We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, disappointing service”
Review of Hotel La Lucertola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Lucertola
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Vietri sul Mare
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great hotel, disappointing service”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Great location, lovely hotel. Amazing sea view in our room with electronic shutters, as the sun is ridiculously hot at the back in the mornings.

We had dinner at the hotel but it wasn't great. Wouldn't recommend - not bad, except the food wasn't fresh and we have had a lot better elsewhere.

Unlike other reviews, we had no trouble with wi-fi, we had AC in our room, and the lift served us both up and down the hotel!

The main downside is that there is absolutely no tourist info at all. The receptionist took us to the room and then walked out without saying a word. We got the impression he didn't speak english.
There was another guy at reception who we asked about how to get to Amalfi and where to get the bus from. He was helpful in directing us and telling us where to get tickets for the bus.

A simple welcome pack would have made our stay here perfect!
Judging by the lack of English and tourist info, and Sky tv in the room, I think it is mainly served as a hotel for businessmen passing through the coast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    107
    62
    24
    14
See reviews for
36
131
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This could be a good hotel but the service is terrible, and really ruined our stay. The location is good, a good base for exploring the Amalfi Coast, but there is nothing close to the actual hotel. The first night we stayed (we were on our honeymoon) we asked for recommendations for dinner at around 7.30. We were rudley told that the last bus (I don't know where to as the conversation was ended) has already left. We had a car but were not given options. There is no tourist info available, we asked for a map of the area but they had nothing. We also asked about info for getting to Capri and were told that we needeed to catch a bus and brushed off. The rooms are basic but fine and semi clean. The view is beautiful. If you want a nice view, average rooms and made to feel unwelcome at an over inflated price, this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CloverJ77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vietri sul Mare hotels

Munich
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The location of this hotel cannot be improved. A fantastic spot with great sea view in a very interesting area of italy. If you can handle continuous (loud) surf sound and excited seagull squeaks, that is. But I could. On the other hand, I hate it when a hotel advertises with the presence of wireless internet in all the rooms, and it does not work. In this case, me and many of my colleagues and other guests had no internet in the room. We only had it in the lobby. But oftentimes one does not want to email or netsurf in the lobby. The staff was not worried about this at all. "It works in the lobby, so suck it up" was what they seemed to be saying. Also, there was no AC in the hotel, which means that if it's hot, it's REALLY hot, esp. at night. And there was not table in the room I had, so I could not work (which is what I was there for). Staff english was very rudimentary. I'd recomment trying out other hotels, unless you insist on the close-to-the-sea experience and don't mind not having internet in the room.

Room Tip: Avoid the basement rooms. Even more noisy, and no chance in hell that internet will actually work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

The view is beautiful with the sea shore just under your balcony. The room was comfortable and clean with ceramic flooring which is produced in that region.
The bathroom had no hair dryer and a missing tap in the bidet, but was clean.
Hotel is close to the sea but a little far off from the centre and to reach there you need to have a car or use public transport. The staff are friendly especially if you speak Italian.
Breakfast is average.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria-Maltija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
293 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

My husband and I stayed here in April 09, room 80. The room was quiet, newly refurbished and clean. There is no shower shower screen or curtain around the bath and poor water pressure. Bed is comfortable. Breakfast left alot to be desired consisting of bread, cereal, tea, coffee and juice. The view from our balcony was beauutiful, over looking the ocean. The service was non existent, with no help to unload our luggage from the car which was parked outside the front door.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny0401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

This summe my family and I stayed at this hotel for a few nights. The position of this hotel is impressive, right on the edge of the cliff, so that you can hear the sea below you as its just outside the balcony. It feels like you are at sea or on a ship. The morning view is to die for. The rooms are modern and clean but the staff were now so helpful. I kept missing the manager who was never around and the staff in charge were not able to help me withy any of my queries. I had to chase them for confirmations and room tariffs and despite booking half the hotel rooms for a large group of family memebers, they were not very hospitable. It had a wonderful location and I would recomend it for anybody wanting to go to this part of the Amalfi Coast, also becaus eI have seen most of the hotels in this town and this isby far one of the nicest. It is also only a short walk from the bach. Just dont expect them to bed over backwards for you or to be that friendly.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

Plus: the position, all rooms are directly on the sea. Rooms recently refurbished. Small beach available for guests.
Minus: Poor breakfast. Restaurant expensive (+20% for service!), restaurants in Vietri are better quality. The hotel itself is clean, but the surrounding area is rather dirty.

  • Liked — position on the sea
  • Disliked — the breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wirp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vietri sul Mare hotels
0.3 mi away
Lloyd's Baia Hotel
Lloyd's Baia Hotel
#4 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Raito
Hotel Raito
#2 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Voce del Mare
Hotel Voce del Mare
#1 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#6 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Relais Paradiso
Relais Paradiso
#3 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vietri Coast
Hotel Vietri Coast
#7 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Lucertola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Lucertola

Property: Hotel La Lucertola
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 29, 84019 Vietri sul Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Vietri sul Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Vietri sul Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Lucertola 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel La Lucertola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Lucertola Hotel
Hotel La Lucertola Amalfi Coast/Vietri Sul Mare, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing