We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service, best mozzarella!”
Review of O'Bacchiss - CLOSED

O'Bacchiss
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations, Waitstaff
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful service, best mozzarella!”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed in an apartment in Conca dei Marini and O'Bacchiss quickly became our go-to place. The seating is outside on the square and is very understated. While it doesn't look like much, the food is really good. The mozzarella in the caprese and gnocchi is some of the best I've ever had, and their house red wine is great! Our server, Nicoletta, really made our evenings there special. She speaks several languages, is very engaging and sweet. She was genuinely interested in making sure our stay in her town was perfect. She even offered to arrange rides around the coast for us! I hope one day we'll make it back there, and if we do, we will definitely visit O'Bacchiss!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenh367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Unpretentious, good food in Conca dei Marini”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is an small, unpretentious place. When we were there (and several other times when we walked past) the clientele was sitting around the entrance and were predominantly locals - always a good sign.

The spaghetti a la vongole was excellent, as was the grilled fish my wife had. Prices are not cheap, but reasonable. The service is even, and good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gnomeaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A real taste of Italy”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Tucked away in the Piazza Olmo the O’Bacchiss ristorante is something of a hidden gem. With plenty of open air dining in the piazza on a warm evening makes for a pleasant dining experience. Nicoletta was an excellent hostess with her command of English making up for my poor Italian and helping us choose from the menu that concentrated on fish dishes but still had plenty of choice.
The pasta was nicely al dente and the sauces had subtle and delicious flavours while the pizzas were good value and the portions of antipasti were generous.
Overall, the evening was very relaxing and enjoyable with the service being efficient but not obtrusive and this was repeated on each of the four occasions we visited the O’Bacchiss.
O’Bacchiss is certainly well worth seeking out. You won’t be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great value, charming staff”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My boyfriend and I ate here after the long and strenuous Walk of the Gods between Praiano and Positano. Needless to say, we arrived hungry. We were treated to excellent pizza, gnocchi, and arancini, at very reasonable prices. The place seems very popular with locals (we were the only tourists there) and has a close-knit but not exclusive or intimidating feel. Our waitress was helpful and friendly. Also, it's a women-run operation! Felt great to support a group of women entrepreneurs.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Traditional home made no fuss lovely food & home made wine you'd pay a lot more in many other places”
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

We couldnt resist popping in for dinner, it looked so welcoming. The menu is traditional and simple & is also great value. We were made to feel so welcome by Nicoletta, she speaks fabulous English ( and French & German!) and clearly enjoys dealing with people. The home made wine is lovely & very reasonable, the tiramasu is a must as is their home made limoncella . We wish Nicoletta the very best, she deserves to do very well as does this excellent little restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dgjpope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O'Bacchiss also viewed

Conca dei Marini, Amalfi Coast
Conca dei Marini, Amalfi Coast
 
Conca dei Marini, Amalfi Coast
Conca dei Marini, Amalfi Coast
 
Conca dei Marini, Amalfi Coast
Conca dei Marini, Amalfi Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing