We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May in Amalfi”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“May in Amalfi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed at the Hotel Belvedere for one week in early May 2014, our first visit to the area. The stunning setting in which this hotel finds itself takes some absorbing. Located on a cliff edge, the views from hotel terraces and balconies towards Amalfi and onward are amazing - you could spend hours just taking in the scenery.
On our arrival we were met by cheerful and helpful staff who arranged for our luggage to be moved to our room - closely followed by a complimentary ice cold bottle of Prosecco - a very nice touch. Our room, a Junior Suite, was large, well furnished and very clean with plenty of storage, hanging space and hangers. The beds were a little bit firm for us but that is a personal thing and may suit others, the large balcony was a great feature - an ideal place to enjoy tea, coffee or a pre-dinner drink, the rooms would benefit by the addition of tea and coffee making facilities although room service when ordering these items was very efficient.
We enjoyed half-board for the duration of our stay, generally the food was of a good standard with plenty of choice available. Breakfast on the outdoor terrace was well worth getting up for, not only for the food but for the views as well, a great place to start the day. Staff at the hotel were very helpful and polite with nothing seeming to be too much trouble.
As with everything there are downsides, whilst the location of the hotel could not be bettered from a scenic and quiet point of view, these attributes also left us feeling somewhat isolated. It is not really practical to walk anywhere from the hotel as the roads are very narrow and there are no footpaths - in addition ,everything is either very 'up' or 'down', there are very few flat areas. The shuttle bus operated by the hotel is very convenient but only operates until 5.30pm - a charge of EUR4.00 per trip is set by the hotel and, whilst not in itself excessive, can mount up over the course of a week (charges paid at the end of your stay IN CASH) -the taxi 'alternative' also appears very expensive. These two things could give you the feeling of being a bit of a 'captive audience' during the evenings.
Overall a quiet and relaxing holiday, if this is what you are looking for then this hotel is ideal, if you are looking for a little more then a hotel closer to, or in, Amalfi may be a better alternative.

Room Tip: All appear to have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arry2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belvedere1, Direttore at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest, we thank you for the beautiful review left on our House, the Staff, the food . We are very glad that you enjoied your stay at Belvedere and we hope to see you in a next future.
Only a little thing:
It's true that the Hotel is out of Amalfi ( we have described very well our geografic position on website) , but you have forgotten to say that there are also the public buses in the evening ( the stop is just in front the door of Hotel) every hour to and back Amalfi and Positano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    86
    20
    6
    7
See reviews for
73
276
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is a wonderful charming hotel that feels like a set from an old Italian film. The service was first class and the ambience just great. Dinner is of excellent quality.
The lounge is beautiful, ideal for pre dinner and post dinner drinks.
Décor and fittings are old fashioned but everything works and adds to the charm. For us we could not fault the hotel.
Bus services need to be more reliable on time and with spaces, walking to Amalfi is not an option because of the narrow roads and traffic. But there is the hotel shuttle available.
The abiding memory is of all the staff at the hotel. They make it a special experience.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colm843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I stayed here 9th-16th May with my Mum to celebrate her birthday. The hotel had everything we needed, wonderful staff who had all been there for many years, great food, very clean with a huge array of free toiletries! We had a junior suite with a large terrace looking towards Amalfi and the sea. The food was great and served at the table by well dressed, courteous staff. Breakfast on the terrace above the sea, dinner watching the twinkling lights around the coast. We found that drinks out were not as expensive as we had expected, on a par with Costa at home and Amalfi itself was picturesque and bustling
We were happy that we didn't have to fight at a buffet every night, all meals were served at the table, and no animation team hassling us to play bingo!!
Many thanks to all the team for a fantastic holiday :)
One tip: Boat trips to Capri and Positano can be booked at the harbour in Amalfi and are much cheaper than through Thomsons. However our rep Josette was very helpful

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiddington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We spent a week at The Belvedere with friends celebrating their Golden Wedding Anniversary. Staff were very friendly and helpful, food was excellent, rooms were very comfortable with superb views. Even the dolphins swam by twice! We cannot wait to book again. Thank you so much to all the team.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband and me spent one night in May at Hotel Belvedere, at Conca dei Marini. Amalfi coast, Italy.
The hospitality was amazing. The hotel manager greeted us and made sure we were happy with the room we received. We ordered an upgraded room with a balcony and we received a fantastic spacious room which I treasure in my memory. It had a comfortable bed, luxurious bathroom with all kinds of toiletry, nice sitting area, powder desk, and a gorgeous private balcony. Everything was new/renovated, tastefully designed and sumptuous. Original paintings were hanged on the walls. There is an upscale boutique hotel feel throughout the facility. The view to the pool and the sea was just mesmerizing. The hotel is built on the rocks and the topography is really breathtaking. There is an adjunct parking garage if you come with a car. The breakfast was served in the morning on the main balcony and was rich and delicious. This is a quiet jam hotel which I highly recommend for a traveler who appreciates fine hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TALI M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belvedere1, Direttore at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
We thank you for the fantastic review you kindly leave on our House and our Staff.
The next time in Italy, we hope you will be with us again, but for a longer holidays!!!
Have a good Summer and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Writing on my daughter's trip advisor, all three of us stayed at this hotel last July for two weeks and it was such a great holiday. The staff were incredible, so helpful and the best we've ever experienced. The evening meals were great, with great choices and great staff. The rooms were lovely and the view from the rooms were spectacular. The pool is very nice, and the staff around the pool were great and served great food. We would love to come back one day, thank you for such a great holiday!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, PA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Three of us stayed for two nights, each with a single room. Each of us had a balcony room which was just beautiful and surprisingly quiet. Breakfast was good, with options to order additional items, e.g. scrambled eggs etc. The hotel was happy to drive us into the nearby town of Amalfi (4€ each), which has many shops, restaurants and a beautful cathedral and museum.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conca dei Marini
0.4 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Conca Azzurra
Hotel La Conca Azzurra
#2 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Property: Hotel Belvedere
Address: Via Smeraldo 19, 84010 Conca dei Marini, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Conca dei Marini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Conca dei Marini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belvedere 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel belvedere enjoys a superb location in conca dei marini with dazzling coastal views. amalfi is just under 2,5 miles away.the owners personally make their guests very welcome, the hotel reflects their personal attention to detail.there are many tranquil terraces, the cliffside seawater swimming pool, reached by private lift. deckchairs and towels are provvided. the hotel has a spacious lounge and panoramic restaurant. all the bedrooms have balcony with front sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Conca Dei Marini
Belvedere Resort Conca Dei Marini
Hotel Belvedere Amalfi Coast, Italy - Conca Dei Marini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing