We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elevated modern hotel with super views over Atrani”
Review of Palazzo Ferraioli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palazzo Ferraioli
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Atrani
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Elevated modern hotel with super views over Atrani”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Contemporary 'boutique' hotel with about 30 rooms. It's modern, clean and is run by friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommended. Would return. The hotel has a Night Manager; Roof Terrace with Great Views; a Generous Breakfast Buffet; Fresh Coffee to order; Quiet Location. There is a 80 step climb to Hotel Lobby from taxi (harbour road) and the town square, but you soon get used to steps because they are everywhere. Porter carries the bags and runs up the steps. Try and keep up !
Only a 5 minute walk to Amalfi which is the other side of the headland, either via the road (and steps) or by the path (and steps) which weaves along narrow passages between the houses and offers spectacular views. Atrani is the quiet relation to the busier Amalfi next door. There are about 6 restaurants around or near the square, and those we tried were very good, but Amalfi offers a far greater choice. Day trips by ferry to Capri; Sorrento; Positano; and Salerno (direct train to Pompei) are not expensive and give superb views of the coast. Buses run along the coast and are really cheap but are usually crowded (standing room only) and take at least twice as long. Ravello (reached by bus) perches high above Atrani and has superb gardens with stunning views. We'll return.

Room Tip: About 6 rooms look at the cliff face at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    66
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
21
175
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

This was my first trip to the Amalfi coast and I fell in love. Atrani was perfect for us, quiet, friendly with some really amazing places to eat. The hotel was midern and comfortable with lovely staff. Breakfast was continental but with loads of choice. The bar was super quiet at night but that suited us and the room was spacious and meticulously clean. We also managed to sleep properly once we found the blackout blind. After one very long day sightseeing we thought it a shame there was no restaurant but to be honest once we'd gone to the square we were happy we'd made the effort

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TiggerRach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Hotel was not easy to find, but after a phone call to the receptionist, we soon found it. The hotel is quaint in a lovely typical Italian setting. The steps up to the hotel were fine, I was initially worried with being pregnant, but this is what gave this wonderful hotel it's character.

Amalfi is only a short walk away from the hotel through a pedestrian tunnel. It is a perfect location for exploring both Amalfi and the very small town of Atrani.

Breakfast was the only real let down, wasn't terrible, but very basic for a four star hotel.

Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

We were really looking forward to this, looked great on website, smart chic and modern, and the initial impression lived up to this. That said it kind of went downhill from there.

Our room had a view, sadly it was someone's garden and patio, which was about 4 foot from our window! Breakfast was continental and fairly poor, if you wanted eggs etc, they' were extra, a single boiled egg €2 and fresh orange €5. There is no restaurant in the hotel and that seemed to make it very quiet and no atmosphere in the bar. We found this all a bit annoying as it wasn't cheap at €150 a night and we had booked for four nights, we declined the room upgrade to a proper view at another €70 per night

When we arrived the place was so hard to find, no signs from the road or even the harbour just below. The only access is by steps, and there are a lot them, so any unfit or slightly infirm people should avoid this place.

On a positive side the views from the roof top sun terrace were great.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Even if you have to pass stairs on your way to the hotel and back, this is not a big problem when you enjoy that magnificent view in the morning and evening, jacuzzi in room, rooftop bar and (solarium). Location is very good, because Amalfi center is just 5-7 minutes walk.
After reading reviews here I thought we won't find this hotel from first try, but we did, because I saw its name on the top of hill while we were driving there. The only problem was parking. Hotel offers a parking for 25 euro per day. You should notify parking guy 1 hour before if you'd like to have a car back, because he will park it somewhere you don't know. We thought he is parking all cars in Luna Rosa (Red Moon) parking, which is on the way to the hotel if you drive from Amalfi side and after the hotel if you drive on the other side. Parking there costs 20 euro per day if you make a special deal (just fill out some papers). We paid 25 euros for first day and after that parked our car in Luna Rosa.
Our room (Anna) was designed with a good taste (colorful).
There is a bidet and hair dryer in bathroom and refrigerator in room! Everything was clean and comfortable. Even slippers are offered in closet. Thanks!
Breakfast was also good enough! We sat inside, because of hot weather in mornings.

Room Tip: There is no jacuzzi in standard rooms, so you should order right one if you want to enjoy it in your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Fantastic experience at the super friendly run Palazzo Ferraioli hotel in Atrani.
Amazing views of town and coastline from French balcony of room. A magnificent, intriguing little town that welcomes you whole-heartily.
Cannot forget to mention the fantastic cakes and baking at breakfast!!!

Room Tip: Choose panoramic room view for beautiful vista of Atrani and costline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My partner and I spent a wonderful three nights at this hotel at the end of August.

We hired a car at Rome airport and the sat nav took us easily to Atrani along the twisting coast road where having a small car was definitely an advantage! The journey took about three hours, so not as long as we expected,

We had no problems finding the hotel. When we reached the small car park near the beach, we rang the hotel and someone came down to meet us, help with the cases and park the car. The valet parking cost 25 euros a day but was worth it for how easy it made things. We didn't actually need the car again during our stay as there was so much to do and see within walking distance of the hotel.

We stayed in the Liz Taylor room - Room 301 which has to be one of the best in the hotel. It was dual aspect with two Juliet balconies overlooking both the town and the sea. The decor was unusual and stylish, with everything you needed (alhtough be aware that irons and hair straighteners are not supposed to be used in the rooms, for safety reasons I suppose.)

The room had very quiet and effective air conditioning. It is useful to know that If you want the air con to be on at night, you need to give reception a ring as they control it centrally after a certain time. Once it is on, you can control the temperature from your room.There is also a sensor on one half of the french doors, so the air conditioning goes off if you have both doors open.

We thoroughly enjoyed the jacuzzi in the corner of the bedroom - it was wonderful lying there with a glass of wine looking out at the sunset and beautiful view.

Our bathroom had a large rainfall shower. There were bathrobes slippers, toiletries and a hairdryer provided.The bedroom also had a mini-bar and safe.

All the staff were great - they happily provided extra pillows and assisted us with finding boat times etc We were without hot water for a short while on the second night of our stay. The reception and management staff couldn't have been more helpful and were anxious to compensate us for the inconvenience.

The continental breakfast was tasty with plenty of choice of cold meats, cheeses, cereal, fruit, pastries etc. For an extra charge, you could also have a small range of cooked breakfasts.There was no restaurant in the hotel but there was a good choice of wonderful restaurants nearby in Atrani. We were particulalrly impressed with The Mistral restaurant in the Piazza - the sea food was amazing.

The wellness centre just off the reception area was fabulous with a sauna, turkish bath, jacuzzi etc. You are provided with robes and slippers as well as fresh fruit and bottled water while you are in there. The whole experience was wonderful and very relaxing as I had the place to myself!

Atrani is only a short 5-10 minute walk from the busier town of Amalfi. We chose to walk along the coastal path which involves a lot of steps, but also affords wonderful views. You can also walk along the road and through the tunnel which many people did, but we never tried.

We decided to visit the island of Capri which proved to be a wonderful day out. It was just over an hour by boat from Amalfi.

The whole experience staying at the hotel was a fabulous and very memorable one for us We would highly recommend both the hotel and the area for a visit, particularly if you like walking and aren't afraid of steps!! We would love to go back there one day.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a room with a panoramic view and a jacuzzi..g. Room 301, the Liz Taylor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DancingFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atrani
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.1 mi away
Me.Fra Camere di Sonia Criscuolo
0.3 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Ferraioli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ferraioli

Property: Palazzo Ferraioli
Address: Via Campo 16, 84010 Atrani, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Atrani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Atrani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Ferraioli 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palazzo Ferraioli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ferraioli Hotel Atrani
Palazzo Ferraioli Atrani, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing