We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking location, warmest hospitality-Italy at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Il Melograno in Costa d'Amalfi
Ranked #14 of 25 Vietri sul Mare B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Breathtaking location, warmest hospitality-Italy at its best”
Reviewed 1 September 2010

By te time you reach Il Melograno in the small village of Raito, you are almost touching the sky over the gates of the rocky, steep and beautiful Amalfi Coast. In keeping with the spirit of Raito, Il Melograno is rustic, authentic, subtly elegant in its simplicity, with an off-the-beaten-path allure. The home is perched on the side of the mountain, almost invisible with its stone walls, surrounded by a well-tended garden with a wisteria-covered trellis. The apartment we stayed in is very spacious and clean, and with a small terrace where you run the risk of remaining stuck for the rest of your stay, given the breathtaking view of Salerno, Vietri and the rolling hills degrading to the sea. Yes, there are stairs to get there, but way less than those you'll need to climb toreach the Duomo in Amalfi, and after all, that's what La Costiera is all about--vertical Paradise. At night the air was often filled with live classical and jazz music floating up from Villa Guariglia, a beautiful mansion hosting cultural events all summer long.
Rosa and Marco, the owners and hosts, will welcome you with a sincere hospitality, a true Italian grace that in their case goes way above and beyond the call of mere hosting duties. Besides their day profession, they run Il Melograno out of passion, as an extension of their life philosophy of outreach for people all over the world. My kids loved picking organic tomatos at dawn with Rosa -do wear mosquito repellent though!!- from their incredibly fertile garden (did I mention snacking on apricots right off their tree?), and we loved a night walk with them through Raito's steep, white-walled roads where Marco pointed at unique architectural features, while Rosa took us to Villa Guariglia for a night of Chopin concertos. At the end of the week, we left with freshly picked vegetables from their garden and said 'til next time' to our newly found friends.
On the practical side, at request, you can use the kitchenette and if you need internet access, do mention it ahead and Marco will equip your computer with remote access. Pets are welcome, they have a gorgeous,well behaved large Maremmano dog,
I am born and raised in Southern Italy but live in the US. In an era where the most cherished Italian values - the kindness, the artistic sensitivity, the love and nurturing of culture, the gioviality, the pride in the freshest and simple food - seems to be fading, replaced by a more consumistic and shallow mentality, Il Melograno in Raito run by Rosa and Marco is a place that I am proud of calling home.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cstarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    18
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
31
63
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London England
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We stayed for one night at the Melograno - the hosts were very attentive and the accomodation was like staying in a family house and not hotel-like. The location was nice and peaceful good for walking but a distance from the beach - a steep half hour walk, and the B&B itself is not for the disabled as access is via as steep path.
The breakfast was generous and served on a nice terrace.
The B&B is significantly more expensive ( twice the price) than staying in an apartment wiht similar amenities and it is therefore not good value for a family of five (in addtion, we were charged for three rooms though we only used two of them). Another issue that may be of importance is that the nice looking dog belonging to the owners (that is featured in their brochure) bit our son on the neck. It could have been more serious, and he was lucky, however and we would suggest that children do not come near the dog's kennel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aviva-Burnstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

First of all, know that this B&B is in Raito, not Vietri. Marco or Rosa (the owners) would be happy to pick you up from the bus or train station if you are not arriving by car. Raito is a small village certainly within walking distance to Vietri (a much larger town known for its ceramics). The B&B was not quite what we expected. While Marco and Rosa went out of their way to make us feel welcome, the room was very cold and somewhat damp. It was extremely spacious and had a wonderful view of neighboring Salerno and the sea, but everything smelled of cigarette smoke and it is almost a hike up the hill to the house in which it resides. Breakfast was a nice traditional Italian one with fresh pastries, breads & jams, meat & cheese, yogurt, coffee and juice. The room even had its own kitchen and large terrace. Perhaps this accommodation is more comfortable in the summer months.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abroad42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2009

I enjoyed my stay very much and felt part of a family and learned more than just the Italian culture. I rested well, it was beutiful, food was fresh from the garden ... Excellent service and I felt special

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Africanbirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gedera
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2009

The most impressive attraction of Il Melogarno is definitely the hosts, Marco and Rosa. Their hospitality and involvement in assisting and making our stay were beyond any expectations. We came as tourists and left as friend, almost family.
It is unnecessary to describe the beauty of the Amalfi coast, but we advise tourists to stay in places like Il Melogarno were one is kept away from touristic places and find tranquility and warmth. The house is medieval and the room large and still very cozy. We found it very special and convenient. It was an experience to sit in the garden, having breakfast with vegetables just picked from the garden and look down to the sea. Raito is a nice little town and we walked a lot through the streets and further to pretty villages around. The people there are very nice and helpful.
We highly recommend this place to any tourist of the right mind!
Grazie Marco and Rosa,
Pnina and Ehud Halevy
Gedera
Israel

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pehal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Echo, Maryland, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2008

Bottom line: We love the Melograno and can’t wait to get back there. It's easy to see why Rosa and Mark fell in love with this place.

The view from the big window in the bedroom is toward the East - toward Battipaglia and the mountains beyond, which constantly change color. Closer is the shoreline, and a thousand feet below and a mile or so away, the port of Salerno, with big ships and little boats coming and going at all hours. From the patio where Rosa serves incredible breakfasts you look South to Paestum where the Greek temples are, Southeast to the landing beaches of 1943, and East to the steep Salerno shore. At night the Salerno shore and the mountains beyond are covered with lights. The view is fascinating as the lights come on in the evening, and even more fascinating at 5AM. Closer, about a quarter mile away and to the left is a palace - property of the town of Raito were they give concerts on summer nights - and above that the local mountains. And beside the house a garden where Mark and Rosa raise fresh vegetables - for your breakfast.

Raito is the perfect base for visiting the Amalfi peninsula. It is easy to get anywhere - to Amalfi, Positano, and Priaiano, via a bus every half hour. You catch the Amalfi bus at the Piazza in Vietri - less than a mile from Melograno. To get to and from Vietri there is a bus within about 200 yards of Melograno. Have some Gelato while you’re waiting. From Vietri it’s easy to get the boat to Capri, or the train to Pompeii, Vesuvius, Sorrento, Naples, or the temples at Paestum. We caught the overnight
Ferry to Palermo - piece of cake.

Now, full disclosure: Italy is not Kansas, which is flat. Much of Italy is vertical. So if you don’t like to climb hills, don’t go to Italy. I (David) am 80 years old (Phyllis is 23) and I climb routinely the 15 steps from our living room to the upstairs. I can do it twice with no problem, and can do it three times, quickly, with a bit of puffing. At first I had trouble with the 74 steps from the bus stop in Raito to our place at Melograno. I got used to it after about three days. Phyllis, who is the athlete in this tribe, never slowed down. Anyway, you’ll not only be well cared for at Melograno, but you might get some exercise. - and be better off for it.

Even if it didn’t have incredible views, and even if it wasn’t perfectly located, Melograno would be terrific because you will encounter two of the finest and most thoughtful people you could ever hope to meet - Rosa and Mark. In real life - when they aren’t being helpful to their visitors - Mark is an executive in an airplane insurance company and Rosa is a social worker. They took such great care of us that they will always have a standing invitation to visit us in the USA, where we will try to match their hospitality. We feel all-round lucky to have encountered them and Melograno.

Phyllis and David

  • Liked — Comfortable, Super Clean, Fabulous View
  • Disliked — There was nothing i didn't like
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyWanderers17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vietri sul Mare hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Raito
Hotel Raito
#2 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
978 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vietri Coast
Hotel Vietri Coast
#7 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
90 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lloyd's Baia Hotel
Lloyd's Baia Hotel
#4 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Relais Paradiso
Relais Paradiso
#3 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
224 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Lucertola
Hotel La Lucertola
#5 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Voce del Mare
Hotel Voce del Mare
#1 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Melograno in Costa d'Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Melograno in Costa d'Amalfi

Property: Il Melograno in Costa d'Amalfi
Address: Via Guariglia 38 | Raito, 84019, Vietri sul Mare, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Vietri sul Mare
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Vietri sul Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The basic stone building originates in XVII century structure. It offers a splendid view to Salerno’s gulf and faces Amalfi Coast in the east.The two independent apartments at guest’s disposition are carefully furnished. The first has got 4 beds on two levels and a private bathroom. The second one is equipped with two rooms and shares bathroom with others. Both are furnished with kitchenette, garden and/or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Melograno in Costa d'Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Melograno In Costa D'Amalfi Amalfi Coast/Vietri Sul Mare, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing