We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC HOTEL AND FANTASTIC STAFF” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marathon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marathon Hotel
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Kolimbia
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC HOTEL AND FANTASTIC STAFF”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

great food
great service
great rooms
great location

If you have been watching "the hotel inspector" or a tv series with that emphasis, then go to a 5 star hotel and point your fingers. This hotel is great and the staff are lovely.
Despina, Andonis(night bar man), Andonis(day bar man) Akis and the rest of the team will do anything to make your stay even more comfortable.
The location is great and you can eat Alfresco style.
The food was different everyday, i do not understand why people are saying otherwise.
THE rooms are spacious and have everything you need. So what if there is a small crack on the wall. Im sure most peoples houses who wrote negative reviews about this place, probably live in a worse of state.
people saying the pool is small?
There is 2 beaches opposite each other 7 mins down the road

If you dont like the pool then go to the beach. Simple. or even better stay in your country and go to your local swimming pool.

We shall be returning here, because we received better service here than most 5 star hotels we have stayed at. FACT.

THANKYOU MARATHON FOR A VERY ENJOYABLE HOLIDAY, WE WILL SEE YOU SOON !
MARIO & SUZAN

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank m p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    156
    77
    39
    38
See reviews for
144
162
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rhondda, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

we stayed here between end of august and beginning of sept 2012,first of all the family room was all in 1 consisting of 2 single beds and a set of bunk beds which was awkward considering we had our 14yr old daughter with us,the pool was a lot smaller than the web pic,there was no second bar as described nor late night snacks,the pool furniture was in dire need of updating and expanding the numbers as was the bar tables and chairs,both in-adaquit for the number of guests,there were constant queue's by the bar due to lack of glasses.on a good note,most of the staff were friendly (especialy the restaraunt manageress and both the bar staff,the food was nice but there was a lack of selection (cant understand how 1 review states they put on 4kg in a week as ur choice of dessert was water melon,grapes and some king of fruit jelly)and nearly always cold,the pool was clean and quite relaxing but b carefull as the management take ur towels,and in general the hotel is clean.

Room Tip: dont use the curtousy room as there are no power sockets
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

the marathon hotel is clean hotel , but in desperate need off up dateing , the pool is a lot smaller than the hotel photos but clean , as for the sun beds well its a joke , aprox 41 including the broken ones for all these people ,please note the hotel will remove your towels if you leave them early morn and when you ask for a sunbed they will tell you ( its not there problem) as for the bar area thats the biggest laff off all , there are 15-20 chairs around the one bar thats open and 6-8 tables , during the day time its not too bad but night time you can wait upto 20mins for a drink as the one happy barman ?? has to collect glasses as well as serve as well (good luck ) the bar will shut @ 10.45pm ,the food at the bar is pizza in the day four trays only !!! ice cream @ 3pm only one scoop per person , well they are on rations you know !!! the canteen whoops dinner hall , has two trollys which serve luke warm food ( but dont worry there is a microwave there) cold breakfast - lunch - dinner mmmmm !! try jimmy bar down the road !! this hotel is in a nice area but you get what you pay for , and this hotel says no !!! to everthing i felt like id run a marathon staying here , never again ps the lady that runs the cateen is very nice and helpful !!!!

Room Tip: try and get a room near the pool area , ps they put all the familys on the top floor god knows why...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank evie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kolimbia hotels

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

BRILLIANT - UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT!
Who are friendly, helpful and nothing is too much trouble.
Arrived at 3am and met a friendly night porter, who explained the all-inclusive.
With two teenagers we stayed in a spacious family suite, the ‘L’ shape design giving us some privacy.
Akis in reception, always willing to provide information about Rhodes, its culture and places to visit.
The pool is a fantastic 20m allowing room to swim whilst children play. It is cleaned every morning.
A suitable number of sun beds in relation to the size of the pool area are provided, the hotel does not support the reservation of sun beds.
The food is fresh and tasty. We all found different foods to enjoy, however, if you are looking for chips, and more chips you will be disappointed. Despina, ensures the smooth running of the dining area with a welcoming smile.
The bar offers beer, wine, spirits, cocktails, soft drinks and coffee. Snacks=pizza/cheese pastries.
Ice-cream is served 3pm-5pm in a choice of flavours. Tony works tirelessly throughout the day and hands over to Antonis who works fast to keep the queues short especially when it approaches last orders.
Thanks for a great holiday! :D

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 72Tam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krnov, Moravskoslezsky Kraj, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

I was absolutely satisfied with Marathon hotel. Hotel is not full equipped with modern furniture, but who cares if rooms are clean and adorable:) They clean your room every single day, so everything there is really nice and neat. We had a double bed room. The room was equipped with tv, ac, fridge some table, chairs etc. and we have also terrace into the gardens. Room was quite(silent) eventhougt the hotel is placed on busy street, with clubs and loud music.
Hotel pool is about 20m long and 10m wide, again they clean it every day, it means water is really nice. On pool bar you can order plenty of long drings, coctails and some sandwiches but i was suprised that frappe was for 2 euro(in greece, what a f.. :)?!?)

THE BEST THING ON THIS HOTEL IS THERE CUISINE

Breakfast, lunch and dinner are in a buffet style, they serve quality local cuisine with such great dishes like moussaka, lamb, stifades, baklava etc. etc. Food here really worth every penny, i gain 4 kg in one week:)))))

Personel: Very friendly, great people, who will help you with absolutely everything (they can order car for you, tell you where to go, where you can buy some nice replicas etc:) )

at the end i would like to say, go there and enjoy that hotel, next year i definately come again

btw Sorry for english, but i am czech:)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petr L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portadown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We returned home Saturday 25 August and I just wish we had another week, as we had such a good time- staff a credit to the hotel - accomodation clean and towels changed daily. Food good, suited all nationalities, wonderful cocktails, rock band in the cocktail bar next door 2 nights a week. Lindos 15 minutes in one direction and Falaraki 15 minutes in the opposite direction. Buses very cheap and the hotel is centrally located for shopping, several beaches are nearby, suss them out. Reception staff are gems and nothing was too much bother, we even got pack lunches when we were missing lunch on a trip.I will not be going to Spain anymore after this enjoyable Greek experience.Air conditioned rooms and comfortable beds, even if the bathroom was very small.Bring a mosquito spray though ...Great value for money - highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you have children - there are rooms behind the main hotel block and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tallulah63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

We didn't read the reviews on the Marathon Hotel before booking and I am so glad that we didn't as if we had we may not have booked...... We stayed at the Marathon for 1 week from the 8th August 2012 we had a family suite which was a great size for myself Husband and two Children 13 and 10 year olds. (as the children had a twin bedded area off the main room. The food at the hotel was very good, breakfast had a very good choice be it a cooked breakfast, sausage,bacon eggs mushrooms etc or there was a continental selection, cereals and warm croissants, pan au chocolate, and really delicious raison whirls. lunch was choice of salads, and warm dishes, with breads (all self serve) dinner was again very much the same as lunch (one hint if you see a pudding you like the look of take when getting main course as run out very quickly) also we found that the meals are much nicer if you start with a salad and then get a warm main course. Self serve drinks during meals Red / White wine beer, coke, fanta, soda, water, One area they could improve is having more staff on the bar in the eveing as you can wait for a drink for a while (especially when it gets near to 10.45 when the all inclusive runs out) in the afternoon there are icecreams from the bar from 3 -5pm these are served in tubs and are really worth waiting for...... also there are not enough seats outside in the eveing by the bar. there are a lot of broken sun beds by the poole but most are useable. also we really liked this the poole is very deep and there is only a small area shallow enough to stand in (there is a separate area for children. The location of the hotel is great for the beach and buses if you want a day out. We went to Lindos one day and fell in love with it. Great holiday and we can't wait for another holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zjp2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolimbia
0.2 mi away
SENTIDO Port Royal Villas & Spa
10.5 mi away
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
#13 of 15 in Kallithea
3.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
#14 of 33 in Kolimbia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marianna Palace
Marianna Palace
#19 of 33 in Kolimbia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delfinia Resort Hotel
Delfinia Resort Hotel
#12 of 33 in Kolimbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.9 mi away
SunConnect Kolymbia Star
SunConnect Kolymbia Star
#7 of 33 in Kolimbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marathon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marathon Hotel

Property: Marathon Hotel
Address: Eucalyptus Street, Kolimbia 851 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marathon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 380 yards from the beach, Marathon offers all-inclusive accommodations with activities for children and a great pool scene, close to Kolymbia’s local attractions. Marathon provides spacious and comfortable rooms, equipped with modern comforts. Children will be kept entertained with toys and games in their indoor play area and separate kid’s pool. Guests can relax on one of the many lounge chairs surrounding the large outdoor pool and soak up the Mediterranean sun. The all-inclusive package allows guests to enjoy the convenience and choice of buffet-style meals on-site. During the evening, the bar is a great place to relax and enjoy a drink. There are also plenty of shops, cafes and traditional taverns surrounding the hotel, if you can pull yourself away from the pool. Guests who rent a car can easily access Rhodes and Lindos, which are less than 15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays and Hotels.com so you can book your Marathon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marathon Hotel Rhodes, Greece
Rhodos Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing