We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service, View, Restaurant are top notch. Rooms are so-so.”
Review of Hotel Raito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Raito
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Vietri sul Mare
Center
Level Contributor
558 reviews
265 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Service, View, Restaurant are top notch. Rooms are so-so.”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Here in low season -few guests. I received a slpendid-view room, first floor.
LOCATION: this is a wondeful place for those who look for isolation. The SPA is part of the way someone should exploit the Raito. A free shuttle takes you to Vietri sul mare that is a top destination itself for its ceramic artworks nd sandy beach. I don't recommend it as base to explore the Amalfi coast as the connection roads do have morning traffic. You could think of few days on the Amalfi coast and then 2 nights here for sea&Spa. If you come here, stay here.
POSITIVE: 1st floor: remarkably long and beautiful room terrace with "the" view, hard to match. Very nice Restaurant hall, with also outdoor seating under "loggiato" balcony. Excellent food and super kind service in all compartments. Fine and carefully taken care of plants and flowers -truly 5 stars details in the outdoor areas. Afternoon service in the rooms, as you'd expect.
NEGATIVE: remarkably small bathroom; room furniture is nothing speacial, to be a 5 star.
Conclusion: definitely a fine choice if you come looking for peace and isolation. Small corporate meetings, Romances, Special Occasion can be very well hosted. Service kindness and Restaurant quality are truly 5 stars. Value is obviously top in low season due to the very low fares.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    308
    138
    70
    51
See reviews for
158
556
14
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pebble Beach, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

While living in Napoli, we spent the weekend in Salerno to see the festival of lights. Hotel Raito was mostly empty because of the season, and we booked a suite with the most incredible balcony and coast view for a fraction of the price. The room was stocked with champagne, fresh fruit and rose petals. The lounge area was beautiful, with views overlooking the plunging coastline and a baby grand piano next to the bar. Overall, the location was pretty perfect, the room was romantic and our stay was top notch.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christianannschaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Overall - this is not a good location for seeing the Amalfi Coast. It's more difficult to get to, isolated and inferior. Stay at the other end in Sorrento instead.

This is at best a 4-star hotel masquerading as a 5-star. Stayed a week during September with a group. Fantastic vista, decent food and nifty facilities, but oh how the details bite. I really got tired of hearing "Don't worry, we'll send someone down right away to fix it." Our door latch stayed broken for 2 days - we had to find the maid to let us in with her pass key. The TV never worked nor did the free Wi-Fi. Omitted wake-up calls were routine. No courtesy coffee/tea in the room or anywhere on site. Hard beds, useless pillows. Notwithstanding the earnest staff and excellent bartenders, the place seemed to lack any overall management. During a week's stay, there was no evidence of anyone in charge. No maitre-d', no manager, just staff running about putting out fires as best they could.
The biggest complaint is the Hotel's isolation and its bizarre shuttle schedule to the local small town. The shuttle didn't run between 1 and 4 in the afternoon or after 9:30 at night. Hardly conducive to a trip to the beach or a late evening meal. The "deluxe" patio rooms are the best choice but be prepared to like your neighbours since the "partition" between rooms is a bunch of vines. And the barking dog next door is a big negative.
Mr. Manager: Please don't answer and say you are sorry and will do better. Similar comments have been on the site for over a year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackstoneBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the Hotel Raito after driving down from Rome..
Great points...Lovely location overlooking the town..very professional staff in the restaurants and bars..excellent standard of accommodation..( We stayed in the new spa wing )..Very very clean, high standard of decor..very nice pool area with plenty of sun beds and free pool towels..restaurant food, although expensive was excellent including the breakfast buffet..
Not Great points...although the staff were very nice the lack of local information from the front desk left you with a sense of unhelpfulness you shouldn't get from a hotel of this standard..sometimes the language barrier made this seem worse than it should be..our room entitled us to free entry to the spa areas with sauna etc but was closed most of the time ( Didn't open at all until the afternoon)..
Overall...Not too many places to eat in Vietri or places to park..!! But a 10 minute drive to Salerno opens up a load more opportunities..very nice hotel to stay in before driving or siteseeing the Amalfi coast..

Room Tip: Can't say if it's worth the extra cost to stay in the spa rooms as we never got to use the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fluke831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The Raito hotel is a wonderful experience, without having to sell a kidney to afford. It's location offers unbeatable views of the sea, whereas the services are top notch.
The pool and the multitude of bars it offers complement the overall presentation, while the staff is as one would expect them to be: extremely professional.

You'd need a car to easily get to/from, however I believe a transfer service is available. Don't know for sure, as we rented one...

Room Tip: All rooms are great, with the usual premium for sea views. However, there's little point in spen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doculik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbilisi, T'bilisi, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The place is great and service seemed to be quite good until my check out. I have accidentally left my golden cross and chain (I have had them for over 20 years) hanging in the bathroom,\I have contacted the hotel several times, but they denied finding them.
Why I am reporting this? Because I have also deliberately left a hat (one of those you buy in a souvenir shop) in my room, just to not carry it to the airport. The hotel also denied finding it in the room. i.e. housekeeping has found those items and did not report.
This spoiled whole week of what seemed to be a nice vacation.

Room Tip: One should book a superior room at least. regular rooms are really small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank NikaBERIDZE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The pro's 1. The staff are wonderful and very helpful even if they don't have to be.
2. The Breakfast was wonderful and even better having it in your room.
3. The pool area and spa are what they should be in a 5 star so you wont regret that part.
4. The views are amazing and just cant get any better.

The Con's 1. We stayed 3 nights and each day had to switch to a different room due to no Air Condition. The last room we just gave up as it was the last night and it seemed impossible to get what we wanted. We went from Seiren Deluxe with partial sea views to Seiren with full sea view then last to a Deluxe with garden and Terrace. All the rooms were nice except very hot.
2. second night the staff said hotel fully booked and could not move us but said we should keep the door open to our balcony as it would be cooler then keeping it closed. We did this and my partner woke up with huge bug bites all over his arm and neck and made him sick the rest of the trip as he was in a lot of pain.
3. The hotel needs repair as we visited this hotel less then a year ago for dinner and now the fountain in the lobby is broken and falling apart the A/C units need repairs just simple cosmetic details are going unnoticed. We can only assume they are either going bankrupt or the owner can't leverage the property's to get the loans to do the upkeep as the economy is going down the tubes. It's sad since this truly is an amazing place and good staff.

And we are not tight on money as I would have spent $1K a night to have a nice room with A/C. My mother and her friend booked a basic room facing the garden and there A/C worked just fine and the room was very nice so go figure.

I included a picture of the Garden terrace to let you see that its very overgrown and the chairs were almost falling apart. But then again the view was just stunning so I kinda just thought what the hell I'm seeing one of the most amazing views in the world.
Also just pay the 20 euro's to use the spa as its OK but the view is amazing and you can relax.
Also the Food as from a few pictures below was very good and priced well.

Room Tip: Book a basic room facing the garden as the Air Condition works in those rooms. The front desk at che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vietri sul Mare
0.4 mi away
Relais Paradiso
Relais Paradiso
#3 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
223 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lloyd's Baia Hotel
Lloyd's Baia Hotel
#4 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
1,205 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Voce del Mare
Hotel Voce del Mare
#1 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
581 reviews
6.7 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
7.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raito

Property: Hotel Raito
Address: Via Nuova Raito 9, 84019, Vietri sul Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Vietri sul Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Vietri sul Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Raito 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recent and precious renovation has turned the famed Hotel Raito, in Vietri sul Mare into a closely guarded secret getaway, the crown jewel of the Amalfi Coast. This extraordinary five star hotel displays a suggestive landscape where Earth, Sea and Sky seem to meet exalting its marvelous position which sets in the mountain-site descending on the amazing Salerno bay. Superb landscapes and a central location give the hotel the most desirable destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Raito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raito Hotel Vietri Sul Mare
Hotel Raito Amalfi Coast/Vietri Sul Mare, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing