We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Odyssey Kolimbia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Kolimbia
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

The good stuff - Nice place. Hotel was clean and comfortable and most important, relaxing. Room was good. Clean. Don’t go on holiday to sit in a room so it sufficed. Typically, the safe was extra. Food was good. All buffet. The range of foods on offer was better than a lot of places and the food did vary from night to night. However, we don’t go on holiday for the food. We go out to dinner for that, so it sufficed. The staff was generally friendly and helpful. Daily entertainment by the pool is typical of its kind – water polo, water aerobics and that kind of thing. You don’t have to get involved and I didn’t find the music being played too intrusive. The beach is a 15mins walk from the hotel or 5 mins in the free hotel transfer minibus. Not the usual nutter driving whilst abroad, which was nice. The beach is nice as are the family who run the sun bed business and ‘Sexy Billy’s’ Cantina. 2 beds and a brolly was €7 from the time you got them until 6pm. Getting the 0930 bus meant we always got beds and brolly. The beach is grainy sand and not the most comfortable looking stuff to lay on. There are toilets at the beech. They're free and clean. Take a snorkel with you as there is some excellent snorkelling to be had. Don't go too far out and supervise kids. The current seriously begins, where the rocky outcrop ends. Back at the hotel, the nightly entertainment was good fun after a couple of drinks, if you got your head in the right place and let go of all pretensions. Admittedly it’s exceptionally cheesy. Bingo, raffles, the worst of Disco during the, er, disco. It’s a cheap package holiday. What do you expect? Fire eating night was quite good. Cheesy-ness is an essential ingredient. Let go and enjoy it. Like I said, have a couple of drinks first. Try and get a room away from the main hotel and try and get an apartment style room, or else you’ll be enjoying the entertainment every night, whether you like it or not. We had an apartment in block 5, which was nicely out of the way. The hotel complex is not big so don’t worry, it won’t take a week to find the pool from your room. Kolymbia town is nice for a tourist visit. You can walk from the beach on your return, which takes 15mins. We preferred going from the hotel. Turn right out of the exit. Keep going straight on the first cross roads (smaller, crossed with London Street) and then turn right at the second crossroads. Keep going. Et Voila. Kolymbia. Go to Nico’s for some food. Don’t order starters and a main course unless you’re American. The portions are huge. We ate out, 1 main course, a 500ml bottle of beer each, plus tip for about €15. On the way back, stop at Brillianta Bar. A nice family ran place that’s relaxed. Happy hour, 2 for one, from 6pm-2am, B52’s aren’t easy to mix but they managed no problems. They tasted great too and the drinks were branded. 2 cocktails each in ‘happy hour’ for 2 of you was €7. Unbeatable prices. Talking of pricing, believe it or not, the hotel shop is on a par with the prices on the street. Except the books. Don’t buy the books. A bit of a cheek: take a novel bought here in Oxfam for £1.50 and left in the room on departure. Try and sell in hotel shop for €5. I don’t think so. On balance there’s more good than bad and we’d go back again if we just wanted to splodge somewhere, where it’s relaxed and still 35degC by the pool in early September. Unusually for us we didn’t want to go sight seeing much and so this hotel was perfect. Out of the way. Nice and relaxing. Just what the doctor ordered. Apparently if you did want to go for a small trip out, Rhodes City (cultural centre of Rhodes, allegedly) is only a bus ride away and the costs are apparently reasonable.

Not so good stuff - The all-inclusive cocktails weren’t great and I’d stick with the beer. The most annoying thing from this hotel was the fact that all-inclusive drinks are not served after 11pm. You have to pay between 11pm-1am. This in my view is not right. A glass of the beer you were pouring yourself at 10.59pm was €1.50 at 11. The bar men are sticklers for time by the way and there’s no charming those fellas. The bar staff are the most miserable I have seen working in the hospitality business, anywhere. Fortunately the relaxed nature of the hotel helped me past this for the rest of the time. We weren’t impressed by the use of glass by the pool and a few did get dropped. Customers were left to clear up their own broken glass and on one occasion a small splinter did find its way into my Wife’s foot (fortunately not requiring the e111 and only some tenacity). The main pool is deep by the way, so unless your kids are over 6ft you may want to keep an eye on them once they get past the water feature. There is a shallow pool for littlies.

Conclusion – There was a broad age range of people visiting and I think the hotel catered well for all ages and tastes. At least, they catered as best as you can possibly cater for everyone. The poolside was never majorly overcrowded and a sun bed was always available, providing you were prepared to move some about to where you wanted them. The Greek people are generally accepting and friendly and so when you’re out and about down the beach for example, you don’t need your guard up and can just get on with your holiday. The only people this hotel may not suit would be young groups or couples looking for action. Faliraki is just down the road (20-25mins taxi journey), but is prohibitive at €20 one way, keeping things nice and relaxed for the rest of us. We chose this holiday based on the good reviews on Trip Advisor and overall, The Golden Odyssey lived up to its reputation.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MHW73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    198
    149
    85
    71
See reviews for
191
298
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lichfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2009

Don't listen to anything negative about this place ...... rooms are basic but very clean , towels changed daily.The staff are very friendly if you make an effort and chat to them.The drinks are great , cocktails are not too fantastic but thats all.
The food is plenty ful and varied and very well cooked and presented, you may have to wait for glasses in the dining room but you don't have to wait for long.
The animation team are the best Sabi is multi talented and friendly guy and annette is fantastic , they made our holiday so special. The hotel is about 15 minutes walk fro the shops and about 20 minutes walk from the beach . A fabulous time and wonderful memories of a lovely hotel in a very pretty part of sleepy Greece.Oh and don't worry about the buses they are very cheap and air conditioned.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnythejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckenham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2009

We arrived a bit sceptical due to some negative reviews but with an open mind. The hotel itself is basic, the rooms are air conditioned which was a blessing! Our room was in a quiet location and we were never kept awake at night by any roudiness. A MASSIVE thankyou to Sabi and Annet!!! the Animation tean were absolutey fantastic and tried really hard to keep every thing fun and varied. They were so friendly and my children loved them to bits. Although don't book on the strength of this as I doubt they will return next season as they usually entertain at bigger hotels and I think they were getting bored by the time we left. The food was absolutey super, with no complaints from my fussy children. The beer and wine was on tap to help yourselves, and the measures of spirits were massive! There is also a cocktail list you can work your way through as part of the all inclusive. The queue for the bar seemed to be a bone of contention in previous reviews, but it wasn't too bad as the staff are fast. NIkos the barman is everything that was said about him in prior reviews, but you don't go on holiday to make friends with the barman? All the other staff were great and appreciated it if you tried to speak a little greek even if only yamas or kalimera! The general atmosphere of the hotel was so friendly and we made friends with every nationality, and on the last day we were hugging them all goodbye with heavy hearts! This is the first holiday we have had where we have not wanted to come home and it went far too quickly. If you want a relaxing holiday with plenty to eat and drink, guaranteed sunshine and laughs then this is it! We will definately come here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb37Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffs
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2009

Arrived early hours and owner took us to our chalet, close to the restaurant. Very large room, with bath and shower! Woke up in the morning to find lovely view of fountain and gardens. Food always plentiful and excellent with lots of variety. Maitre "d" and his staff very friendly and helpful, packed lunches when needed no problem at all.
Facilities superb and clean, no problem getting drinks from the bar. Would recommend the free beach bus rather than walking and bus to other towns right outside!(much cheaper than organised trips.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ian1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

It appears that when you go to the Golden Odyssey, its owners are like Basil Fawlty, you are there under sufferance. The owners have reserved tables even when the paying guests were struggling to find a seat. It always felt that it was a 'us and them' situation, they never spoke to the guests. How the maitre d', waiters, bar staff and cleaners put up with them, I don't know.
The food was varied and of good quality. The cleaners kept our room immaculate. The entertainment which had been criticised in the past was good and hilarious when it wasn't suppose to be - Irish dancing?
Be aware that you have pay 30€ deposit for a a/c controller but pay 30€ for the key to the safe which is not returnable.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

We arrived for our 2 weeks family holiday, the first in 5 years and omg what a shock to be greeted by such arrogant, obnoxious owners. They appalled us day after day with their despicable attitude towards their staff...clicking of fingers and jangling of rosary beads to attract our wonderful Maitre d's attention. How did he put up with it????? 2 tablets a day he informed us......they never interacted with their paying customers...apart from to shooo us away when sat a bit too close.
The room was average....on closer inspection there was a wacking great lead pipe sticking out of the bathroom floor! The door frame moved entirely when leant on, a massive hole in the wall, and hairs and dirt all over a piece of carpet!!!! After 3 days and a wonderful rep, Paul all problems were sorted.....the entertainment was superb, Toto and Anni you are true gems to that awful place......
One good point was that the island is a true beauty, the sights we saw were tremendous and we would certainly visit the island again, but giving the hotel a miss...there are better. Whoever reads this its up to you to make your own mind up but please be careful, if you have another option go for it....

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaColita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambs
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

Stayed here for a week in September 2007 and found it very pleasant and comfortable. Did not realise we had been given a premier room so very very disappointed with small room this time but even more disappointed that not only was it in poor condition (patio door did not lock, sockets off the walls, ineffective air con, tired bathroom, pillows like small blocks of concrete, but the view from the balcony was straight into the full branches of an olive tree so although close to and should have been looking over pool area, we just had tree branches to look out on. The reception staff were arrogant unhelpful and sometimes downright rude, treating the guests as 2nd rate citizens with a sneering contemptuous attitude. (Apart from the night porter on arrival, he was pleasant and chatty) The owners were uncivil and even when you attempted to speak Greek to them, could not be bothered to raise a smile. the bar staff are very hard working but again, whilst trying out a little Greek on them, a smile or two would not have come amiss. The "entertainment" was banal in the extreme and exceptionally loud to the point of being painful and when a polite request was made to lower the volume the restaurant manager was very rude. The grounds were delightful and still beautifully maintained and the food was reasonable and plentiful and YES what is it about being AI that makes some nationalities behave like pigs at a trough! Piles and plates and plates of food at each sitting - where do they put it all? the maid service was good and the waitresses in the main restaurant were extremely hard working but one or two more would have meant a better service and an easier life for them. As for the saga with the toaster - well - what is the problem in going out and buying one that actually works? It was a farce on the days they put it out with toast not cooking at all or burning to a cinder. The drinks were most definitely not watered down and spirits in fact were very strong. Lindos and Rhodes are a must and the very helpful lady in reception from Rodos cars was a lesson to the hotel receptionists in how it should be done - and the cars were very reasonable and good. Very poor at guests who have flights home in the early hours of the morning with a rude "why should you keep room when other guest wants it" instead of, well, yes you can keep a room at a cost of 30e because of course there will be other guests arriving in the middle of the night after you have left in the middle of the night. No refreshments available, dirty public loo - yet free tea and coffee on tap all day - why not leave it on overnight for departing or indeed arriving guests? Oh yes, nice big fridge in the room but when you arrive at 5.30 a.m. in the morning, nothing in it and nowhere to get a drink until the restaurant opens at 7 a.m. by which time you are trying to sleep to catch up on a night flight. Why not put a bottle of water (17e) in the fridge? They did bring a half bottle of wine on day two to welcome us but a bottle of water at 5.30 a.m. would have been appreciated so much more. the usual problem with trying to beat the germans to the sun beds in the morning and then finding that they had put towels on the beds but did not materialise until after lunch! Thank God for the lovely weather and good sized pool.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janicecambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolimbia
0.9 mi away
SENTIDO Port Royal Villas & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Anavadia
Hotel Anavadia
#25 of 33 in Kolimbia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marianna Palace
Marianna Palace
#19 of 33 in Kolimbia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Irene Palace Hotel
Irene Palace Hotel
#13 of 33 in Kolimbia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
12.0 mi away
Belair Beach Hotel
Belair Beach Hotel
#28 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
10.8 mi away
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
#13 of 15 in Kallithea
3.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Odyssey Kolimbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Odyssey Kolimbia

Property: Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
Address: Kolimbia, Kolimbia 851 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Odyssey Kolimbia 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Odyssey Kolimbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia Hotel Kolimbia
Golden Odyssey Hotel Kolimbia
Kolimbia Golden Odyssey Hotel
Golden Odyssey Rhodos
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing