We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A walkers paradise away from Amalfi Drive.”
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A walkers paradise away from Amalfi Drive.”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The advantages of the hotel for us are the views, steps / Lift down to a sea water swimming pool /sunbathing terrace, with at least a further 100 steps onto a private concrete lido/boat landing with steps in and out of the sea for swimming or fishing with dried bread and a hook and line, sea conditions permitting.
We also like fell walking and over the road from the hotel are steps
(Lots of steps) max 300m elevation 6.5km long too Marina di Furore and Marina di Praia once you are familiar with this walk you can walk higher from Priano to the caves of Santa Barbera max 500m elevation 6.7km long or to the convent of San Domenico.
Before our holiday we bought “24 walks along the Amalfi Coast” by Luciano Pellecchia which has details of not only the local walks as described but also some very spectacular ones Like the Path of the Gods. You can get a bus from the hotel to amalfi then the Agerola bus which takes you up the mountains to the start of the walk in Bomerano which is 600m high each bus journey costs about 2.5 Euro each The bus drops you outside a supermarket you cross the road up a side street to the Cathedral which is the start of the walk to Nocelle which is about 5.6km long and 400m above Positano. Do not worry when we went about 10 walkers from all over the world with the same idea got off at Bomerano.
We also got the bus to Ravello and because the buses are always packed and difficult to get back to we used the guide and had a beautiful walk back
About 1300 steps to either Minori or Atrani which is round the corner to amalfi .
I would also recommend a walk From Maiori to Minori via Monastery of St Nicholas and Sambuca Valley (Walk 7) words cannot describe, it is stunning we hardly saw a soul.
As well as the scenery when you explore the villages above Amalfi drive you also find the cheapest bars and supermarkets 2 Euro 500ltr ice cold beer instead of 8Euro for the same in the tourist traps. The local people are also a lot more friendly and pleased to see you.
The only disadvantage to the hotel is it is 4km away from Amalfi and the buses are usually full when they pass the hotel on the morning and full when you try to get the bus back from Amalfi. If you need to be in Amalfi at a certain time you can book the Hotels Courtesy bus @ 4Euro each or walk which takes 45mins to 1hr.
Because of this you are tied to the hotel where drinks like all in the area are expensive 4Euro 225ml Larger or 18-22 Euro Bottle of local wine. There is a Local supermarket up a back street in Amalfi or alternatively over the road from the hotel 550 steps straight up turn right at the local bar and a 25min Walk away past the Santa Rosa Convent Hotel through the road tunnel Take the steps on the right to cut off the winding road then follow the road down until you reach the church of St Michael and it’s on the left. The choice is yours!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    91
    22
    6
    7
See reviews for
79
306
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The Hotel Belvedere is like your fantasy of what a perfect small family-owned Italian hotel would be. It has 35 rooms, perched on a cliff overlooking Amalfi and the Mediterranean. It's not fancy or pretentious, as some of the Amalfi coast hotels are, but each detail is just right. The eclectic mix of furniture, the oriental rugs on the local tile floors; each piece of furniture, painting and flower arrangement seems to be exactly where it should be. The food is excellent, the staff friendly and helpful, and the views stunning. They have a van that can take you into Amalfi; or the bus that runs between Amalfi, Positano and Sorrento stops at the front door. We stayed there 10 years ago, and again this year- it's a special place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvmdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We first visited this family run hotel back in 1998 and found it such a wonderful place to relax that we have been back every year since! The staff have become old friends and the level of service is superb. The rooms are very comfortable (free wifi and sky TV) with wonderful views across the bay from the balcony.

The food in the restaurant is excellent and always includes the freshest of fish; Guiseppe, the Maitre D', and his team are personable and very professional. We always take breakfast on the terrace ... the views across the bay and towards Amalfi are simply stunning.The pool is set on the cliffside below the hotel ... but if you don't like steps then there is a convenient lift! There is ample shade around the pool and the poolside staff, Antonio and Vincenzo, cater for your every need and prepare an excellent light lunch. The barman, Bonaventura, never forgets your favourite drink and mixes excellent cocktails.

Should you wish to visit Amalfi or perhaps further afield to places like Sorrento or Capri then public transport is excellent .... and the hotel minibus can take you to Amalfi or Ravello. The reception staff are so helpful and will inform you of local events, festivals and concerts.

To be honest, this is not really a hotel for young children; there is no paddling pool or play area. That apart, if you wish to relax in a friendly atmosphere enjoying good food, service and wonderful views, then the Belvedere is outstanding. We shall be back in 2014!

Room Tip: Just ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We have been so blessed in finding this precious pearl of a Hotel so much so we have returned every year for over 10yrs We have never been disappointed The Staff from Manager to Chambermaids are so helpful and attentive The Restaurant where the Food is delicious from Breakfast to Dinner the service of uniformed waiters and the Bi-lingual Maitre D is first class.The views are stunning from the glorious swimming pool to the Rocky Beach where boats can collect you to transport you to your desired destination sampled many times by my Husband and I and the many friends we have met over the years. Who also have returned to the Fabulous Belvedere. We are counting the days to our return June 2014.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fisherman J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We spent a fortnight at the Belvedere in May/June. Return visit after many years -- we were not disappointed. Outstanding hotel with stunning views. Pool location is impressive and poolside lunch is to be recommended.
All the staff were exceptionally helpful with nothing too much trouble.
Breakfast on the terrace and dinner in the restaurant, both overlooking the sea,were wonderful with caring, attentive staff. The cuisine was excellent.
The hotel is spotlessly clean as was our room although we felt our bathroom and our chest of drawers were a little tired -- a minor criticism!
We travelled by car and the hotel has safe, free parking.
We would recommend the Bevedere wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We first stayed at the Belvedere in 2005, when we had a wonderful holiday. We have had holidays in various different countries since, but decided to return to the Belvedere to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary. We were delighted to be presented with champagne in our room on arrival, but the upgrade from the Standard Room that we had booked to a Junior Suite was a complete surprise.

The restaurant, as before, was excellent, the atmosphere in the lounge bar and on the terraces magical, and the pool has to be experienced to be believed. We had tried to book for September, but left it too late and had to settle for October as we didn't want to stay anywhere else. Again, to our delight and surprise, the weather was quite warm enough to spend afternoons in and around the pool. We had brought our winter woollies from the UK but, needless to say, they remained unused!

What really singles out this hotel from other hotels we have visited, however, is the staff. Giuseppe, the head waiter, was still in charge and the head barman, pool attendants and most of the restaurant, reception and housekeeping staff were the same people we had met in 2005. When we sat down for dinner on our first night it was as if we had never left. The service is impeccable and to the highest standard but, at the same time, it is genuinely friendly and we always felt totally relaxed. Being somewhat unsophisticated Brits, we drank more tea than exotic cocktails, but both are presented with the same grace and panache.

Thank you, Belvedere, for a wonderful holiday. I'm sure we'll be back.

Room Tip: Our suite this time was on the top level. The standard room we had in 2005 was one floor lower down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We have been staying at the Belvedere for more than twenty years and every stay is just as outstanding as the others. Impeccable and attentive service, outstanding views and a location and a pool no one can match! We always take the brk/dinner half board and it is outstanding - meals overlooking the Mediterranean and always good choices well prepared. Professional and caring service makes the evening a delight. Be sure to have lunch around the pool at least one day of your visit. Our more than 15 stays have just been outstanding and we know when we leave no trip to Italy is complete till we visit the Belvedere and enjoy the view, the staff and the outstanding cuisine.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the many rooms with outstanding sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmaestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conca dei Marini
0.4 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
396 reviews
1.7 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
3.0 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
816 reviews
1.4 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
985 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 20 in Praiano
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Property: Hotel Belvedere
Address: Via Smeraldo 19, 84010 Conca dei Marini, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Conca dei Marini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Conca dei Marini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belvedere 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel belvedere enjoys a superb location in conca dei marini with dazzling coastal views. amalfi is just under 2,5 miles away.the owners personally make their guests very welcome, the hotel reflects their personal attention to detail.there are many tranquil terraces, the cliffside seawater swimming pool, reached by private lift. deckchairs and towels are provvided. the hotel has a spacious lounge and panoramic restaurant. all the bedrooms have balcony with front sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Conca Dei Marini
Belvedere Resort Conca Dei Marini
Hotel Belvedere Amalfi Coast, Italy - Conca Dei Marini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing