We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Saraceno Grand Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Just back from spending 9 nights in the hotel for our honeymoon. We loved it there. The rooms are lovely with air con. Sliding doors are a bit heavy though... The staff were nice and friendly and loved having the private beach and pool. Beware getting in and our of the sea though with the stony beach. It can be very hard. Only small complaint is that the cleaners are quite late servicing the room and they could dust a bit better.
All in all though it was an excellent stay in a lovely hotel. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clihar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    79
    50
    31
    23
See reviews for
86
198
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

7 days of real relaxation !
Plus : Great staff , great food , very clean, pretty quiet in the afternoon, amazing views !
Minus : just breakfast is poor and the door of the balcony pretty heavy ;-)! If you want to go on the balcony , you wake up all your neighbours :-))
But all those minus are compensated by the PLUS .
Most of the rooms are in the shadow in the afternoon, so dont worry ;-)! A/C is functioning anyway :-)
I recommend you the lunch on the beach by the neighbour ( Zefiro )
Dont miss a visit to Capri by renting a boat from a touristic agency in downtown Amalfi ! Cost for a 10 m lenght is around 800 euro ( by the hotel is 1100 euro )!
Hope all these will help you !

Room Tip: Chose minimum double room with sea view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Romwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lugano
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We were in Campania, 2 weeks sleeping in Amalfi , Ischia (Lacco Ameno) and Naples. We will review Il Saraceno first. Breath taking see views from the rooms and the terraces/restaurants of the Hotel. This is the very amazing side of the hotel. An elevator will descend You for about 80 meters to a wonderful private beach with bar and restaurant. Food excellent! Staff friendly and very helpful. If You fly or even if You have your own car There are regular buses fares to Amalfi. Road is narrow and local wine very good. Take note You pay a big price (double rooms cost around 300€) but rooms and bathroom are quite old fashioned. Like it occurs quite frequently in Italy where Hotels and structures were not renewed lately.

Room Tip: All rooms have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveladdictLugano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
223 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I stayed at this hotel as part of a wedding party. The entire staff was extremely accomodating and friendly. I was quite impressed that every room has a beautiful sea view and how the hotel has everything from a full scale restaurant, to a pool to a beach. From the road the hotel is unassuming but the elevator goes down the cliff at least 10 floors to sea level- or you can take the winding staircases through little gardens. I liked the place so much that I am already mentally planning my next vacation there so I can go back. My room had a little balcony and it looked like most did. There is all original art work and a lot of antique furniture (although some of the bedding seems a bit dated). My experience here was charming. Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusiBarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
173 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Very charming hotel.
It does'nt look as much from the road SS163, but as you enter the hotel, you find a superb hotel built on the rockside from the road to the edge of the Mediterranian sea. All the rooms have seaview. There is a sea-water pool and an elevator to the beach.
The only sound in the rooms are the waves from the sea deep down. The location is perfect away from the noise of the city of Amalfi, but only 5 min's drive in the complimentary / free hotel-shuttle to the city several times every day.
The staff is friendly and competent and the rooms are well functioning and super clean.
The restaurant is with excellent food, wine, staff and view.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony, choose a "Superior room". The WiFi is only working in the receptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claus007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We enjoyed our stay as our first station in Italy in our honey moon. We came from Jordan. We stayed there 4 nights.
The location and views are superb. It was a relaxing calm location. I recommend it for moneymooners.
And by the way the weather was perfect.
Service was great and people there are very helpful.
The room and bathroom were clean.
Before we arrive there, we didnt thought that Amalfi is that away from Napoli.. but when we arrive and see the hotel view, we were amazed and forgot the long journey.
There is a free shuttle bus that can be used to go to Amalfi down town and get back.. but you have to stick with their time schedule... no left back to hotel after 8:00
In general.... we enjoyed our stay a lot... amazing location

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yousefshishan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We Stayed two nights on our way to Sicily and loved the ambiance of this historic fort. Our experience with staff was very different, we found them to be very helpful and accommodating. We are not Italian or Italian American, nor do we speak Italian but we try and that I think may make a difference. Our dinners were very good, our servers were friendly and polite. We had a Deluxe Room and loved the fabulous ocean view from our balcony.

I personally found the breakfast just about right, we like to have a light breakfast, so we can sample the local fare for lunch.

Room Tip: Go ahead and upgrade your room, it is well worth it, you know you want to. ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Furmommy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conca dei Marini
1.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
1.2 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Conca Azzurra
Hotel La Conca Azzurra
#2 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Saraceno Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Saraceno Grand Hotel

Property: Il Saraceno Grand Hotel
Address: Via Giovanni Augustariccio 33, 84011 Conca dei Marini, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Conca dei Marini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Conca dei Marini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Saraceno Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Saraceno Grand Hotel is located on the road from Amalfi to Positano, at 2 miles from Amalfi, on the most spectacular bay of the Amalfi Coast. All rooms with sea view, private beach, swimming pool, private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Il Saraceno Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Saraceno Grand Amalfi
Il Saraceno Grand Hotel Amalfi Coast, Italy - Conca Dei Marini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing