We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular View of the Amalfi Coast”
Review of Hotel Cetus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cetus
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cetara
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Spectacular View of the Amalfi Coast”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I was honoured to be a guest at the Hotel Cetus whilst attending a business event, also hosted at the hotel.

The hotel is in a spectacular cliffside location, my room had an amazing view right onto the sea. It is very picturesque at night. The communal areas of the hotel are kept spotlessly clean and tidy, and all the members of staff I encountered during my five night stay were extremely helpful, honest and friendly. Special thanks to the restaurant staff and Eleanor at reception, nothing was too much trouble and they went out of their way to make sure all of the guests in our delegation were looked after.

Rooms: the accommodation (room 204) is spacious, my room was very large and the bed was huge. I particularly enjoyed the memory foam pillows. There was ample space to store clothing and luggage. There are inside AND outside shutters on the windows which meant that the nights were very quiet, I slept very well throughout my stay. There are ample complimentary toiletries. The shower and bathroom were kept very clean and the maid service was prompt and thorough. I also used the function room for the event I was attending - this has spectacular floor to ceiling windows and a panoramic view. It's a very impressive venue for both formal and informal entertaining.

Restaurant: The breakfast selection is extensive, and the cappuccinos prepared for me every morning were delicious, and very prettily decorated! The service is attentive without being intrusive, you cannot fault the breakfast service.

This is a very versatile hotel and suitable for both leisure and business stays. If I travel again to the Amalfi Coast, I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 204 is conveniently located, but I suspect most of the rooms have a spectacular view due to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    85
    25
    13
    10
See reviews for
70
167
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Hotel Cetus was absolutely breathtaking, and I plan on returning in 2014. The rooms were beautiful along with the views! I had the time of my life in Italy. It was clean, quiet, the breakfast was delicious, they also have a great restaurant for dinner which overlooks the sea. The view from our room was gorgeous, and the hotel staff was very accommodating! Thank you for making it a beautiful vacation!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CetusCetara, Direttore at Hotel Cetus, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your review! We are so glad to hear that you were pleased with your room and that you were able to appreciate the incredible location of our Hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely,

Enrico Scarlato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Dont trust reception employes to order you taxi, i did this mistake twice and need to pay allmost 50€ for 5km drive, normally its 9€. Later i get information, that reception workers make extra money themself to order "fake taxis". Allso whats out to invite someone to your room for short time, they will kick them out or call police or they want to charge extra money.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Magnusson1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CetusCetara, Direttore at Hotel Cetus, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Mr. Magnusson1234,
we do not allow outside guests to enter the hotel after midnight without being registered. This is both for safety reason and to ensure the quiet to our guests.
Furthermore we inform you that around 3:00 a.m. the only taxis available come from Salerno. These are normal taxis with regular taximeters; we are not responsible for the rates they apply during night rides.
We regret that you have this belief and we hope that next time you visit Cetara, you will give us an opportunity to make your stay flawless.
Best regards,

Enrico Scarlato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

An unassuming Cliffside boutique type hotel. Driving up to it is at 1st glance disconcerting as all you see is a concrete she'd w/ 1door.. the elevator, down. All levels are built into the cliff. Exquisite views morning & night. Rooms are not large but comfortable & eye appealing. Service was friendly and very accommodating. A small bar area but attention was great. Bartender went & picked fresh oranges for a specialty drink I wanted. It was the best! This is a great location out of the typical tourist jammed locations on the Amalfi Coast yet access to all is easy. It is situated in a true fishing village named Cetera. Beautiful strolls through the few streets introduces you to the real Italy back to the 18th & 18th centuries. Go & enjoy. Wave to the local fisherman from your balcony I the morning & they'll wave back.

Room Tip: No such thing as a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Just made a third stay at the Cetus, and love it. Certainly one of the most enjoyable places to stay on the Amalfi Coast; and yet the Cetus retains a natural flair and a simplicity that's hard to find at other 5-stars-worth hotels.
Not to mention breakfast is great and served in a room with a stunning view, and the house restaurant certainly deserves a visit at dinner time.
The little private cove and beach down the stairs is a must. So quiet, so cozy.
Great staff, even if you don't speak much Italian..
Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room if one is available. Worth the small extra. But all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequent_dinerParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vlaardingen, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This hotel sits against a cliff on the Amalfi Coast. We had a 3 persons room on the 2nd floor with a balcony overlooking the Tyrrhenian Sea...breathtaking. Hotel has a private stone/sandy beach reachable via the 1st floor and a steep walk down, which is fun to do. Room was clean, but looked a little sterile. No bath in the bathroom unfortunately. Staff is very friendly and helpful. On the other hand they have trouble understanding what you need. We needed a doctor for our little girl and we got one via the reception, but only accepted money if we paid him without a receipt. He also paid the hotel reception clerk for calling him instead of someone else.... hmmmmmm, anyway... a great place to start your holiday on the west coast of southern Italy...

Room Tip: Get a room on the 1st floor, big terras with sun beds and tables to sit on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koppd0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I was there on my honeymoon early June, and we got a floor on the "0th" floor, which is on the bottom floor by the way. The room is spotlessly clean and beautiful, and it had a lovely round balcony in it with two chairs and a table. The other floors have a different balcony from ours, and I was pleased to get the round balcony.
The sea view from hotel is amazing amazing amazing, since the hotel is built along a cliff, there's nothing in between the hotel and the sea (no streets, no crowds, no other buildings). We left the balcony door open when we went to sleep, listening to the sound of the waves and seagulls.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dosa1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cetara
1.5 mi away
Hotel Raito
Hotel Raito
#2 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
977 reviews
1.8 mi away
Relais Paradiso
Relais Paradiso
#3 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
223 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Club Due Torri
Hotel Club Due Torri
#2 of 17 in Maiori
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
1.4 mi away
Hotel Voce del Mare
Hotel Voce del Mare
#1 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
585 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 17 in Maiori
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cetus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cetus

Property: Hotel Cetus
Address: Corso Umberto Primo 1, 84010 Cetara, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Cetara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cetara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cetus 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cetus commands a striking view on the beautiful Amalfi Coast. Set on a promontory that overlooks an enchanting bay, it's located only 300 meters from Cetara, a historic fishing village. The elegant decor and refined atmosphere inspired by the tradition of Vietri ceramics. The unique location and quality service make the Hotel Cetus a point of reference for those seeking a holiday in comfort and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Cetus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cetus Cetara, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing