We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was great...until the bill arrived!!!!”
Review of Ristorante Evu

Ristorante Evu
Price range: US$21 - US$41
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Restaurant Evù is in the center of Vietri sul mare,a small country famous for "ceramiche italiane".Evù is a nice and romantic restaurant...and the food is special for mediterrean menù...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything was great...until the bill arrived!!!!”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

2 families with 4 kids eating out is never easy. Restaurant bent over backwards to help and even allowed children a peek at kitchen. Everything went well (for us if not the other guests) until the bill came! They tried to rip us off with excessive charges for covers (normally we don't get charged for the 2 toddlers), childrens portions of pasta (these were 1/2 sized but charged at full price) and gelato (which we're only available from local bar for <2 euros but were charged 5 euro for each one!!). 2 of us had fish too which was very expensive per kg. Interestingly they asked how many nights we were staying for which indicated to us that as we wouldn't be back they'll try to rip us off!!!
In summary be clear what you're ordering and paying for in advance and you should have good experience!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Slrweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    293
    115
    66
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

We had been recommended this place by our apartment owners and TA. Though the atmosphere in Vietri is quite nice our overall judgement is max. average. Nothing special about dishes, drinks or service. Don't order fresh fish per weight - EUR 40,- for a medium sized fish without any side dishes is just ridiculous. Would not return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy_R1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ok place, don't understand the hype”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

the food was pretty good and the wine aswell, prices also totally ok. as stated in the title, none in our group understood the hype here on tripadvisor around this place though: the service really was a bit so-so, we had a wonderful bit older man serving us and really doing his best to make sure we had a good time and really took his time to describe the menu for us even though he said he wasn't very confident in english. but we felt very well taken care of! unfortunately, the lady and especially the younger man working there weren't quite as service-minded, prioritizing talking to his friends instead of looking out for his customers. overall, if it wasn't for the older, friendly waiter we would have rated this place a 2/5 tops.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 12havanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Seafood amazing”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Amazing service, amazing food! Can't wait to eat here again! Try the house redwine it will not disappoint! Make a reservation on weekend nights to avoid disappointment. Outside tables very romantic

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter and Tenn... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful Find”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

In general, the food in southern Italy is more basic than exciting. Evu is the exception. Lovely, friendly owners who put some thought into their food. It's still on the basi side, but it was better than anything else in the area and sitting outside and watching the village go by was an experience all by itself.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ossian7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Evu also viewed

Vietri sul Mare, Amalfi Coast
Vietri sul Mare, Amalfi Coast
 
Vietri sul Mare, Amalfi Coast
Vietri sul Mare, Amalfi Coast
 
Vietri sul Mare, Amalfi Coast
Vietri sul Mare, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Ristorante Evu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing