We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else!”
Review of Relais Paradiso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Relais Paradiso
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Vietri sul Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I have just returned from the most dreadful week long break, spent at the Relais Paradiso Hotel. It is isolated and does not offer decent/regular ferry links to the rest of the Amalfi Coast. The standard of driving is atrocious and so, not the best option. Cabs are rather expensive.

This is most certainly not a 5 star hotel. It is barely a 4 star. The menu is both limited and just about edible.

Do not stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jasmine124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
There are newer reviews for Relais Paradiso
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

We booked hotel relais paradiso last minute due to having an extra week for holidays. We are so glad we found this hotel and we will be back again next year. This is the 2nd time visiting amalfi coast but 1st time staying here. The hotel is very clean and staff are very friendly. Everyone here speaks English well enough to get the assistance you require and advice on the town. The food is the best thing about the hotel and we dined in the hotel 5 nights out of the 7. We found pricing very reasonable as the food is divine. Breakfast is available til 10:30 and you have a choice of continental or cooked. Compliments to the chef on our dinner which you can get served in your room, the honey beef or fish soooooo good.
Our room was divine, if you stay here you must book a room with the outdoor jacuzzi and if you want to splash out the paradiso suite is superb. Well worth the extra. $$.
Being a small hotel with only 22 rooms you get serviced well and nothing is to much to ask for. If you do require something or you have to do is ask. The pool area is beautiful as once again there are not 500 people staying here. There is a free shuttle however to walk into town centre only takes 5minutes so we opted to walk as the exercise felt great.
The town of vietre sul mare is our favourite amalfi coast town yet. It is unspoiled and has many beautiful people. The community of this town is what also made it so special.
You must visit the local bar called bar miramare, the owner is lovely and the view of the ocean is incredible, you can sit the for hours relaxing.
Local food and wine is delicious, you must meet the local store owners and taste their cheese and meats. They make it themselves.
We were lucky enough to see a band called Under the Bridge and had a dance with them. Watching all the young local children dance was also a highlight.
We leave relais paradiso tomorrow and we are sad to leave. We will be back and can't believe how much more relaxed we feel after spending a week here.

Room Tip: You can't go past paradiso suite!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peter and Tenn... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I have recently got married and decided to go away for a mini break for which this hotel seemed perfect.

The hotel is situated on the hills with great views of the sea.

On check in we were greeted by Alberto who simply gave us our room key with no information about the hotel. The hotel seemed fairly quiet so we asked for an upgrade to the jacuzzi room as we were on honeymoon but he said we would need to pay for this. We were not told about the shuttle service, use of the other hotel facilities, that breakfast could be delivered in the room etc. He also did not mention the mini bar was complimentary which we only found out on the last day. The following day we met Simona who was great she gave us some excellent restaurant suggestions, try La Sosta in Vietri for delicious pizza about £5 a portion! She was also more than happy to sort out an upgrade for us and it is definitely worth getting a jacuzzi room. The indoor jacuzzi is also very good!

On the downsides the hotel is quite far up so it is worth using the hotel shuttle or a taxi. Also eating at the hotel is very expensive so definitely worth venturing into Vietri or down to the marina.

Great for a short relaxing break and if you need anything speak to Simona!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NS3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Really nice/modern boutique hotel.
£300 a night Dinner bed and Breakfast with a 40 min massage included for 2( which was superb!)
The staff are all lovely.
The only negative points is the gym and the food.
If you were to stay there, I would recommend to eat out or go to the main Hotel up the hill where the food is meant to be the real deal.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank qgurvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Just got back from a fabulous week on the Amalfi Coast highlighted by our stay at Relais Paradiso. We love boutique hotels with a decidedly "modern design" look and feel- this resort hotel fit our desire in every respect. From the second we walked into the lobby (after being picked up by private car at Naples airport arranged by the hotel at a surprisingly reasonable cost), we just knew we had made the perfect choice.

We booked a Junior Suite which actually exceeded our lofty expectations from viewing the website before making our plans. The bathroom- with it's huge Jacuzzi tub and separate rain shower- was a huge plus. The bedroom with its flat-screen TV, queen bed (great sheets but would have preferred down pillows) and lots of bureau drawers and large wardrobe was both convenient and comfortable- very "high-end" furniture throughout. We even had a separate living room area with another flat-screen TV. To top it off, we had a huge private terrace with lounge chairs and a whirlpool. Great for late-night relaxation.

Every morning there was a bountiful and delicious breakfast buffet included in the room rate. Several nights we chose to have dinner in the small restaurant and the chef never let us down- great food and service. Not a large menu, but just enough choices prepared with the best ingredients and consumate skill. Chef even went the extra mile to prepare a "special dinner" where we jointly agreed a Tasting Menu and wine- absolutely superb!!!

We spent most of our days just relaxing at the roof-top pool and lounge area- large chaise lounges with umbrellas and tables. Very chic and very comfortable!

Every day we ventured out- so it was a big bonus to have the free shuttle take us to and pick us up from Vietri sul Mare- day or night whenever we needed transportation.

Finally, we can't say enough great things about the service we received from Simona and her wonderful staff- they made sure that our every want and need was perfectly addressed- even when we changed some plans they had made especially for us at the last moment. They were most friendly as well as being truly professional. By the time we left, we felt like we had made new friends for life.

Bottom line- we can't wait to go back for another stay in September!

Room Tip: the Junior Suites are the best value.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LPSExton_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We spent 7 days of our honeymoon in this lovely, charming and friendly boutique hotel in a terrific, quiet village called Vietri Sul Mare. We would not have discovered this hidden gem but for Trip Advisor and other online reviews.

Contrary to the most recent post, this is most definitely a 5-star experience, despite some shortcomings -- there is no such thing as a perfect hotel. The service was simply superb, though we wished that the staff had somewhat better English speak skills (not to be as a sterotypically provincial American). Maria Teresa is a first-rate professional who truly understands customer service. For instance, when we had a less-than-satisfying spa experience in their sister hotel, she pormptly corrected it and even treated us to a bottle of champagne as an unexpected and most welcome accomodation.

The restaurant is good though pricey. Contrary to the prior review, daily buffet breakfast is somewhat varied, and 10 varieties of egg and omellettes prepared to order are available. True, burgers are not avaialable on demand, but to expect burgers at an Italian boutique hotel is rather myopic (try to order first rate lasagne at Waldorf Astoria).

Almost all guests were couples (some on their honeymoon like us), and everyone was very friendly and respectful of each other's space.

Most importantly, we spent a day in Amalfi and where highly disappointed with the way tourists are nickeled and dimed. In contrast, the village in which the Relais Paradiso is located is off the beaten path, not a tourist trap, quiet, safe and extremely reasonably priced. We ate dinner two days in a row at a local pizzeria called I Due Fratelli and paid EUR 25 (and had so much food, we could barely finish).

We highly recommend staying at the Relais Paradiso.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BBesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Please note this is NOT a five star hotel by any means! I will try to split this review in two parts. One to outline the hotel and the other to outline the area of Amalfi as this is very significant if you are booking here!

My partner had booked for 6 nights in a sea view room. The photos are similar as illustrated on various websites. This hotel is very much a 4 star hotel, minimalist and modern in design but lacking various 5 star factors. The room had a sea view over looking Amalfi. Maybe expedia needs to check their ratings!

Both the bar and restaurant face the sea. Everything White and clean. The pool is clean with small area overlooking the coast. Local neighbours have a dog and there are several birds chirping away. Also, the hotel is located off a small main road so traffic can be heard, but not from you room!

1. We had been allocated a room next to a family who had a small child. The rooms have weak Walls so you could hear crying. The hotel initially placed us in this room knowing full knowledge there was a family next door. Also the hotel was very quiet with only a few guests, we could have easily been moved.

NOT 5 Star Hotel Service

2. The fridge in our room did not work when we arrived, I informed the front desk several times. The fridge was replaced 4 days into our break.

In addition, the air conditioning did not work. When I complained I was simply told it must be the electrics were not working

NOT 5 Star Hotel Service

3. The room service menu is very poor and lacks the choice and appeal for hotel boasting 5 stars. When asked if I could have a burger, I was told that they don't do it. Having spoken to the chef to ask why? A sudden change of mind? No problem sir we can order a burger from our sister hotel around the corner which we will bring to you. So a 5 star hotel chef can't cook a burger on site? More importantly, something as simple as a burger?

NOT 5 Star Hotel Service

4. Furthermore, the dinner is appalling. I highly recommend to get out of the hotel and eat elsewhere (tips at the end). The dinner was overpriced and not cooked fresh. Our dessert had come out of the freezer.

NOT 5 Star Hotel Service

5. The breakfast buffet is all cold and has the same choice everyday! No hot food was available, especially for the price you are paying for 5 star hotel.

NOT 5 Star Hotel Service

6. The pool man is very pervy (stares a lot, not good if you are there with your wife or girlfriend ) My partner certainly felt very uncomfortable and mentioned this to me several times.

NOT 5 Star Hotel Service

The staff are generally good. Carmine is friendly and so is Maria, both are efficient with booking restaurants. The hotels best asset is Francesco who is very attentive.

However, no senior manager to be found anywhere????

My partner described this hotel as "a lot of fuss, little substance".

Location: The hotel is located at the start/end of Amalfi and has it's pros and cons. Firstly, I would recommend to hire a car! Why? You are located 40 mins away from Amalfi, 30 mins from Minori and 60 mins from Positano. Taxis are very expensive e.g Return from Amalfi is 160 Euros. My advice move to Amalfi and become a Taxi Driver!

This is very important if you are planning a trip to Capri. We parked our car in amalfi for 30 euros in the 24 hour car park and then took the ferry across. If we paid for a taxi it would have cost us 160 euros return. This is why you should hire a car at Naples!

We hired a car from Naples Airport for 150 euros for a week, A fiat 500 very Eco on fuel- a full tank is 40 euros which would last a week. Well worth it and it gives you independence around the coast. However, I would say if you are not a strong driver be very careful as the roads and their drivers are not.

Local Restaurant Tips:

Don't eat at the hotel!

1. Vetri Sal Mare: Evu and Del Lucia - Both good if you like fish and used by the locals.

2. Cetara: Aqua di Pazzo- Excellent Host and Food (fish)

3. Minori: La Vela- Excellent Pizzeria and popular with locals

4. Ravello: Vittoria and Campino - Excellent Food and Reasonably Priced

5. Salerno: Bufla di Pizza on the beach - Try the Vesuvia Pizza

Save your money and find something closer to Amalfi or Minori or spend more on something there!

Further Note: The Italians holiday in September and is very busy. Also, in restaurants attention and service is turned to bigger tables who have booked, so if you are American or British wanting attentive service, don't expect much as the service is very very laid back. You have been warned!

Room Tip: Hire a Car!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank AurtherFonzerlli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vietri sul Mare
0.4 mi away
Hotel Raito
Hotel Raito
#2 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
1,020 reviews
7.1 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
1.5 mi away
Villa Poseidon - Boutique Hotel & Events
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lloyd's Baia Hotel
Lloyd's Baia Hotel
#4 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
1,267 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Novotel Salerno Est Arechi
5.8 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Paradiso

Address: Via Nuova Raito 10, 84019, Vietri sul Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Vietri sul Mare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Vietri sul Mare
Price Range: £144 - £878 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais Paradiso 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Relais Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Paradiso Hotel Vietri Sul Mare
Relais Paradiso Amalfi Coast/Vietri Sul Mare, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing