We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely holiday, very clean...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marathon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marathon Hotel
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Kolimbia
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“lovely holiday, very clean...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Just got back last night from the marathon hotel. What a lovely holiday we had.Hotel very clean, staff superb, very hardworking.Food in the restaurant was good, repetitive but good.2 drinks at the bar per person, open from 10 till 10.45 exact.snacks at different times throughout the day...cakes, pizza. Icecream served 3-5, very nice.Shops bars and restaurants around the hotel. Overall had a lovely time, met some fantastic people whom we will definitely stay in touch with.Thanks to katarina and george for making us feel so welcome. Well done marathon hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank christine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    156
    78
    39
    38
See reviews for
145
162
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed at the Marathon between 11th and 18th June and we found it to be just what we wanted. The hotel was very clean in all areas, the rooms were looked after well and had everything you could want including a fridge which was very useful. The food was good and was constantly being refilled so there was no waiting for anything. All of the staff were friendly and helpful from the check in to meal times and especially at the bar where George was excellent. He spoke several languages so could help all customers, was very interesting to talk to, could answer all our questions about the island and more. His service was excellent and just sitting on the bar stools watching him serve a busy bar was interesting in itself. This is a really good value for money hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room away from the pool side which was quieter so if you like a siesta these may be for you...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

very good holiday but the hotel was a let down. the only staf that were friendly were the ones behing the bar especially 'george' there was no kids club like it said when we booked. supposed to be diffrent snack through the day but only pizza. at meal times the food was very basic but edible the women staff were very rude never smiled or said hello to british only to the russians but the hotel was very clean i know that this is a 3star hotel and for the price it is acceptable but have a good look through the review before you book!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kolimbia hotels

Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had a fantastic time at the marathon hotel. We are a couple in our late 40s. From getting there to coming home we had a great time ! The staff were all very friendly and very helpful. The rooms were basic but were clean.The food was very good and we had a good choice most of the time. The pool was very clean and was situated near the bar which was very nice too, it was run by george who we got on really well with and he was very happy and cheerful ! as were all the staff. We would recommend the marathon highly and we both carnt wait to go back ! Missing you all already.

Room Tip: all seem ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chamonix, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

To say it was the best holiday we have ever had, would be a lie , but when you considered what we paid for a week, all inclusive, it was fantastic.
The room was simple, functional and cleaned 6 times a week.
The linen was changed 3 times in our week.
The dinning room was well laid out and self service buffet style.
Food was simply superb, as good as any restaurant we paid to go to.
Wine and beer on tap (always chilled) was more than acceptable .
The staff (and we must mention in particular Katarina in the dinning room, and George at the bar, who were so helpful and attentive) where all very friendly.
Located up a lovely eucalyptus tree lined road, with plenty of bars shops ect,
And a 15 min stroll to 3 nice beaches.
All in all, we had a brilliant time.
Aidan & Diana room 412

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Tuffty007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

kolymbia nice little resort marathon very good hotel food lovely greek home style at its best fresh salads and cooked vegetables meat well cooked and tender lots of choice staff wonderful all round very friendly and helpful new lads from slovakia just settling in and lovely boys pool was really nice george in the bar very efficient nice man rooms (314) adequate bathroom dated but clean balcony very good in a quiet block if i go back to rhodes would be happy to return to the marathon

Room Tip: we had 314 which was nice and quiet overlooking gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grampy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

I had a very nice and relaxing holiday. Marathon hotel fulfilled all my needs and even more.

Cozy and clean hotel with a nice pool and pool bar. Food is fresh, with big variety and very tasty, choice including typical Greek dishes, what I absolutely love.

Restaurants, shops and beaches close, just little walk.

Staff very helpful, friendly and always smiling, even working for long hours and having to deal with all different kind of people. I felt really welcome and that they were happy having me there.

THANK YOU ALL for this excellent experience and I will definitely stay in your hotel again on my next visit to Rhodes !!!

Everything was just perfect !!! :)

Ευχαριστώ :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Krissu369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolimbia
0.6 mi away
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
#15 of 33 in Kolimbia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.2 mi away
SENTIDO Port Royal Villas & Spa
0.1 mi away
Memphis Beach Hotel
Memphis Beach Hotel
#26 of 33 in Kolimbia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Delfinia Resort Hotel
Delfinia Resort Hotel
#8 of 33 in Kolimbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
10.5 mi away
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
#13 of 15 in Kallithea
3.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Irene Palace Hotel
Irene Palace Hotel
#13 of 33 in Kolimbia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marathon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marathon Hotel

Property: Marathon Hotel
Address: Eucalyptus Street, Kolimbia 851 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Kolimbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marathon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 380 yards from the beach, Marathon offers all-inclusive accommodations with activities for children and a great pool scene, close to Kolymbia’s local attractions. Marathon provides spacious and comfortable rooms, equipped with modern comforts. Children will be kept entertained with toys and games in their indoor play area and separate kid’s pool. Guests can relax on one of the many lounge chairs surrounding the large outdoor pool and soak up the Mediterranean sun. The all-inclusive package allows guests to enjoy the convenience and choice of buffet-style meals on-site. During the evening, the bar is a great place to relax and enjoy a drink. There are also plenty of shops, cafes and traditional taverns surrounding the hotel, if you can pull yourself away from the pool. Guests who rent a car can easily access Rhodes and Lindos, which are less than 15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Bookgreece.com so you can book your Marathon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marathon Hotel Rhodes, Greece
Rhodos Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing