We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOTAL UNBIAS VIEW - Please read if planning to stay”
Review of Loutanis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Loutanis Hotel
Ranked #32 of 34 Hotels in Kolimbia
Redcar
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“TOTAL UNBIAS VIEW - Please read if planning to stay”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

First and foremost this is the worst 'All Inclusive' Hotel I have ever visited. True, it is cheap to stay here but the all inclusive package is terrible and I will detail why later. If it is the all inclusive aspect you are looking for, then avoid this hotel. If on the other hand you want a reasonable hotel and want to treat the all inclusive aspect as a bonus, then fine.

There is absolutely nothing wrong with the hotel itself. It is a typical 3 star hotel in a reasonable location; the rooms and facilities are fine, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the pool and bar area are lovely, and the restaurant is adequate.

Food is very much a subjective test and depends on what each individual likes. For me personally, I found the food to be below average. You will never go hungry as there is always plenty of bread, salad, and chips. Over an above that I wasn't overly impressed. Breakfast is reasonable and for me was the best meal. There is a choice of eggs, toast, limited cereals, and other cold meats and cheese. Certainly plenty to fill up on. Lunch and dinner simply didn't appeal to me and I can only describe it as 'canteen' food. Breakfast is served between 0730 and 0930, lunch between 1230 and 1400, and dinner between 1830 and 2030. Don't expect any food outside these times, the snacks that are available between meals consist of little more than biscuits most of the time.

All inclusive drinks - This is where the package really falls apart due to what can only be called stinginess on the part of the owners. Beer, wine, and soft drinks are available from 1000 to 2230. The beer and wine is okay, the soft drinks are appalling - cheap flat cola and pop. There are no ice creams or lollies included for kids. Spirits are only available from 1730 until 2230 and there are only 4 - white rum, vodka, gin, and another I can't recall. These drinks are killed by the cheap mixers so taste awful. So if you are looking forward to a nice vodka and coke or rum and coke, forget it. The local spirits would probably be fine if they were mixed with proper coke, pepsi, 7-up etc. but they aren't.

The rooms and maid service are fine, although air conditioning is a must and has to be paid for separately (5 euro's per room per day). If you don't go for air conditioning, you will need to sleep with the door wide open and mosquitos are a problem especially at night.

Free Wi-Fi is available in the lobby, dining room, and bar area but not in the rooms.

The location of the hotel is okay providing you don't mind some walking. There are 2 bars around 200 meters from the hotel. The centre of town is probably a further 400 meters but can be walked quite easily. The beaches are about 3/4 of a mile away so a bit far to walk however there is a courtesy bus runs back and forth a couple of times a day.

Kolimbia as a resort is okay. There are a few decent bars, the usual array of shops, reasonable beaches but a shortage of really nice tavernas. I have visited Greece an awful lot and although okay it is not as nice a resort as some others but overall typical.

Overall, with a few tweaks and a little less stinginess, this Hotel could be okay however in my opinion it is a typical 3 star hotel that has gone into the all inclusive sector and tried to do it on the cheap. In doing so all it has done is drag it down. If you want an all inclusive package, unless you are a beer and chips man, go elsewhere, you will only end up spending more money than you originally expected to. In the long run, you would be better off paying less for a B&B or room only package in the first instance.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    75
    79
    46
    149
See reviews for
129
158
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marmari, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

First of all you should realise this is a 3 star Hotel in Greece and I paid less than £14 per person per night all inclusive. Many of the bad reviews I have read are inaccurate or points are exaggerated, no doubt to give some sort of effect or maybe they are trying to get a refund and do not bear in mind the first statement I made above. We stayed for 7 nights and were able to enjoy every day with extremely friendly and helpful staff, plenty of food and drink and a very clean hotel and restaurant. It has to be said the food and accommodation is quite basic although totally adequate compared to the top class hotels that we have stayed at but again I repeat it is a 3 star hotel at an extremely low price. If you want good service, a clean hotel with great value for money this is the hotel but if you want to eat and drink yourself silly and pay for lots of fancy extra's that you are unlikely to use then pay at least 4 or 5 times as much and choose a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Allen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a week, advertised as all inclusive, however this is false. Should be full board with selected drinks. No bar snacks, only pizza from 11-12? (Who would want that when lunch starts at 12.30?) and stale awful biscuits from 2.30 till 6.30! No snacks at supper or any other time. Very few drinks on offer, any decent drinks must b paid for. Breakfast selection is diabolical. If it's not swimming in grease it's freezing cold! Best part of this hotel is the bar tenders vangellis and yanni! Couldn't of asked for more polite, helpful and genuine guys x

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DLM84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kolimbia hotels

Whitby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Staff and food great. Service with a smile. Maid service every day, totally enjoyed our quick stay. Thank you all . The owner known as the fat controller needs to be watched to be believed. Does not spoil your stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredrikstad, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had the best service you can except! We did get extra room with no problem and they did print the boarding for the plane tickets. We had internet at the room 234 - wich was perfect :) We did travel with kids, and the hotel was good for that. The foos was also good - reccommended when you travel on low budget. The service was such a good excperience! :) One of the emlployers did speek sweedish, and where also very service minded :)Thx! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elisabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here for a week, and for what we payed (not very much) we were pleasantly surprised! Although we were first given a twin room, having asked for a double, they changed our rooms very quickly and without any fuss. The hotel itself is very clean and bright, with lots of places to sit on the terrace by the pool, in the lobby, and it has the most comfortable sunloungers ever! Plenty of them too! The pool bar was great, the staff couldn't do enough for you, even coming over to take drink orders sometimes! The pool itself is quite chilly, but in that heat it's refreshing. The food (all inclusive) was actually quite impressive. As long as you don't mind trying new things, and don't expect pizza and chips etc then you'll eat very well! We certainly never went hungry.. We only had one incident at the hotel, and that was the light fitting which exploded while we were on the balcony, narrowly missing my head... The hotel management insisted they would check all the light fittings after this and were very apologetic, but it was quite scary at the time! The area itself is great, there are lots of bars and restaurants in Kolimbia, as well as a beach with great watersports, and you are close enough to get to Rhodes and the waterpark in Faliraki if you want! Overall a good holiday, especially considering the price!

Room Tip: The rooms looking out onto the pool are great, but could be a little bit noisy..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed here at the end of September for a week (me, my wife and our 2 year old daughter). Generaly I strongly recommend it as it is a great value for money. Food was very good - fresh everyday, room was always clean and the staff was really helpful and friendly. I cannot really blame it at all. The only downside for us (not for people who like to seat by the bar till quite late) was the loud music at the bar till about 22:30. Obviously there are loads of other (quiter) rooms to choose from. Generally it was a great stay and really loved it.

Room Tip: Rooms with pool view are quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Yatzek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolimbia
10.9 mi away
Summer Dream Hotel
Summer Dream Hotel
#9 of 9 in Tholos
341 reviews
11.0 mi away
Meliton Hotel
Meliton Hotel
#1 of 2 in Theologos
537 reviews
10.4 mi away
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
#17 of 20 in Kallithea
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marathon Hotel
Marathon Hotel
#18 of 34 in Kolimbia
422 reviews
11.0 mi away
Maritime Hotel Apartments
0.3 mi away
Fantasy Hotel
Fantasy Hotel
#31 of 34 in Kolimbia
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loutanis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loutanis Hotel

Property: Loutanis Hotel
Address: Afandou, Kolimbia 851 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kolimbia
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Loutanis Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Loutanis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loutanis Hotel Kolimbia
Loutanis Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing