We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but not a 4 Star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marianna Palace Hotel
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Kolimbia
Reviewed 14 June 2012

First off - the biggest problem with this hotel is it's rating. If it was calling itself a 2 star hotel then it would probably get better reviews, as it's perfectly fine and basic. It doesn't matter that you may have got it for a cheap price (which we certainly did) - as soon as you see it's a 4 star that brings a certain level of expectation. So you read the reviews and dismiss bad ones thinking "you always get a moaner". I always try and see the positive, but I'm going to give a very honest review. if you're used to 4 star or even 3 star hotels elsewhere and haven't booked yet, maybe best to stay clear. If you've already booked then don't worry, but do prepare to be just a tad disappointed...

HOTEL/ROOM: Basic, but perfectly fine. Our room was the same as every other room we have ever stayed in abroad so nothing to complain about. Twin beds pushed together, plenty wardrobe space, TV (albiet an old set, but who cares?). Air-conditioning is only free during high season and costs 6 euros a day otherwise. It was hot for us so we paid it..glad we did as the room got quite unbearable at night. A safe costs 20 euros for the week and is non-refundable. When we came in we did not get given a wristband/card nor did we get anything with meal times, etc on it. Receptionist just told us when...very laid back, but not what we expected from a 4*. Sometimes the effort is nice! Do remember to pack mosquito repellent - Greece is really bad for them, and one night we forgot and got bitten terribly when we went out. I'd also recommend you get a plug-in for the room too. The pool is an okay size with a small pool for the little ones. There were always plenty of sun-loungers and some that were away from the pool in the garden area in the shade.

FOOD: Not a great deal of choice, this was the biggest let-down for us. For breakfast you have a table with bread, rolls, some biscuits, sliced cake and 3 choices of cereal (coco-pops, corn-flakes and muesli). There is also a bowl of greek yoghurt (this was lovely with the muesli) and what appeared to be honey but tasted a bit too artificial and syrupy..also marmalade, chocolate spread, etc. For hot food there were 6 trays with either boiled eggs, fried eggs, omelette, cocktail sausages, ham and beans. This would change every day - so you either got eggs and ham one day or eggs and sausage the other. There were always several trays with the same type of egg...variety here would have been nice. There was also a grill for toast, some more small slices of cake and one type of fruit (usually oranges for breakfast). Fresh fruit is always nice at meals and it's a shame they didn't have more than one type at any given time. at breakfast they also had a table you could make up rolls with cheese and ham...this would have been ideal at lunch-time, but it wasn't available then. For lunch and dinner there was a small table with a selection of salads/coleslaw (the coleslaw was lovely), then you again had 6 trays of hot food...meat stews/fish/pasta/potatoes..sometimes chips and small slices of pizza. The food was basic, but it was quite nice most of the time, if very limited.There was also soup (which was a bit watery) and rolls. There's a freezer with a selection of ice-creams and a small range of desserts (usually 2 types of cake - typical cream sponges, which were lovely but tiny, jelly and mousse). Because there is just one small table with meals a big queue could form. This made me very wary of going back up for more and to be honest probably accounts for people complaining about guests "piling their plates". There is also no snacks on offer during the day, which you would expect from a 4* all inclusive - unless you count the tiny table at the pool bar with coffee, biscuits and slices of madiera cake that was available between 4-6pm.

DRINKS: Again, not a great range. There are 2 bars, but the lounge bar was never open the week we were there. Outside at the pool bar was the most popular. There is a list at the bar with the All Inclusive drinks: Campari/Vodka/Whisky/Gin/Rum and 4 cocktails: Sex on the Beach/San Francisco/Blue Angel/Tequila Sunrise. There was also Red and White Wine and Beer. There wasn't the option to pay for any other drinks - that was all they had. But the vodka was real Smirnoff..and the barman gave generous measures. Cocktails were quite nice, but basic. There is also a range of soft drinks, coffee and tea. During meal times there is self service for soft drinks, fruit juice (concentrate, so really sweet) tea and coffee(at breakfast) and then for lunch/dinner there is wine and beer on tap too. As an aside, there is no option for diet juice in the restaurant which my boyfriend has to have, so was a bit of a nuisance having to get that from the pool bar each time.

LOCATION: Quiet, next to mountains. The beach is about a 5-10 min walk. We only went once so can't really comment. There is a supermarket across the road, plus more if you go to your right when you go out. Next to the hotel is the Star Bar, which we really liked. They have an 18 course mini-golf, several big screens playing sport and a children's play area with bouncy castle, etc. The staff were very nice. They also do lovely crepes/hot food/ice-cream/cocktails. If you go in the opposite direction there is a lovely bar/restaurant called Pallazzo's which is family run. Very friendly staff, especially the owner - and the breakfasts were lovely and reasonably priced. Kolymbia main strip is about 15 mins walk in either direction, and comprises of one large street with many gift shops, several bars and places to eat, etc. Memories bar did fab cocktails, and Statues across the road does 2 for 1 on cocktails (which for between 4 and 5 euros each was quite the bargain). If you want to go to Rhodes for the day you can get a bus if you walk to the left of hotel. 3.50 euros each way per person and takes about 35 mins. Do take a bus time-table at hotel as some of the times are odd! Rhodes is nice -do visit the old town in the medieval city walls, lots of lovely shops and history. Lindos is also 30 mins away - get bus from the same stop, costs the same. For some reason there is only 2 buses to Lindos - 9am and 9:30am! Lindos is also lovely, didn't brave getting on a donkey though!

ENTERTAINMENT: None. There is music played during the day at the pool bar (Greek music mainly) and then at night there was some chartier stuff played. But no brought in entertainment. However there is Table-tennis, a Pool table, small games room with air hockey/pac-man, etc), volleyball net and a Tennis Court.

SERVICE: Good. The staff were very helpful - especially the people on reception, always more than willing to give you advice, etc. Cleaners were very friendly too, always saying hello and the room was cleaned every day with fresh towels.

Overall, the Marianna Palace is a basic, laid back hotel with nice staff but it is not a 4* and this sadly is where it's going wrong. If we had known that it was basically a 2* then we wouldn't have booked as we expect more in the way of food/drink choice from a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank starshaped83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

The Marianna Palace Hotel is a hotel that gives great value for your money. The rooms are well furnished with complimentry shampoo and other needs. The staff are very helpful and go out of their way to assist with all the guests needs. The food, although not gourmet, is plentiful, flavorful and the salad bar is exceptional. The dessert chef deserves a gold star as all the offerings are excellent.
I can feel confident in recommending this hotel if you desire a quiet get away with minimal traumas expected at tye larger "resorts"

Room Tip: The high rooms are less noisy from the late night groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cameron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We were concerned after some bad reviews but both of us do not understand why it has some bad reviews. The staff were amazing and couldn't do enough for us.

The food was cooked well, there was plenty, and had both greek and english choices so you could decide what you wanted.

Our room was lovely, they had run out of singles so had made us a double bed, which was very comfy, we asked for a quiet room, thats exactly what we got. The rooms were cleaned daily, we found so bugs or insects anywhere. They left us a bottle of wine on our first evening and also put a heart out of rose petals on the bed when we arrived. These little touches really made our holiday.

It was very quiet, no children, which was ideal for us. The hotel was outside of main towns which is what we wanted, great for walking and adventuring.

Nice pool and sunbathing area, always a bed for you, no fighting or getting up early for a sunbed!

The drinks at the bar were a little watered down but so is everywhere these days, so a couple of nights, we bought our own drinks from a supermarket, which were extremely cheap.

We paid for air-con and a safe, which was our choice and is standard for most places.

There is table hockey, table tennis, a tennis court and a pool table which we thoroughly enjoyed in the evenings.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a balcany, which was worth it for us, it wasnt much extra and we loved sitting out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Depends on what one considers clean I suppose.
Unlike a previous critic, I did not find the family owners friendly at all and I greet everyone with a smile expecting one in return, but not here. The limited hired staff were friendly enough but there was only one girl behind the bar,(very sweet) working with a 'son', (very p'd off) two waitresses and one waiter in the restaurant (waitresses ok , waiter disagreeable, maybe a family member, not sure) and that was the extent of the staff. We stayed in June for 3 weeks and would have expected more staff in high season. Incidentally it has taken me this long to get over this holiday and write a review as I thought I might calm down, but no. Admittedly, you get what you pay for and this is a cheap hotel, however, I do expect cleanliness. Some fellow guests had fresh sheets every day, shoes tidied etc but we had to ask for clean sheets after a week with the same ones. They had an old fashioned shabby room, we had a refurbished one. Swings and roundabouts I guess, and the luck of the draw what type of cleaner you had on your block. Our bath never got cleaned and wet ring marks on the bedside table stayed for three days until I complained. Frosty face on reception did not believe me so I made her come to my room, and she actually bawled the cleaner out and apologised to me! Public areas were spotless though. Nice lounge, but bar closed so no atmosphere and unused by guests. Outside bar open, with just the two staff as I mentioned, and queues 20/30 deep all night.
Pool? Never saw it cleaned once (and we were up very early to get a cuppa). No chemicals, no pool vacuums, no brooms, no nets. At the end of our three weeks we had fallen leaves in the pool too. No attempt to clear them was made. Certainly the surrounding areas were not washed down or the sunbeds tidied of an evening. Now this might not worry you, it didn't worry me too much at first, but it shows the type of establishment this is. Straws, tissues, glasses were never picked up, and there were some lazy tikes there, too tired to pick up and return their glasses after use. (No good relying on staff to do it either!) Grass was mown in places, left in others, depending on the 'gardener's' energy levels.There were potholes in these 'lawns' and more broken sunbeds than unbroken ones. Could have been lovely, as the area was an old olive grove, but it was littered with debris and never cleared or cleaned. I sincerely think the family hated their job and wished themselves elsewhere. Food was good though, and the chef was on hand at every meal. Nice fella. Nice restaurant, linen tablecloths, even at breakfast. Plenty of good clean cutlery even if you did have to lay your own table half the time. I didn't mind this, but you might. It was the negligent cleaner and the thought of what wasn't being eradicated from in and around the pool that finally got to me.
Like I said, depends what you call clean I suppose.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room on check in. They do have some!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WestSussexElve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

After reading all the reviews we were apprehensive about staying at the marianna palace hotel.
When we arrived we were greeted politely by the lady on reception. We didn't have to pay for air con but did have to pay for a safe. This was €25 and u don't get any back. She told us where everything was and times etc for meals.
The rooms were surprisingly ok. They were clean which us the main thing and had a fridge. Maids cane in every day and cleaned.
Ok food!! It wasn't the best food in the world but u are in a foreign country so have to prepare for that. Breakfast was eggs and eggs and eggs with occasionally some beans and ham. Lunch was the best. Pizza, chips, pasta, salad. Dinner was pasta, always a pork dish and potatoes, rice and nice little desserts. The best night was the Greek night. Moussaka was delicious!
At every meal time u could help urself to drinks which was good. Wasn't normal coke but it did when u were thirsty. Same as the bar. Drinking and eating outside if the hotel is quite expensive if there is a few of u and we saved a he'll of a lot if money drinking in hotel. Sex onthe beach cocktail was lovely.
We found all staff to be really helpful.
Only downside to the place was that it was full if Germans and polish people. These people are not the friendliest!! They were always staring at us and made us feel uncomfortable for 1st few days. Then we learnt to ignore them!! That's the only thing that let this hotel down.
There is a bus stop right outside the hotel which takes u to lindos and Rhodes town. The buses have air con and only cost €3.50. There is also a little train that runs around kolymbia taking unto the main part of town. Kids will love it.
Overall we had a good holiday. Just remember they are foreign so food isn't going to be brilliant.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phil-jo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Unfriendly staff and mainly the hotel owners (especially young couple with child). Drinks @ bar - disgusting. Vodka, Cognac, etc... 30% watered drinks with terrible taste. Very very very bad!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank anosatane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

I would not advise any British person to stay at this hotel.On arrival we were not even shown to our rooms,and the reception staff were unfriendly.This is not an all inclusive;you have to pay for air con,a safe,towels for your sunbed even the cushion to put on your sunbed!an absolute disgrace.The food is often luke warm and is not even labelled in English;only german,russian and italian.I lost 5lbs in the week i stayed here.The queues at the bar were a joke only to recieve watered down alcohol!I had insects in our room which had an "empty housing estate"view.The pool was freezing even at midday and i never saw it cleaned so stayed well away.tThis place is certainly no palace and does not even rate 1 star.....i was glad to get home!!Do yourself a favour and dont holiday her.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jokilbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolimbia hotels
0.5 mi away
Niriides Hotel
Niriides Hotel
#22 of 34 in Kolimbia
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delfinia Resort Hotel
Delfinia Resort Hotel
#13 of 34 in Kolimbia
410 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lutania Beach
Lutania Beach
#19 of 34 in Kolimbia
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Irene Palace Beach Resort
Irene Palace Beach Resort
#15 of 34 in Kolimbia
751 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kolymbia Bay Art Hotel
Kolymbia Bay Art Hotel
#18 of 34 in Kolimbia
164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fantasy Hotel
Fantasy Hotel
#31 of 34 in Kolimbia
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marianna Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marianna Palace Hotel

Address: Kolimbia 85103, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kolimbia
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kolimbia
#17 Luxury Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range: £43 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marianna Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Marianna Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marianna Palace Kolimbia
Marianna Palace Hotel Kolimbia
Marianna Palace Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing