We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SunConnect Kolymbia Star
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Kolimbia
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Just come back from an 11 night stay at the Kolymbia Star Hotel. It has to be the cleanest hotel we have stayed in, the rooms are spotless and are cleaned every day. The pool areas are great, the slides and the children's slides were fab, the only downside was that people reserved the sunbeds but I think this happens everywhere.
The food was good, you may want to go out out for a couple of meals as we found that it is a little a bit like eating in a canteen and so you don't get that going out for dinner experience. There was always plenty of choice, lovely salads and fresh fruit.
The bar drinks were great, served in proper glasses and the white wine was lovely. Tried a few cocktails which were nice too.
The staff work really hard and I take my hat off to the animation team who were great.
There is a bus stop outside the hotel and we caught buses to Lindos and Rhodes Town, very cheap and the children are half price. There is a free bus service to the Water Park which leaves at 10am and returns at 5pm. The water park was a disappointment, not as good as the one Cyprus or others we have visited and quite expensive, you had to walk a long way to each slide and the floor was burning hot, bit of a concrete jungle.
The beach nearest the hotel is lovely, sandy and has amazing rock pools so if you've got kids bring a fishing net and bucket. Great snorkelling.
The hotel is situated at the edge of the resort but I feel you have the best part of the beach plus it's only a 20 minute walk to the main street.
All in all a lovely holiday and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hornchurch5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (966)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

204 - 210 of 966 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Just returned from a week with the wife and two kids 13 & 8. Stayed in huge family room(664) which had two large separate sleeping areas and a balcony with mountain views. Room was immaculate and cleaned every day. Hotel pools are all good with plenty going on such as water polo, water aerobics & volleyball & one has slides which are an added bonus if you have kids. Both the taverna and main bars are very well staffed with no long waits for drinks or snacks. We went all inclusive and the food was fine with plenty of choice. We never once had to wait for a table and the waiters were fantastic especially Manilos who ushered us to a table soon as we walked through the door. The beach is a short stroll down a path and has great snorkelling and plenty of water sports which we enjoyed, you can also hike to the top of the mountain for stunning views if you feel energetic. Would highly recommend this hotel and would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We've just come back from a week. We are a family with a 9 year old and a 4 year old.
We went with thomsons, instead of paying the £116 transfer fee we booked a taxi through suntransfers recommended by a friend, it only cost 68 euros and was superb as no waiting around for coaches and having to face the coach scramble.
The hotel, the rooms were the biggest we've stayed in with separation for us and the boys with two air conditioning units so room plenty cool enough to manage the Greece heat.
The pools were plentiful and give you a bit of everything and certainly enough for distracting the boys and mum and dad.
The staff were lovely, as everywhere, some were more jolly than others but generally if you were nice to them they would be nice back.
The beach, we didn't go on it other than at early evening, mix of sand and pebbles. About a nice 5 minute walk but can't comment on it any more than that.
Food was of a good standard, not the best we've had compared to those in Spain but we certainly ate well, plenty of variety and some great Greek dishes as well as plenty of feta!!
The chef was out every night with a big smile on his face, obviously proud of his work but also encouraging people to try something different. It was really good to see his big smiling face.
All inclusive food is always going to feel a bit repetitive and you are not always going to get what you want but being able to sit down and have the kids eating within 2 minutes is a result for us every time. We ate well!
Entertainment was good with the team making a real effort, bar at the bottom a bit busy and understaffed at times, we just got our drinks from the top bar when too busy.
Kolymbia as a place itself is fairly remote and not much to do around the hotel but no need for us as we just went for a week, any longer we would have had to have some trips out.
Free wifi in reception, paid elsewhere.
All in all a great break, would we go back, no because we never do, would we recommend, definitely.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chille69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I stayed at Kolymbia Star for a week with my boyfriend. The setting is very nice - next to a huge mountain. The hotel is very clean, the reception area very modern and shiny, the rooms are OK and cleaned every day. The TV was old with only a few channels, but we didn't really have the time to watch it. The only problem in the room was the nosiest AC ever! As it is in our nature not to complain (and not having the energy to change rooms), we didn't complain about the AC (which we regretted at nights - when we couldn't sleep from the noise it was making, but without the AC turned on it was like a sauna).
THE FOOD was amazing! I heard from a few people that this hotel has the best food. And they were right! Breakfast was usually the same but a lot to choose from, lunch and dinners were delicious with a lot of Greek dishes. The only thing I missed was fresh fruit (like melons, watermelons etc.) for breakfast.
THE STAFF were very kind, especially the ones in the restaurant. They worked hard all day with a smile on their face and they were especially happy if you thanked them in Greek. The only thing I didn't like were the two angry (unwelcoming) looking ladies - receptionists when we arrived. I know they can't throw a welcome party for everyone that arrives, but at least a smile and some kind words would be nice.. We also had a lot of fun with Irena and Ott from animation (they are the best!).
THE BEACH is very nice and clean, it will take you about 5min to walk to the beach on the road from hell (hot hot hot).
There were three nice-looking swimming pools. I hope the hotel will improve the mini golf area because it looks really sad as it is right now. The animation team tried hard to entertain us in the evening, a lot of repetition every day but it got very funny when people cooperated.
We had all inclusive service and I must say I didn't like the drinks. Especially at the pool bar. It was not nice to look at the lovely cocktails being made for the people who didn't have all inclusive while giving me some sludge. I mean if we pay more to get all inclusive (instead of half board) do we not deserve proper cocktails? The beer also seemed as if it was alcohol free..
All in all WE LOVED this hotel and if we ever return to the island we would definitely stay here again. Kolymbia Star keep up with the good work and service and thank you for everything!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LauraGZ3080VE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We booked to stay at the Mistral but on arrival was told it was over booked and we was sent to the Kolymbia Star. We was greeted by a nice man who showed us to our rooms. The rooms were nice and clean.
The food was ok but sometimes cold and had no way of warming it up but the staff in the restaurant worked hard and were nice. The staff at the pool bar were fun and always smiling, wish I could say the same about the ones in the lobby bar, miserable springs to mind. Ott worked really hard to keep us entertained and is a really lovely lad.
Oh and if you ever have the misfortune of meeting the big big boss man who owns the hotel don't bother trying to talk to him you will just get shooed away, very rude and arrogant man.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank traceyjudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guenter R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at SunConnect Kolymbia Star, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Firstly our hotel management and staff would like to thank you for your kind words. We are sorry to hear that the food did not reach your expectations and the temperature you prefer, for the right temperature is different for each one. If you would speak to the maitre about this problem it would be fixed in no time. In our hotel all of us try to make your holidays special and we hope that we did accomplish it for you too.
As for our boss, do not get him wrong. He is a very kind man and if the staff or the guests need anything, he is there to help them. Everyone in the staff is proud to work for our boss. Unfortunately, he does not speak English or German, but he can fluently speak French. Thank you for spending a little time to write the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

we have just returned from the kolymbia with our 2 young girls i cannot rate it enough very very clean (im fussy as well)
POOLS are wonderful because 2 pools are exceptionally shallow and is guarded from them going in to the main pool which is deeper and this made you feel very relax when the children where in the pool really well thought out i thought.
ROOM was lovely we stayed in 687 and had a room with the separate bedroom for the children IT WAS MASSIVE! really spacious and really clean only thing is no kettle in the room for hot drinks next time we go i will take one.
FOOD it was really really good hats off to the chief really good food very tasty and always an amazing selection if you like trying different stuff you will enjoy the food but if your not so adventurous the chips where provided ! lol and you would find something pudding where good too good really !!!!!!
ENTERTAINMENT evening entertainment was enjoyable kids disco first followed by some daft game they had us up and couple of times but it was clean good fun so i didnt mind the children watching the after entertainment greek night was good and the fire night the kids loved
BAR good selection of drinks we are not big drinkers but there was lots of choice of cocktails and the wine was good ellie and fotis and alex where really friendly and helpful thanks for looking after us.
we hired a car from hotel very reasonable and we really enjoyed exploring some of the island
all in all would i go back?????
YES
was a fabulous week here thank you so much i would say if you have a young family and want a relaxing holiday this is the place for you we would love to visit again

Room Tip: we stayed top floor room 687 very spacious and clean and quiet and there is a lift up too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guenter R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at SunConnect Kolymbia Star, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

We are really happy to know that you have had a great time during your stay in our hotel. We always try to make the holidays of our guests special and it gives us joy when we find out that we accomplished it.
Thank you for your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We were transferred to the Star when our original hotel (The Mistral) turned us away. However, this turned out to be an absolute blessing - great modern hotel with three lovely pools and gardens. The family room was the best we have ever stayed in - massive with sliding screen separating children from adults and air conditioning which was quiet!! Fantastic view of mountains from balcony. Food ok but does lack grill for freshly prepared food. We found all staff very friendly and helpful. Beach approx. 5 minute walk. Town a good 10-15 minutes away on foot but supermarket and local shops/restaurants on the doorstep.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbieec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guenter R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at SunConnect Kolymbia Star, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Your words are the most precious reward for our staff and its tries to make you have the time of your life. We hope that you enjoyed your holidays without having any misfortune. We would be happy to have you again soon!
Thank you for your time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolimbia
0.4 mi away
Kolymbia Beach Hotel
Kolymbia Beach Hotel
#8 of 34 in Kolimbia
787 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
0.4 mi away
Delfinia Resort Hotel
Delfinia Resort Hotel
#13 of 34 in Kolimbia
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cook Rhodes
Casa Cook Rhodes
#3 of 34 in Kolimbia
312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantica Aegean Blue
Atlantica Aegean Blue
#4 of 34 in Kolimbia
1,865 reviews
9.7 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunConnect Kolymbia Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunConnect Kolymbia Star

Address: Kolimbia 851 03, Greece (Formerly Kolymbia Star Hotel)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kolimbia
#3 Family Hotel in Kolimbia
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kolimbia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kolimbia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range: £59 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SunConnect Kolymbia Star 4*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Rhodes! The SunConnect Kolymbia Star is a hotel for the entire family. In a friendly atmosphere it invites you to spend a relaxing holiday. “Be connected” – we invite you and your family to make some great memories during your holiday, to get to know other travelers, and stay in touch with your loved ones at home. Family-friendly rooms, a big pool area with 6 waterslides, numerous ConnectFun activities and a good all inclusive offer will ensure carefree holidays for you. The ConnectScout is your guide when it comes to planning your holiday and will organise fun activities. Throughout the hotel you can enjoy free Wifi. The hotel is situated on the foot of the Tsambika mountain, only 300 m from the long sand/pebble beach of Kolymbia. Located around 1 km from Kolymbia, you can reach the town in a leisurely stroll of about 15 minutes. There you’ll find shops, restaurants, bars and cafes. In front of the hotel there’s also a bus stop with a bus service to Lindos, Rhodos Old Town and the Tsambika beach, all popular destinations for a daytrip. The SunConnect Kolymbia Star offers 266 comfortable rooms, 22 of which are family rooms with one bedroom and 83 of which are family rooms with 2 bedrooms. All rooms are equipped with bath/shower, WC, balcony or terrace, fridge, air conditioning (June-September), SAT-TV, free Wifi, phone and hair dryer. Our friendly staff is looking forward to welcome you in Kolymbia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SunConnect Kolymbia Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kolymbia Star Hotel
SunConnect Kolymbia Star Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing