We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for families with young children”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Atlantica Aegean Blue
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Kolimbia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Our family (we have two children under the age of 4) stayed at the hotel for a week in August 2012. Overall it is a fantastic family place! The property is nice and clean. The rooms were clean and fresh. We stayed in a premium, sea side, room on the upper level. (That section of the hotel is newly built and just opened last spring.) Please be advised that the upper level rooms do have a private plunge pool. The lower levels have private pools. (We specifically did not book a room w/ a private pool because we have minor children. However, since the upper rooms have plunge pools we may as well have booked a room w/ a private pool since the "water danger" was there anyway.) The rooms were equipped with things you need when you're traveling with minor children such as a fridge, kettle to heat water in, and a place to hang wet laundry.
The buffet food was absolutely ok. Buffet food isn't exactly the most exciting food but it was definitely decent food. If you wanted more high end food the Greek and Italian a la carte restaurants at the hotel were really good!
As I mentioned above, the place is great if you are traveling with minor kids (most visitors seemed to be). Our kids absolutely loved it. The staff at the kids club was fantastic! And throughout the day on most days there's entertainment for the kids around the pool area such as the "Bamse paraden" or Raj Raj and Coco the clown who makes balloons or teach the kids to juggle. A few nights a week there's also entertainment for the kids at dinner time which keeps the kids busy while their parents can enjoy dinner while watching their kids enjoy the show.
Please keep in mind that this is a place that seems to cater mostly to Scandinavians (at least when we where there)!
The one downside I can think of was the beach. It is a pebble beach, not a sand beach.
So, overall a great place, with super friendly and service minded staff. I can definitely recommend this place to families with children. The location may be a little "off" but that did not bother us since we weren't there for the sightseeing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WorldTravelerFromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,854)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,162 - 1,168 of 1,854 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2012 via mobile

We returned yesterday from a one week stay at this wonderful hotel. I travelled with my husband, 3 year old daughter and my parents.
Every aspect of our stay far exceeded our expectations. The hotel is incredibly clean and modern. The food and drink selection is varied, plentiful and to a very high quality for an all inclusive board basis. We loved the restaurants various themed nights, especially the Sunday roast and Greek nights, the bar staff and waiters are very efficient, friendly and courteous.
The hotel is situated in a beautiful setting, the mountain view is stunning.
We were particularly impressed with The Animation team, as mentioned in previous reviews they all work tirelessly hard to ensure that both adults and children are thoroughly entertained both day and night. My mum loved Debbies fitness sessions, shes a lovely, enthusiatic girl who expertly taught a wide variety of fitness sessions, I loved the aqua gym especially. Our daughter loved the evening Aegean live shows and watching the children all dancing together was adorable. The kids club reps are fantastic with the children!!
The later evening shows were brilliant, we particularly loved the hilarious variety show, the top of the pops night and mamma Mia, the team are so talented , funny and energetic. Scott's singing was amazing and Danni's dancing was fantastic. Special thanks to Tom, a genuinely nice guy, who seemed to really love his job and we all really warmed to him. Keep up the good work everyone .

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karenbrown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Very nice holiday resort!
The room was of high quality with a clean bathroom, a fridge (filled on arrival but not re-filled during the stay), and a very big terrace. There was a surcharge on the safe.
The staff were always very friendly and helpful. All meals were good (there was little variety during the lunch meals) but dinners were fantasctic - during our two week stay there were different dinner themes on each day, even with a Sushi night!
The animation team were also great and always had fun activities going on.
A great addition to the resort was the waterpark on site with great slides and nice views from the top :) The hotel also provided free vouchers for some sea water sports.
The location of the hotel is great - Kolymbia is a quiet town ideal for families. It's also close to the Tsampika monastery - the quickest way to get there by foot was a steep climb on the hill right next to the hotel.
Although the sunbeds on the beach are of an additional fee, there are free hotel sunbeds very close to the beach.
Overall we thought the resort was a great choice and worth recommending!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martitag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Stayed here with my other half from 8-15 sept.
After booking this hotel we were slightly concerned that as a couple looking for a relaxing break this hotel might not suit us as it would be overrun by children. In truth, we had nothing to worry about. Yes, there were children present however you could easily there was plenty of space if you wanted to avoid them. I can imagine that in the school holidays this may not be the case.

Food was great. Large selection at every meal time. I can be quite a fussy eater but managed to find plenty of food at every meal. The fresh salad and fruit selection is great at every meal time. Ice cream was served throughout the day from the pool bar as well as popcorn and baguettes from the snack corner.

Around the pool there was plenty of sunbeds. Sunbeds with parasols started being reserved but only around 10 so no need to rush out of bed in the morning! The pool was very cold (much colder than the sea) but it was so refreshing once you were in and swimming which is just what you need when it is 35 degrees.

Staff were friendly and attentive and the general upkeep of the entire complex is very good. At meal times plates and cleared quickly but when you are in the buffet all inclusive setting I think this is what you need.

The entertainment team work very hard. Activities are run every hour throughout the day and the same team go on to do the show in the evening. No pressure to join in unless you wanted to, they simple announce which activities will be taking place. The evening shows are not the best but thinking about the number of hours that these people work it is hardly surprising! Don't go expecting something from the west end and then I am sure you will not be disappointed!

We ventured out for a day in a hire car. Prices for one day start at 45euro via Rodos Cars which have a desk in the hotel. This is so cheap when you consider that the cheapest unguided tour on offer by thomson starts at about 30euros per person. We went down the coast to Lindos were we visited the acropolis and then on down the coast to Presonisi beach which is where the med meets the aegean sea and is quite a site!

Would definitely recommend this hotel for some sunshine in september!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carts17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We have just returned from the Aegean Blue and had a fantastic time - We arrived late at night and having booked three rooms they had only allocated two (one for 3 and one for 4) the next day we went to see the Manager and she sorted this out and offered us an extra a la carte meal to say sorry for the mix up,
The Hotel is very clean and the food is lovely they had something for everyone and being a vegetarian was pleased to find a veggie corner. The Staff are always so happy and helpful - We did go in to Rhodes Town by bus one evening but must say it was the journey from Hell coming back they sold about 120 tickets for a bus with about 60 seats so would proberly get a taxi or hire a car if i was ever going to do the trip again - and a big thank you to the Thompson Reps who was very helpful
The Weather was fantastic for early September everyday was 35 Degrees all in all a fantastic 12 days holiday :)

Room Tip: Bungalows are much nicer than the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TEETEE15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This is a superb Family hotel. If you are looking for a relaxing, romantic, couples only break then this is not the place for you. However if you are a young family it will be the ideal holiday for you.

The staff are superb and will always go out of their way to help. The manager must have a twin as he was everywhere keeping an eye on his establishment!

The food is great with lots of choice every day. For mass produced food it is of a good standard - we understand that they produce over 3000 meals a day at peak season.

The entertainment staff must drink lots of red bull as they are on the go from 10am till late. You can choose to join in or not (no pressure at all). If you have kids they will love the mini disco which is always followed by a show by the entertainment staff.

This is classed as a 5 star hotel but if you are used to traveling to the likes of Dubai or Singapore don't expect the true 5 star standards. The only negative comment we have to say about this hotel is the sun bed issue (if you go in peak season you will have to get up at 8am to bagsie your spot).

We would return to this hotel which is a good testimonial in itself. If you are looking to book here you will have a great time!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Absolutely fabulous hotel- very pleased. We (newlywed couple 25/29) wanted a complete get away after a difficult few months and we had nothing to worry about here. Everything was taken care of. I have gluten/wheat and dairy intolerences and was very impressed to have a welcome meeting with Erik as soon as we arrived to go over what was available for me. Eating out is difficult, but it was very refreshing to have so much choice, and gluten free bread if I wanted. I didnt actually order any bread as there was so much variety in the food, I just didnt need it. Our room was lovely and had no problems at all. Wide variety of entertainment and activities for everyone to get involved with... Or just just sit back and watch others do as was the case with us lazy bones. We were not hassled to get involved and all the staff were brilliant at their jobs. Although all inclusive, We walked to a local bar a few nights for a round of mini golf (Star bar, 5 mins away) and the staff here were very pleasant. We also took the 'fun train' (€3.50 each) to a meat restaurant further down the coast which was extremely good and reasonably priced. We walked back to the hotel from here which took about half hour, but was broken up browsing in the many shops along the way. We stayed from 28th August to 5th September and overall had a brilliant time. Even though we dont yet have our own family, we took full advantage of the waterpark for some carefree fun. Thank you so much Aegean Blue- you didnt let us down :)

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank HolidayHappiness_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolimbia
0.8 mi away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
12.9 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,934 reviews
26.6 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Delfinia Resort Hotel
Delfinia Resort Hotel
#13 of 34 in Kolimbia
410 reviews
9.6 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Cook Rhodes
Casa Cook Rhodes
#3 of 34 in Kolimbia
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Aegean Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Aegean Blue

Address: Kolimbia 85103, Greece (Formerly Atlantica Club Aegean Blue)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kolimbia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kolimbia
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kolimbia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range: £127 - £564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantica Aegean Blue 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location of this hotel offers the most amazing views of the sapphire Mediterranean seas. The perfect place for families and children of all ages. So much to do, no one will ever be bored. If you're travelling with little ones, they'll have a ball splashing around in the children's pool and letting off steam in the playground. Direct access to the beach, club- style facilities and organized activities make the Atlantica Agean Blue the ideal holiday for everyone! Number of rooms :396 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlantica Aegean Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Atlantica Aegean Blue Hotel Kolimbia
Atlantica Aegean Blue Hotel
Hotel Atlantica Aegean Blue
Atlantica Aegean Blue Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing