We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kolymbia Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Kolimbia
Reviewed 20 January 2007

Fantastic half-term break to recharge the batteries before X-mas. Weather is warm enough in Oct. to extend a hot North European Summer. Sea was warm. Hotel is set in the valley which formed in the middle of a dead volcano thousands of years ago. Resort is a favourite with the Germans - so is a far cry from Falyraki. Must visit the Crousel restaurant - family will make you welcome with the best food in Kolymbia.
Avoid the sea-view restaurant - expensive, bad food, and lots of mosies. Car hire - in the hotel - is of the best value at @ £12 per day. Lyndos and Rhodes are about 1/2 hour drive, and petrol is cheap.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Maglip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 784 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
London, UK
116
Reviewed 11 July 2006

This was our most relaxing trip ever. The staff was extremely friendly, helpful and overall an clean, outstanding hotel to stay at. We loved our morning chats with the staff and having a wonderful beach so close!

We totally recomend hiring a car and seeing the great beaches and sites Rhodes has to offer. The hotel has a great car hire service (very reasonably priced).

We were pleased with the Kolymbia area as it was right in the middle of Rhodes Town and Lindos (2 great areas to visit). The only thing to be aware of is Kolymbia is a very German based area eg. Majority of TV channels were in German.

Food was great, lovely variety and always fresh!

The beaches are simply amazing and we recommend going to Kalithea as they had a wonderful area for snorkling - we struggled to tear ourselves away! Ill include a photo!

Again as you can tell we have nothing but wonderful things to say about The Kolymbia Beach Hotel and Rhodes as an Island - you really have to go!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Ashby de la zouch
118
Reviewed 8 October 2005

My husband and I went to Kolymbia at the end of August and spent there 11 sunny and scorching hot days! It was our second visit to Kolymbia resort and we loved it!
We stayed at half board Kolymbia Star Hotel and would definitely stop there again. The room was nice and clean, the shower was hot and powerful, the food was lovely as well - lots to choose from every night! The staff were friendly and helpful. The only thing that spoiled the atmosphere a bit, was a very angry British man who was not only extremely rude to the staff but managed to offend other visitors by telling one of them for example how 'thick they were... because they had problems with using the coffee machine'! Luckily for that man the offendend German lady did not understand all his words but I had a job trying to convince my husband (who is British) not to punch the man in the face!!!
Kolympia resort itself is lovely - if you after quiet holiday. the beach is pebbly but clean and the water is gorgeous! There are a lot of little local tavernas/restaurants which I highly recommend. the food they serve is lovely, drinks are cheap and the owners are ever so friendly. But the best place to visit is definitely 'Georgy Boy' tavern next to Delfinia hotel. the owner is the most entertaining and friendly person I have ever met and his sister who helps him run the place is just the lovliest! apart from excellent food, coctails and super iced coffee what you get is the experience of just spending time with George! I guarantee it once you visit 'Georgy Boy' you will never forget George and his sister Katarina. My husband and I will definitely be going there again!
To sum up, we will go to Kolymbia again. However, we will not book ourselves into an all inclusive hotel! there is too many places to eat and drink at, instead of having to stay at the hotel every night! Everybody we met who was staying in all inclusive hotels said that they regret not being able to go out and try supreme cuisine and local atmosphere!
Also, we recommend doing a little sightseeing (Lindos, Tsampika beach, 7 Springs, Rhodes Town) - but do use the local buses and dont get suckered into organised trips. You will pay E2.5 to get to Lindos and E2.5 to get back on a local bus instead of having to pay E30/40 to go on an organised trip. rhodes buses run on time and most of them have aircon as well.

Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2005

We spent 4 nights at the Kolymbia Star in early August.
Reminded me very much of Butlins/Pontins, regimented style of serving breakfast and dinner. Recommend you take your own fruit juices, unless you like orange cordial.
Rooms O.K. ,clean air conditioned, although we experienced a few power cuts during our stay.
Pools (2) very crowded.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Drabboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
WORCESTER ENGLAND
110
Reviewed 11 August 2005

Having just returned after 2 weeks at the very good Kolymbia Star Hotel Rhodes. I would like to be stating in this review the 2 weeks were worth an excellent rating.
Unfortunately in my view the very good air-conditioned accomodation, friendly helpfull staff,magnificent setting and back drop & beautiful weather were sadly let down by the standard of food served at both breakfast and dinner. They certainly did not match the standards set by the rest of the Hotel.
This was not helped by an air-conditioning system which was unable to cope, regularly breaking down & making the experience at times both unbareable & unpleasant.
The holiday was good but so very close to being excellent with just a little more attention spent on the dinning experience, it would be.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Norwich, UK
128
Reviewed 6 July 2005

What can I say!! It was THE best holiday ever! Extremely high standards in every aspect of the hotel for an affordable price. Food was plentiful with a very wide range of local and more familiar foods - something for everyone. Rooms were clean and spacious with all the modern day amenities. The views from rooms, and generally from all over the hotel were lovely. The pools were of good sizes and were enjoyed by people of all ages. Entertainment started at 11 with Sahbi and his water aerobics!! Big up to Sahbi! Entertainment and activities went on throughout the day including things such as waterpolo, volleyball, darts leading on to evening entertainment such as karaoke and the hotels' very own version of 'Mr and Mrs Kolymbia Star'....which proved to be a big hit! The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The surrounding areas and towns are a must see, especially Eucalyptus Drive which is popular day and night. So, if you're looking for a relaxing yet fun filled holiday then this is most definately the place for you!

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank traveller190715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolimbia hotels
0.6 mi away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
0.2 mi away
Delfinia Resort Hotel
Delfinia Resort Hotel
#13 of 34 in Kolimbia
410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kolymbia Bay Art Hotel
Kolymbia Bay Art Hotel
#17 of 34 in Kolimbia
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Eden Village Myrina Beach
0.7 mi away
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
#12 of 34 in Kolimbia
818 reviews
0.4 mi away
SunConnect Kolymbia Star
SunConnect Kolymbia Star
#7 of 34 in Kolimbia
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kolymbia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolymbia Beach Hotel

Address: Kolymbia, Kolimbia 851 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kolimbia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range: £64 - £381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kolymbia Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, Bookgreece.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kolymbia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kolymbia Beach Kolimbia
Kolymbia Beach Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing