We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice holidays”
Review of Alfa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alfa Hotel
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Kolimbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice holidays”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff. We were there in July this year on allinclusive base. The only problem was the food, which was always the same and all gave dill. overall it was a pleasant holiday. the best service of Czech animation team of CK Alexandria.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Ondřej Č
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfa H, Guest Relations Manager at Alfa Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you very much for your review.. We are all glad you had a good holiday at Alfa Hotel and thank you for your recommendation. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    13
    4
    6
    5
See reviews for
16
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I've stayed in this hotel in June this year for a week on All Inclusive base, we arrive late at night and night porter putted us in to on of the rooms in pool house... but at that time grass sprinklers where on, so we received some ''showers'', room wasn't good for us so we asked for different on next morning. Around midday we moved to main building to the room on ground floor, which was better room in all matters.
From that point everything was, good or better. Staff is very friendly, especially guy from reception (don't remember his name) was always very helpful and nice. Waiting staff seems to be there all the time and still looking happy, Romanian waitress and her friend and the bar men all of them I would like to say BIG THANK YOU for looking after us and sorry that I don't remember your names...

Room Tip: ask for a room in main building, not the pool house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaminsky1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfa H, Guest Relations Manager at Alfa Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am very pleased that we were able to accommodate you in the room of your choice soon after your arrival and that you had a great holiday at Alfa Hotel. I am so pleased you were happy with the service and our staff (Nikos-reception, Anna-Maria, Andrianna, Tsambika and Sotiris and Nikos at the restaurant and bar). I will pass your kind words on to them and I know they will be very appreciated. All the best to you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostrava, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Hello dear Travellers ,
we were in this hotel second time , and in the next year we are really forwarding again to the same hotel. The beach is near, about 150 metres across the neighbour hotel Alfa beach. The sea was beatiful with nice undersea cliffs :) We recommand it to the schnorclist ;) On the Island there are very nice monuments , like Filerimos, Apollon´s Temple or Old Town of Rhodes.
The personal was good and nice, the allways helped us in case of some problem :)
We recommand this hotel to families with children :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christopherfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfa H, Guest Relations Manager at Alfa Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Good morning and thank you very much for your review of Alfa Hotel. We are so glad that you had a good holiday at Alfa and also took the opportunity to explore other parts of our beautiful island of Rhodes. The best compliment for any hotel is to have guests returning year after year and we thank you very much for your recommendation. All the best and see you again next year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We booked to stay at Alfa Hotel in July 2012, and I must say we had a very good holiday.  Whilst we were there we did hear of a few disgruntled guests who thought that they had been booked into the sister hotel's annexe and felt cheated. I understand their frustration, but I do think it is unfair to blame the hotel for something which was obviously the tour operators fault.  The rooms were cleaned and towels changed daily. I did ask  reception about fridge and apparently they are coolers rather than the conventional fridge. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was freshly cooked until 10am and then continental until 11. We were always down before 10 anyway with small children so had the choice.  Lunch was outside around the pool, so was very easy with something for everyone. Dinner was a little more formal inside the restaurant, and again a good selection from vegitarian to local dishes. We never had to fight to get our favourite table and high chairs were available.  The pool bar is quite quiet at night but the children could run around quite freely and made some new friends, some evenings we walked in to the centre of town where it was a bit livelier. We went to Rhodes Town one day by bus which stops outside the hotel wanted to go to Lindos but didn't make it as we heard it was really hot and to be honest were quite happy sat around the pool with the kids as they were quite content. All in all I think Alfa Hotel is good value for money, and the pool and gardens and play area  are great and relatively safe for young children. I would definitely  consider going back." 

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfa H, Guest Relations Manager at Alfa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. All at Alfa Hotel are pleased that you had a happy holiday with us and will pass on the your comments to our staff, who are the 'backbone' of our business. I would like to add that being in the hospitality business it is our job to offer our guests the best possible holiday experience, and always appreciate our guests taking time to review our hotel. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

As many other people have found out to their cost, if you book an 'Annexe' or 'special offer' room at the 4* Alpha Beach Hotel you will be made to stay in the 3* Alfa Hotel over the road. The way this is done is so misleading, as there is no information about this other hotel in the Alpha Beach Hotel's write-up. We found out about the scam when we went on trip advisor after booking, so we emailed our holiday provider and got reassurance from them that we would be housed in the 4* Alpha Beach Hotel, however to our disgust when we arrived we were told we were across the road in the 3* Alfa Hotel. This is exactly what we didn't want to hear! The hotel told us we could use the all inclusive facilities at the Alpha Beach Hotel if we paid another nearly 400 Euros for the two weeks!! We are in the process of making a formal complaint to our holiday provider and will take things as far as necessary until we receive compensation.

On the plus side we found our room at the Alfa Hotel to be clean, although the fridge did not work, nor did the outside light. The air conditioning was noisy and set to go to a minimum of 20 degrees, plus your key is a smart card which you have to insert into a slot to make the electric work in the room, so you can't leave it running if you go out, so it's stifling when you get in of an evening. Also they charge you 7 euros per day for the privilege! (even though in the write-up for the Alpha Beach Hotel which we thought we'd booked said air-con is free in peak season). The cleaners come every day and give clean towels and change the bed linen, which is good. They are about the only staff there who show any friendliness at all though. The pool is clean and situated in a pleasing location and there were always plenty of loungers available, even though hoards of reps seemed to come and use the pool fairly often.

Breakfast is supposed to be served between 7 and 11am, however if you arrive any time after 10am you may find they are clearing the food away before you can get anything. The breakfast chef was a miserable, dour looking man who spent most of the time staring with malice at anyone who dared to go up and get any food! The food is all cheap nasty stuff and is kept warm by lamps and hot water under the trays. This makes it dry out quickly, so what was poor to begin with soon becomes inedible. I survived on melon for most of our stay! The juice machine serves ultra strong squash, the honey has a really strange flavour, the jams are cheap and runny, basically not good at all. Also available at breakfast time was a selection of cakes and some buscuits - although you don't want these at breakfast time, that was the only time they were put out! Lunch was brought outside to the pool bar area in shopping trolleys. It was meant to be warm but was mostly cold by the time we got to it. I had the greek salad, tzatsiki and melon every day, which was edible, but the 'hot' food was disgusting. The only good thing about the lunches was that the horrible chef wasn't there to stare at you and put you off your food. The dinners at night were served inside, the air conditioning was never switched up high enough to make any difference so you were melting into your plate. They served packet soup and a selection of nasty hot dishes, along with salads. Dessert was creme caramel, jelly, melon and some squirty cream, sometimes with chocolate in, plus one other item, sometimes baklava type things or tiny squares of gateaux. Drinks are not flowing, if you had the audacity to ask for a second glass of wine they looked at you as if you had grown another head! We put up with it for 3 nights then decided to eat out so our holiday was not ruined by the disgusting food and service. Most of the guests at the hotel were from various European countries, so people didn't mix as there was always a language barrier. The bar area was usually empty in the evening as there was absolutely no atmosphere there. All in all we did enjoy our holiday, but only because we swore we wouldn't let the hotel grind us down, and we spent most of our time away from it, just coming back to sleep.

Room Tip: Do not be fooled into thinking you are booking the Alpha Beach Hotel. If it says 'Annexe' on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steglon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manos A, Owner at Alfa Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
We at Alfa Hotel take reviews from our guests very seriously and thank them for taking their time to review us on different sites. We empathise with our guests that felt they had been mislead by the agents’ description of the Alfa Beach annexe. As soon as we were made aware of this we asked them to correct their information, which they did. This was not Alfa Hotels fault.
Alfa Hotel is a family run hotel and our 24hr reception is there to help with any queries our guests may have. Things such as burnt out light bulb or problematic fridge, or anything else for that matter, could easily have been fixed or replaced if we had been made aware of it.
Alfa Hotel serves hot buffet breakfast until 10am and then the restaurants stays open until 11am serving Continental Breakfast. Alfa Hotel follows strict Health and Hygiene procedures as far as it’s F&B outlets are concerned and offers a selection of different dishes to cater for the varied nationalities of its guests. Alfa Hotel enjoys accommodating guests from many European countries and finds that even though they don’t all speak the same language (almost everyone speaks some English) a smile is sometimes all you need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kolimbia hotels

Bluntisham, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

we were supposed to be staying at Alpha beach! where to start staff very rude dont reallywant to know you. food is disgusting and is reused in different sauces fo about three days. Bfast resturant closes at 10am you cant get any drinks till 11, bearing in mind it was 3 in the shade. Lunch is brought out in wheel barrows! and was cold, says air con is free!! no 7 euros a day and it doesnt even work. grounds are dirty swimming pool all they do is chuck tubs of chlorine in every night. there was no entertainment at all. the bar man at night put his music on and if you asked for something else he would say no. you werent allowed butter only with bfast. hotel rooms werent cleaning teeming witth ants. i would reccomend never ever go to this hotel its a disgrace and i will be reporting it along with all the other people that went DISGUSTING!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manos A, Owner at Alfa Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Alfa Hotel is a family run hotel and has been successfully working in the hotel industry for over 30 years, with many guests returning year after year. Alfa Hotel welcomes all reviews, and takes ‘constructive’ criticism in a positive manner, but feel a response to this review is necessary.
We, at Alfa Hotel take health and hygiene procedures in our F&B outlets very seriously and follow very strict guidelines as far as the quality of our food offered to our guests and ‘beg to differ’ with the claims made by the above guest. Also, food is brought out from the kitchen to the lunchtime buffet in sealed containers on catering trolleys, not wheelbarrows.
As stated in our hotel description, hot buffet breakfast is served from 7am until 10am and the restaurant stays open until 11am serving continental breakfast and drinks.
Alfa Hotel have dedicated housekeeping staff who do a great job with the general cleaning of the hotel and the guest rooms. Guests are encouraged to report any problem with their room to reception where action will be taken to correct it.
The quality of the water in our pool is checked daily and the correct combination of chemicals are added each evening to provide our guests with a clean, germ free swimming pool the following day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed there about 1 week. The hotel is quite nice. Very nice and helpful staff. Food was very tasty, different menu every day. Our room was basic (but we didn't care about it) and It was clean every day. Free air conditioner. A nice swimming pool. If you are a guest in The Alfa Hotel, you can use the facilities from The Alfa Beach Hotel except restaurant and bar. The hotel is very close to the beach. The beach is a very stony. We didn't know but the beaches in Greece belong to the government and you must pay for use it (about 3 euro/person). From the hotel is public transport to Rhodes town and Lindos a few times a day. The hotel is located in a quiet and a calm area. I like quiet places like this, but I was told that is a lot of bars and pubs in Faliraki - you can get there by bus or taxi. It is possible to hire a bike and a car. The Alfa Hotel is a good place for holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sakti6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolimbia hotels
0.2 mi away
Kolymbia Bay Art Hotel
Kolymbia Bay Art Hotel
#16 of 34 in Kolimbia
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delfinia Resort Hotel
Delfinia Resort Hotel
#12 of 34 in Kolimbia
354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kolymbia Sun
Kolymbia Sun
#15 of 34 in Kolimbia
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Relax
Hotel Relax
#22 of 34 in Kolimbia
51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marathon Hotel
Marathon Hotel
#18 of 34 in Kolimbia
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marianna Palace
Marianna Palace
#23 of 34 in Kolimbia
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfa Hotel

Property: Alfa Hotel
Address: Verolinou & Athinon Str., Kolimbia 851 03, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Kolimbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alfa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alfa Hotel is situated in the resort of Kolymbia which is on the east coast of Rhodes. The beach is around 200 meters away and a short stroll will take you to the resort center where you will find a variety of shops bars and restaurants. Alfa Hotel is set in mature child friendly gardens and has a lovely outdoor pool, including a children's pool. There is a pool bar offering refreshments all day and decking with sun loungers.All rooms have their own balcony, private bathroom (Junior and Superior Suites have two bathrooms) with shower and hairdryer. Rooms have flat screen tv with international satellite channels and a cooler fridge.A bus stop is located right outside the hotel which provides regular bus service to Lindos, Rhodes Town and other villages and beaches. A twice daily 'glass bottom boat' service docks at the beach 200m away which takes you on a tour of beaches and coves only accessible by sea.Highchairs, kettles, baby listeners, socket covers and baby baths are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Alfa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfa (Rhodes) Hotel Kolimbia
Alfa Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing