offers a very handy rent a car service, so you don't have to bother taking the bus if you want to go around the island on your terms and conditions. We rented bikes the first day to see the nearby beach Tsambika, a convertable car the second day to enjoy the sun even when driving (a little luxury for the 2 of us!) and a normal car the last day to do more sight seeing.
The most amazing bay we saw is Kallithea, where you can enjoy cristal clear water and waterfals, a pretty awesome bar/restaurant in modern style with a yummy variety of food and pay only € 3 to have sunbeds, umbrellas and clean bathroom and shower. The bay was surprisingly quiet (maybe because it waa June), and the white building around (including a spa offering treatments) give it that exclusive and elegant look which is enhanced by the blue sky and turquoise sea.
Finally strongly recommended is doing a tour in the old city for some cultural time, and then getting lost in the populated little streets full of shops and restaurant (I had the best Kleftiko ever).
To conclude, Rhodes is fantastic and offers much more than just sea. I loved it!

Room Tip: Get a room with the view on the pool, so you can see the sea, the mountains and the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Danila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We were a couple age 27/30 staying over in this hotel after having decided pretty much over a split of a second due to little time, and we were not hoping for much after going abroad with an agency to Tunis. Most things were figured out so all seat belts were definitely on. When looking at their website you can see the hotel looks pretty good and I can say those pictures were probably taken 10-15 years ago. My guess is this hotel was built in the 90's - and they've managed to keep up with maintenance to an acceptable level. You won't find everything in this hotel like a perfect gym nor all the channels on tv in order. What you will find is a totally normal hotel room. It's the same wherever you go. You enter the room and the toilets is the first room on your side, wardrobe on the other. Then there's the usual table and the beds. You open the window and hope for the best... The sea view is recommended, but you won't have much joy from it because the mosquitoes like coming around in the evening and destroy any given moment of joy.

If you really want a better room you should wait for thursday morning to ask since this is a big turnaround day. The rooms are handed out by chance, and the best rooms are for an extra fee of 7 euro/ day. If you look at our pictures we have decided to add both the view from the bottom floor and one from the top floor (room we paid extra for) so you get to see the difference.

This hotel is mostly a travel agency hotel and the guests staying here are either from Germany, Russia, Italy or Hungary. This is something that reflects in the restaurant when they change the menu around and give each country a day of their own. Saturday is the italian night, wednesday Greek, and then there's japanese and hungarian etc. So the choice of main food will differ. The sallad base is always the same though. If you are good at detecting what food is worth eating you'll have a really good value from the food. I don't really recommend the drinks there. Most of them are cheap low value substitues, so stay with water - it's a healthy choice as well!!! This country tema is also continuing during the animation night, and the wednesday (greek night) is the big night when the fireworks goes off!!!

Some reviewers talks about an italian oriented hotel nearby that makes noize most of the time - and that's all true. I don't know what the hell the're up to buy they like making noize most of the time. With your door closed you won't be too much bothered by them (hotel Irene also make a lot of noize). The neighbours on the other side are silent as a rock.

The Town:
Kolombia, as I like to spell it (we saw 10 ways of spelling it) is not a village or town, it's a 100% tourist creation. The street names are Vienna Road, Budapest road, Paris road etc, so you get the picture. Nothing is natural here.
Some warnings if you want to go out.

*The drinks are not really containing alcohole. We had several and we felt more sober than when walking out the door of our hotel. No one seemed to be getting drunk at all.

* The food is not worth a lot since the hotel's gone all inclusive meaning the restaurangs around are struggling to break even. We actually hoped the place with the green lights by the beach would live up to expectations made up from the fantastic looks - but the results were rather disappointing when the food was quite simple. You ask for a grilled chicken and you get a grilled chicken and fries - NOTHING else. That's a bit too simple for my taste. The restaurant might be worth the break of having something new. Reading other reviews makes me understand people took off to other places to get their food.

And please make sure they give you a receipt on the things that you buy so that you know they're paying their taxes.

The Beach
It is a mixture of sand and stones. If you look at the pictures we included you will understand. Walking into the water is not easily done because many small and medium big stones will hurt your foot. Most people struggles with this matter but once you're in it's just a big joy. You can solve this problem with buying one of those sock sandals (you will love them). Apart from that the beach is warm, clean and pretty quiet calm. There's also a shower nearby so you can wash off that salty water.

So staying at this hotel was not something extraordinary. We really enjoyed our staying with the many sunny days and warm beach. The trip to Rhodes old town was also very exciting. Kolombia is a very good base to start from because you're central located and can pick to go to most places that are worth seeing. The staff are mostly behaving well, only a few show tendencies of being rather tired, and I understand that when seeing how hard they need to work at times.
Most of the time we were at the beach or in the restaurang. We didn't have any problems getting a sunchair in the middle of high season. All in all we could probably have picked any hotel at that beach and have the same thing. We all share the same beach and town. It's only down to the few hours you spend in that room during sleep that is different.

Having said all this I would recommend this trip to people who are in need of a hotel and cannot find anything else. I would also recommend it to people who want a week off and don't feel like arranging anything on their own.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NokaJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

4 stars hotel???? Nice people??? Biggest lies in the world.
All inclusive? They charge you almost for a smile! Here is a list of what you have to pay extra:
for an umbrella on the beach, for the safety box in your room, for a real coctail, for an orange juice or expreso cofee, for all the games, for local telephone calls, for the towels for the pool!!! What the f.... Is this their concept of "All inclusive"?

The worst is the food and the service of the staff. I had to eat salads all the time and it is a miracle to get a drink from the staff... Even a coca cola is reduced with watter.
Owful hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank GCZQM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

This was a lovely holday. Although it did get off to a bad start with the change of hotels (2nd change) but the end result was we got the best deal. We were originally booked for the Anavadia then booked into Golden Odyses. On arrival at the airport given This place not knowing what to expect at 3:30am.
Pleasantly surprised with the standards all round given by all staff in hotel. The food was geared towards other europeans. English not catered for as this hotel originally not on UK tourist operators lists. If you want english food stay home, if you like to sample foreign foods this is the place.
There was a welcome salad meal in the rooms fridge.
There was little chance of not finding something to eat, my fiancee loved the sweet trolley, I had to tell her to leave a few bits for the other 100 guests.
Rooms cleaned daily, towels changed if left on bathroom floor.
Fantastic sea view. We were all inclusive.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bagpuss4540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

this hotel is excellent for families with kids of all ages since it is located by the see, in a beautifull green garden with big playground, and animation activities during the whole day and within few minutes walking into the little town full of restaurants and shops. The rooms are very spacy, clean and comfortable. The staff is very pleasant trying to suit your needs. The beach is wide, clean, mostly sandy with some round stones in the water. The shoes for swimming would be a good tip to take with:)The food consisted mostly of rich variety of fresh salads, pastas, and selection of different meats changing each day.There was a food corner for kids offering pizza, chicken nugets and french fries. The inclusive program covered mostly everything. To conclude, the hotel in european rating was more 3stars plus, but we felt very comfortable and had great time. The atmosphere and environment fulfilled our expectations:)we had amazing vacation!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank malamodra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2008

The best Holiday Hotel ever. Staff were absolutely superb, made the week extra special in all areas.Accommodation great, food great. Group of 20 from a Singles Club over 30's had the best time ever.

4  Thank Valerie2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolimbia
5.6 mi away
Cyprotel Faliraki
Cyprotel Faliraki
#10 of 70 in Faliraki
856 reviews
3.4 mi away
Afandou Beach Hotel
Afandou Beach Hotel
#13 of 18 in Afandou
254 reviews
7.4 mi away
Blue Sea Beach Resort
Blue Sea Beach Resort
#7 of 70 in Faliraki
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows
0.1 mi away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
11.7 mi away
Belair Beach Hotel
Belair Beach Hotel
#28 of 126 in Rhodes Town
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irene Palace Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irene Palace Beach Resort

Address: Kolimbia 851 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kolimbia
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range: £36 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Irene Palace Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Irene Palace Beach Resort is a family hotel with a homely, hospitable atmosphere and modern facilities. It offers tranquillity and relaxation for parents and games and entertainment for children. From your room you can embrace the Aegean Sea and from the hotel's garden you can dive into the crystal clear waters of Kolympia. Its picturesque and verdant location, in the area of Kolympia, is ideal; in no time you can find yourselves anywhere on the island, north or south. We are located 25km from Rhodes Town and 25km from well-known Lindos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Irene Palace Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Irene Palace
Irene Palace Kolimbia
Irene Palace Beach Resort Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing