We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How could a hotel courting "quality" guests get so much wrong?”
Review of Relais Paradiso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Relais Paradiso
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Vietri sul Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“How could a hotel courting "quality" guests get so much wrong?”
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Greeted and checked in like old friends. Our 'lifestyle-consultant' showed us to our two luxury sea view rooms, (one being a suite).

On the way, our first impression was the corridors cheap plain, thin, light beige cord carpet, badly stained, poorly fitted with copious threads and frays which would get worse with every vacuum. Every utility door we passed was open exposing all the behind the scenes stocks and equipment. My wife gave me the GLARE, this was her birthday romantic Amalfi experience!!

On opening the first room, first impressions was how small it was, but looked modern and comfortable. Certainly not impressed as the room rate suggested much better.

We were then shown to the suite. Everything went down hill from here!! The suite was the size of an 'executive' room elsewhere and my wife soon noticed that the only place to blow dry her hair was in the mirror at the back of the beverage cabinet: no dressing table with mirror! (There was an obvious space for it!). Then we noticed the SMELL, the room was musty, very musty: on inspection there was a green patch of mould-damp about two square feet in the bathroom ceiling. Off I went to reception with a smile to advise my "lifestyle-consultant" of the situation. He acted surprised, (poorly acted), however I felt patronised to think he could show us to a room with such an obvious odour and in such need of repair. We tried about six other rooms and they all had the same damp musty odour, by which time I was politely insisting there must be a fundamental problem in the hotel for all the rooms to smell so bad. As a good employee he gave nothing away as to the problem. We chose the two least smelly rooms with his promise of "tomorrow we will do something!" Again no dressing tables: how do these Italian women arrange their hair - it's a mystery to me!

We ventured outside to the balcony. As the Hotels picture shows in its literature there is a row of trees which in reality blocks the sea-views of all the "luxury" rooms, the standard rooms upstairs have a better chance of a view over the tree tops. After noticing our new room was not properly serviced, my wife spent the next two hours on the free wi-fi trying to find another hotel, while I optimistically tried to read the hotel stationary which consisted mainly of well thumbed A4 photocopies. (If you are going to be that cheap to promote your hotel facility on A4 photocopies, at least put NEW ones in with each new guest, I don't want to see the stains of previous guests!)

Wanting to enjoy our romantic time together, we opted for dinner with the private chef. The food was very nice, but as the only diners in the clinical atmosphere of the dining area, it lacked any romance. (It was just eating your food actually!!)

Off to bed and with a CERTAIN night of TV viewing ahead. I am pleased to advise the hotel has an abundance of English SKY channels; so no BBC WORLD tonight: things were certainly looking up.

Our optimism was short lived when breakfast time came. I am afraid some boxes of Kellogg's Variety packs, some containers of fruit cubes and a few croissants sprinkled with sugar does not constitute a breakfast buffet. With the few people (about 3-4 couples) at breakfast each morning you could have had the chef preparing breakfast to order. Honestly, the poorest Hotel breakfast that we have ever been presented; (including Travel Lodge!)

As we could not find an alternative hotel, we went along with yet another change of room. As long as it didn't smell!! We were shown the room with the circular bath in the middle as if all our grievances should now be resolved and washed away in style. (Actually we prefer a good shower.) No smell: this will do!!

However our second room was musty throughout our stay.

On the positive side, the staff were lovely and by the end of our stay seemed genuinely embarrassed by the situation; however not embarrassed enough to knock even one euro off the bill for sleeping in a musty room and for the inconvenience experienced.

Poor-show Relais Paradiso!!! --- You TALK THE TALK, but you certainly DONT deliver.

As for the local town Vietri sul Mare. A bit rough, not very nice to be honest.

Pompei and the cultural sights AMAZING. However the Amalfi coast really does rely on its 'retro' charm!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Richardwelltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    66
    26
    1
    8
See reviews for
30
154
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Relais Paradiso is a wonderful hotel! It is located away from the busy and more tourist-populated areas of the Amalfi Coast. The rooms, service and staff at the Hotel are great! I highly recommend this beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowm305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Positano, Ravello, Amalfi are all very nice but we found a delightful gem in the Paradiso Relais. It's close to Salerno (10 minutes away) which very easy to get to by train or ferry. You will need a car at the Paradiso but it's also very close to the highway if you want to go to Pompeii (30 minute away) or any of the other Amalfi towns.

The hotel was nice and clean. The staff was very pleasant, helpful and eager to please. Very highly recommended. You also have access to the larger hotel's spa and activities which was a nice bonus. Make sure you upgrade for the Sea View. It's a gorgeous view to wake up to.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sleepygirlsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Vietri hasn't yet surrendered its timeless charm to the demands of tourism, and the Relais Paradiso was our choice for a long weekend on the Amalfi coast in the middle of June. We were not disappointed. The hotel was quiet - there were few other guests, and we enjoyed exemplary service from the friendly and attentive staff. The swimming pool was a welcome distraction from taking in the views over Vietri sul Mare and soaking up the sun from the rooftop terrace.
We chose the all-inclusive option and can't fault the enthusiasm of the young chef and the quality of the meals he produced - simple and delicious. The wine choice was not extensive but we were more than content with the local offerings.
Our room was comfortable - the bed especially so - and we took advantage of the terrace for breakfast and lunches. The large umbrella served to protect us from both sun and rain in the changeable weather!
We're always on the lookout for yet-to-be-discovered gems, and this is certainly one of them.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hiltonbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHESHIRE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Late booking, found on internet. Recently opened for season, great access from Naples as end of A3 auto route, just 40 mins from car hire at airport to hotel.
Originally booked for 3 days but extended as impressed by hotel quality so cancelled stay in Naples. Also very quick access to Pompeii.
Hotel was very quiet, one other couple one night, one other family later on, rest of time it was our private villa. and as quiet able to negotiate a good deal for extra nights.

Rooms are lovely though not large, certainly modern contemporary decor, travertine, marble, nice power shower.

Terraces are small as are outdoor jacuzzis and not private as overlooked by next door rooms. Our end of row room was next door to barking dogs that the kids actually enjoyed talking to, nice but not 5 star! View was over road to coast and beach. There were a few niggles with the sea view room as the build quality was not perfect but was dealt with adequately.

Food was superb, especially as we were only guests eating. Chef basically made gourmet food to order, fabulous lemon scented fish and deserts to die for. Wine selection limited but good local wines without being too expensive.

The pool was a little small, 8x5 metres, not heated but even in June was warming up nicely. Quality outdoor speakers allowed nice but limited music selection to be heard, 100 tracks in these days of 5-10,000 ipod tunes is not great! The pool area was tastefully designed and landscaped.
Pool Towels were lovely, and although the staff did check up on us there is no easy outdoor phone to request a menu or drink.

We visited the beach resort of Vietri and the town , quaint Italian without being touristy. There was a fab deli just off the square called Luigi Margarita with superb produce and service.

The trip to Sorrento-Capri was interesting along the coastal road, attractive as the Amalfi coast road is, it is quicker to go to inland and across, rather than risk heavy traffic.

Pompeii was 20 minutes away and an easy drive.

Overall the service was excellent and the hotel was well appointed. The food was amazing and the chef and team made dining a memorable experience. Being so quiet made it very special and private but not sure how the hotel would cope with more than 12-14 guests as dining area and pool are quite small.
When quiet though it does feel like your private luxury villa.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TARGA4S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2010

After investigating most of the 3+ start hotels along Amalfi, our group chose Relais Paradiso for our 1st trip to the Coast. Mainly because it was new ( as you might can tell from limited amount of reviews) and it seemed to offered good value. Beginners luck I guess, because this hotel exceeded all expectations.

The Hotel- is very small in the qty of rooms (20 maybe) but our room, a terrace whirlpool suite, was extremely large by European standards. King bed, huge "windowed" bathroom with jetted tub and separate shower, two LCD TV's, work desk and sofa (and FREE mini-bar). Our sliding glass door led outside to the whirlpool ( made of mosaic with built in seating- very artistic) and small terrace area with lounges. The view of the Sea was icing on the cake. There is also a pool and sun area on the 2nd floor with even better views of the Sea.

The Service- Outstanding. Our man Luigi took care of everything. Even took me into Vietri to the pharmacy to translate so as to make sure my wife received the correct medicine she needed. And afterwards showed me a few things around Vietri and introduced me to local folks ( which turns out gets you free shots of homemade lemoncello). We also learned our group of 5 were the only guests ( it being midweek and off-season) so the restaurant's "Chef" ,as he was called, basically became our groups own private "Chef". Our last night he offered to prepare a private dinner on the Hotel terrace in honor of our friends birthday. We simple asked for seafood and 5 courses later- "Chef" did not disappoint. The food , the view, "Chef" and Luigi made it a great evening.

Location- The hotel is located in Vietri which is right off the A3. While farther south than most Amalfi towns, it is very, very easy to get to owing to the A3- three hrs at 130 kph from Rome. That said- a car is a must ( free parking at hotel). But if you really want to tour Amalfi at your own pace/ schedule, you will want a car anyway. The hotel is 30 sec from the coastal "road" to Positano, etc. While it was off-season, we never once felt driving/ parking anywhere was a bother( but that coast road is TIGHT- and I drive in NYC everyday). There are also ferries that run between towns but it was hard to understand exact routes/ schedules because they seem to sort of run whenever( again maybe function of off season).

Bottom line- When this hotel is "fully discovered"- it will be in every travel magazine known and almost impossible to book a stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMWLEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We stayed at this hotel for two nights of our 6 night Amalfi extravaganza and what a delight to start of with. We were upgraded to a room with an outdoor jacuzzi and the free toilettries were full sized! The hotel room reminded me of those you'd expect to find in the elegant Maldives and definitely not typical of Italy (which in my experience tends to be slightly fussy and frilly). Service is sublime and I would recommend eating in the hotel and then relaxing for cocktails on their terrace. One drawback is hotel is situated next to road, but this still comes with it's own charm!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vietri sul Mare
0.4 mi away
Hotel Raito
Hotel Raito
#2 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
968 reviews
7.4 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
972 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.6 mi away
Lloyd's Baia Hotel
Lloyd's Baia Hotel
#4 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
1,205 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 19 in Praiano
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Paradiso

Property: Relais Paradiso
Address: Via Nuova Raito 10, 84019, Vietri sul Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Vietri sul Mare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Vietri sul Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais Paradiso 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Relais Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Paradiso Hotel Vietri Sul Mare
Relais Paradiso Amalfi Coast/Vietri Sul Mare, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing