We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lydia Maris Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lydia Maris Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Kolimbia
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“lovely resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed at the Lydia Maris from 2nd-16th October.On arrival we were shown straight to our room which was 504 middle level over looking the garden this turned out to be a nice quiet spot with the late sun on our balcony which was a bonus(the temp hit the 30's while we were there).The room itself had twin beds a nice bathroom and a good size wardrobes .The cleaners were very efficient and we were left clean towels every day.There was a safety deposit box which cost us 24 euros for the fornight which was very good value in comparison to other hotels.

The food was very good and what I would call 'mediterranean' as well as plenty to suit the English palate (bacon/egg/toast/ plus for breakfast and roast dinners/salads at lunch and evening if nothing else suited). We met some lovely people who said they just liked basic food but even they said that there was always something that they enjoyed, and whatever we had was beautifully cooked.

The staff were all great apart from the daytime barman in the pool bar who made me feel like I was putting him out just by asking for a drink(he never smiled) and the inside evening bar manager was more interested in singing and dancing than serving.

The only part of the hotel that was a let down was the pool area it was very small for the size of the hotel and with the rooms around the pool it felt claustraphobic it must be a nightmare in the summer when the hotel is full.

We were surprised how pretty kolymbia is we found a lovely walk over the hill/cliff with views over the 3 bays it was stunning.The beaches also looked very well cared for.

There is a good bus service to Rhodes town and Lindos which is cheap and well worth using if you are wanting to sightsee.

The bar up the road from the hotel was very popular if you wanted to watch football there were always a choice of matches on and if they didn't have what you wanted to drink then they would go and find it for you.There are also a good variety of shops if you require retail therapy.
A good holiday but I'm not sure that we would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are not booking a suite then book a twin garden room but make sure you are on middle or top f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    155
    57
    25
    16
See reviews for
154
177
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel 19-26th October which is a quiet time as the island 'closes' at the end of October. On arrival we were given a suite which was lovely. The food was just as you would expect from an All Inclusive - lots of choice. The entertainment was ok (they did try hard) but as others have said it is geared towards the Germans. Yes there are a lot of Germans here and some do ignore you but they are not all like that and we found a few that said hello and tried to be friendly. The few bars and shops that are there were empty but I can imagine in the summer it would be really busy with a great atmosphere. We did go into one bar at the top of the road (Memories) to watch football and had a great time in there. We got the bus to Lindos - quaint town but lots of hills! We then went on the bus to Rodos and fell in love with it. Be careful where you eat as we paid nearly 9 euros for a beer and an orange juice but further up the road paid 9 euros for a beer, wine, burger & chips and a toasted sandwich. At the hotel the pool bar stays open late and the barman is very funny. The beach was lovely and so peaceful laying listening to the waves. The sea was slightly warmer than the hotel pool which was freezing! Overall the staff were very good and willing to help with anything. We did not have any problems at all here and would go back again for a late holiday (temperature was 25 for the whole week).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ansal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Our stay at the hotel was good overall. The only downside for us was the room we were allocated. We requested a quite room and were given a room next to the pool and entertainment area. The drains were also very smelly (I think they need cleaning out more often) and the shower flooded the floor each time we had a shower (shower curtain too short). We complained and asked to me moved. Reception were really helpful and we were given a much better room at the back of the hotel. This was lovely and really quite. The cleaning staff were superb.

Yes there were a lot of Germans in the hotel but this was not a problem to us at all. We found them all really pleasant and friendly. I do think it's a lot about how you approach different nationalities to your own. We had fun trying to communicate with each nationality, there is always a way round the language barrier and sometimes it can be hilarious!!

The food in the dining room was fine although a little luke warm sometimes but we managed to find something we liked each day. We found most of the staff to be a happy bunch once they got to know you, not rude at all!!

As for the entertainment, it was similar to most hotels of this rating, in fact a little better. We think that joining in with the games and entertainment is a good way of getting to know fellow guests, even if the games can be a little silly at times!! We loved the Greek night, lots of dancing and really good fun.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter and more modern. They also have a decent shower cubicle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed here with my partner for our first holiday together in early October.
We thought it was lovely! The pool area with the sunbeds was a really nice place to relax and the hotel is not far from the beach which was amazing. We found all the staff to be friendly and helpful. My partner has visited Greece before and he was slightly disappointed the food wasn't to the standard he has had previously but that did not affect our view on the hotel.

We stayed in room 270 - on the path way as you walk in. Very big room, double bed and lovely big bathroom and shower.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KalaH1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We came to the Lydia Maris last year thinking we would never return but sometimes it's better the devil you know than the devil you don't!! The room standards are still high except for the toilet system not flushing for a couple of days but this was rectified as soon as it was reported. The rooms at the back of the Hotel are really quiet with lovely views of olive groves and mountains. We had 1st floor room 307, also there was the afternoon sun to enjoy - very nice with flat screen tv and very comfortable beds. The cleaners do a sterling job and we had maid service every day as well as clean towels, even when we didn't really need them.

The food was of a very high standard but my partner found the fish and veggie options a bit limited. Breakfast food excellent - not sure what the dinner was like as we hired a car for the 11 days but on the day we did 'stay put' it was very good.

The entertainment was a disappointment from an adult English point of view. It was geared around children a lot of the time but we went out most evenings to walk around Kolymbia just for a change of scenery!

The bar Manager is exceedingly good at his job - he needs a medal dealing with the mayhem which can ensue around the pool bar in the evenings - especially knowing who's turn it was to be served! The fact that he can remember what your tipple was night after night is a miracle in itself considering the number of people wanting to be served.

The downside of this Hotel is the Restaurant staff. What a miserable, rude bunch they were. There were several occasions where i was pushed passed, ignored, and practically kocked down the stairs - unbelievable! My partner had words with the so called restaurant manager, but he just pretended not to understand when i was pushed passed as i was going down the dining steps. The only good girl was Maria who was delightful - may i suggest you make her the manager next year ?

All in all we had a good holiday at the Lydia Maris.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billshaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Our flight to Rhodes was fine, we arrived in the night at about 1 am.
My first thoughts were that the entrance looked more like 2 star than 4. We were greeted by the night porter and rushed to a room down in the "cellars". This room stank of toilet fluid, we opened the door and it stank of sewerage. It was not the room we booked and the furniture was rubbish. We didn't even have a head board. The beds were dreadful and not at all comfortable. We returned to reception and were told that the hotel was full.
The next morning we went back to reception and were shown rooms until we found one suitable and the same as the brochure picture. The manager had no problem making sure we were happy, but it was a terrible start to the holiday.
The food was really good at Lydia Maris and there was always food on so if we missed lunch there was pizza in the afternoon. The same applied after dinner, there was always soup and salads available. I liked the rule that at dinner time formal dress was required. The restaurant at Lydia Maris is very plush in the evening.
At breakfast the dress code was casual. It seemed to rub off on the cleanliness of cups and jugs and we had a number of incidents where we had to change our cups and cutlery. This never happened in the evening.
The hotel pool was very nice and the all day bar excellent. The gym was a bit worn out but had a nice feel to it. The animation was for kids and continued until 10 pm. On the whole this hotel was an excellent choice for a family.
Our second room was very comfortable and overlooked the mountains and sun set, we were very happy on the first floor.
There seemed to be a lot of different standards of room in this hotel and I would advise that if you book here and are unhappy ask to be moved as the management don't have a problem moving guests about.
I would say that we should have booked a couples hotel and for 10 day's not 2 weeks.
Rhodes is a great Island with lovely beaches,relaxed people and some old historic sites well worth a visit.
Overall we enjoyed our holiday.

Room Tip: Take a picture from the brochure to compare what you should have to what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We arrived Sept 4th for one week.Our first impression was that it was small and not really the sort of holiday we have been used to.However within a few hours we realised how lovely it was.Yes it catered for mainly Germans and the entertainment was somewhat limited but the animation team seemed to be there 24/7 and a great bunch..they were never pushy either.
The food was fab-u-lous and plenty of choice.The pool bar is the main hub of activity ..we met some lovely people (Margaret and Mike and Carol and Andy!) and had a great laugh.
We would thoroughly recommend the Lydia Maris .

Room Tip: We had a room next to the pool and bar which was a hive of activity but once you closed your door it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fizzy4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolimbia
0.2 mi away
SENTIDO Port Royal Villas & Spa
10.7 mi away
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows
12.1 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Princess Andriana Resort & Spa
11.5 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#9 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mistral Hotel
Mistral Hotel
#22 of 33 in Kolimbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lydia Maris Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lydia Maris Resort & Spa

Property: Lydia Maris Resort & Spa
Address: Vienn Str, Kolimbia 851 03, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kolimbia
#4 Spa Hotel in Kolimbia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kolimbia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kolimbia
#8 Family Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lydia Maris Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lydia Maris Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lydia Maris Hotel Kolimbia
Lydia Maris Kolimbia
Lydia Maris Resort & Spa Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing