We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Family Holiday In Greece”
Review of Marathon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marathon Hotel
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Kolimbia
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“1st Family Holiday In Greece”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We didn't read the reviews on the Marathon Hotel before booking and I am so glad that we didn't as if we had we may not have booked...... We stayed at the Marathon for 1 week from the 8th August 2012 we had a family suite which was a great size for myself Husband and two Children 13 and 10 year olds. (as the children had a twin bedded area off the main room. The food at the hotel was very good, breakfast had a very good choice be it a cooked breakfast, sausage,bacon eggs mushrooms etc or there was a continental selection, cereals and warm croissants, pan au chocolate, and really delicious raison whirls. lunch was choice of salads, and warm dishes, with breads (all self serve) dinner was again very much the same as lunch (one hint if you see a pudding you like the look of take when getting main course as run out very quickly) also we found that the meals are much nicer if you start with a salad and then get a warm main course. Self serve drinks during meals Red / White wine beer, coke, fanta, soda, water, One area they could improve is having more staff on the bar in the eveing as you can wait for a drink for a while (especially when it gets near to 10.45 when the all inclusive runs out) in the afternoon there are icecreams from the bar from 3 -5pm these are served in tubs and are really worth waiting for...... also there are not enough seats outside in the eveing by the bar. there are a lot of broken sun beds by the poole but most are useable. also we really liked this the poole is very deep and there is only a small area shallow enough to stand in (there is a separate area for children. The location of the hotel is great for the beach and buses if you want a day out. We went to Lindos one day and fell in love with it. Great holiday and we can't wait for another holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zjp2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    181
    84
    43
    41
See reviews for
171
180
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We have just returned from a weeks holiday, myself, husband and 2 children (16 and 14). We had a family suite room which consisted of 4 beds (2 beds in an alcove set back from the main bedrooms) the alcove part didnt have any furniture apart from the beds which I found strange as 2 of our party had no mirror, bedside tables etc. Using the shower was a little difficult as there was no holder for the shower head so you had to hold it whilst showering. The food in the hotel was lovely I just wish they labelled it so you knew what you were eating. I do think maybe there was a lack of staff, there was only ever one man on the bar at anyone time and this caused major queues especially at ice cream time which was only on the all inclusive between 3.00-5.00. These are only minor comments and hopefully will not reflect badly on the hotel. The hotel was clean, the staff friendly and location was brilliant. If you want a good value for money hotel on a very beautiful island then the Marathon Hotel should definately be considered.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JackieMc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed for two weeks at the end of July with our 10 year old daughter. We were pleasantly surprised with the hotel to be honest. We got great value for the price we paid. Yes the hotel has a few downsides: the lack of decent sunbeds and the queue for drinks at night but it had so many plus points. The pool was lovely and cleaned every day ... As were the rooms with clean towels left for you.

The food is repetitive but plenty to choose from .... To be honest it was so hot you didn't really want a big meal, just a bit of salad and meat/fish to go with it. Lovely soup and bread at the evening time. Even our little girl said how she enjoyed trying the different dishes!

The hotel are really trying to bring things back in order following recent new ownership.

We met all different nationalities on our holiday and would definitely go back but when it is a little cooler.

Cheap car hire is just around the corner ... Can definitely recommend going around the island it is so easy.

You are very lucky if you expect and can afford 5* in this day and age and lets be honest .... We don't eat a three course meal every day when we are at home do we so why do people seem to expect it on holiday?

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Burtoners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Myself, husband and 10yr old daughter stayed at this hotel for a week from 14th July. We had a ground floor room beside the pool which was comfortable enough. The only thing was the sink had a big crack in it and it leaked onto the floor one night. Its strange because all the rooms back onto the pool, therefore the balcony faces the opposite way. Food was OK if a bit repetitive but you were able to get enough to fill you. The potatoes were delicious. The barman at the pool was brilliant - I don't know how he works so hard for long hours in that heat! He needs a medal! We met loads of lovely people and the only downsides were getting sunbeds in the morning. A lot of them were broken and they could definitely do with purchasing some new ones. One family told me they looked out at 6am and all the sunbeds had towels on them. The lady that owned the hotel was lovely and was trying to teach me some Greek before I came home. I would still book this hotel again as it was on the main street and had loads of shops, bars, restaurants, etc beside it. It was about 300yds from a shingly beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scoobydoo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We have just returned from one weeks holiday at the Marathon hotel today(30/7/2012).I must say it was a fantastic holiday.It was as good as a hotel as you are going to find in Greece.The rooms are basic but clean.The food again is basic greek food but very nice.The staff are very helpful and very approachable.The hotel location is perfect for the beach and local shopping.The bus stop is only seconds walk from the hotel.If I had to say anything negative it won ould be the lack of any evening entertainment.Despite that Im extremely pleased with both the value for money and over all holiday and would say if we were to holiday in greece again I would certainly stop at the Marathon again.The trouble is people go to greece expecting 5 star hotels.Well Im afraid they dont exist.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anglesey
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

We have just got back from a 2week stay here.Many things were observed during the stay.

1) cleaners: The cleaners were polite a friendly yet cleaning skills were not brilliant. The bath we had was very dirty,and to be honest it could have done with a new one. Our curtain rail fell down, they came to fix very quickly however they left dusty foot prints all around the bath after doing it. Beware they don't knock either they just come straight in. This appeared to be just our room,others we saw were spotless on the ground floor. If you can get a bottom floor by the pool definitely better than the top.

2} Food: Breakfast same everyday which is fine.buffet style food.full fry up,continental options, fruit,cereal,yogurt so all great there.Orange juice, grapefruit juice and waters choices of drink. Dinner-occasionally what was left over from breakfast mixed with something, I.E. sausage casserole. Again a buffet style. Plenty of salad, which was fresh on a daily basis. Evening meal: Again buffet style very alike dinner, food though is a little more filling though.drinks for dinner and evening meal are usual sift drinks coke,lemonade etc also larger, and types of wine with as many refills as u want whilst having dinner.

3) Location: It's one of the better situated hotels in Kolimbia. Plenty of shops around, also a fair bit of night life (can be loud from the hotel depending on were u are situated.Zues supermarket on the corner,if ur not a fan of the food in hotel u must try Jimmy's take out, very cheap and soooooooo good!!!!!!Beach also in walking distance.very pretty at night, in the day be warned that some of the sunbeds are reserved for the closer apartments.

4) Pool and pool area: pool was clean and refreshing.sun beds were mainly broken but were usable if you were careful.There were some broken slabs around the pool which were fixed pretty quickly. There was a young Greek lad though that belonged to one of the staff members that continued to splash,spit water and generally harass people.I think he just was lonely and wanted to play as parents too busy.just we warned can be a little frustrating.

5) Rep: If your flying here with Olympic the Rep us only on site 2ice a week for an here at a time.He does do a welcome meeting so u can grab him then also. Neil is a nice guy very friendly but does forget to mention if u do the round island trip through Olympic, there are a few extra charges on the trip.

6) Staff: Cleaners are friendly. Day barman is a great laugh a keeps all guests entertained,helps everyone out a works sooooooo hard fairly,which is a complete contrast to the night barman who is rude a basically throws your drinks at you. Reception staff very helpful a polite,great you everytime they see you. Then you gave Despina, Despina is the lady who takes you through for food. Funny, polite, caters for your needs a very nice lady.Once you get friendly you have a friend for life isn't that right Despina??

7) Amenities: 3 computers in the lobby which you pay for the privilege to use, if you have a Wi-Fi enabled phone asked at the reception for the password and then you get internet for nothing. It does drop and not the best signal but it works.pool table and air hockey for the kids,also small play ground.I believe there was a table tennis area for kids as well which also consisted of Lego etc for them.

Overall: nice holiday with 99% of the staff being very pleasant,food was OK but were other alternatives if you were not keen.regular bus service to other parts of the island (outside Question supermarket ).

all in all Mr Paddison was quite happy!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowing_mon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslingden, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

the first room we had the door didnt lock, it took staff 4 days to move us to a different room which the plug hung out of the wall, glass shelf in bathroom was held up by the complamentory soaps, the fridge held up the TV, telephone wires hung out of the wall, the 'double bed' was two singles. The day bar man was exelent and would help in any way however the night bar man was grumpy, totally againt english guests also DEFINATLY NOT all inclusive. the food gave my partner food poisoning, it didnt have labels of what it was on it, therefore found out i ate rabbit and goat with out knowing. deffinatly would not reccomend it if you have children unless they like pasta, greek salad and water melon every day for desert or left over chips for brekfast. the pool was never cleaned. there wasnt enough loungers to cater for the guests. wouldnt reccomend this hotel and will put pictures to prove what i am saying.

Room Tip: the rooms with a view get the music all night from the bar next door, the garden view rooms are infe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Abbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kolimbia hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolimbia
0.6 mi away
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
#13 of 34 in Kolimbia
756 reviews
10.5 mi away
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
#17 of 20 in Kallithea
661 reviews
14.7 mi away
Olive Garden Hotel
Olive Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Lardos
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Virginia Hotel
Virginia Hotel
#5 of 5 in Koskinou
506 reviews
11.3 mi away
Meliton Hotel
Meliton Hotel
#1 of 2 in Theologos
555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marathon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marathon Hotel

Property: Marathon Hotel
Address: Eucalyptus Street, Kolimbia 851 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marathon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 380 yards from the beach, Marathon offers all-inclusive accommodations with activities for children and a great pool scene, close to Kolymbia’s local attractions. Marathon provides spacious and comfortable rooms, equipped with modern comforts. Children will be kept entertained with toys and games in their indoor play area and separate kid’s pool. Guests can relax on one of the many lounge chairs surrounding the large outdoor pool and soak up the Mediterranean sun. The all-inclusive package allows guests to enjoy the convenience and choice of buffet-style meals on-site. During the evening, the bar is a great place to relax and enjoy a drink. There are also plenty of shops, cafes and traditional taverns surrounding the hotel, if you can pull yourself away from the pool. Guests who rent a car can easily access Rhodes and Lindos, which are less than 15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marathon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marathon Hotel Rhodes, Greece
Rhodos Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing