We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beautiful views in a small and quiet village”
Review of Amalfi Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amalfi Residence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very beautiful views in a small and quiet village”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

These apartments are an excellent choice if you want to relax and enjoy the Amalfi Coast. They are located in Conca dei Marini, a very small and quiet village nearby Amalfi (you should have a car, otherwise it would be difficult to reach there). There are very few tourists there, which is great. Rooms are well decorated and have very beautiful views. Breakfast is good and is served in a nice terrace. The owner, Luigi, was very friendly and helpful. Car parking is free, which is very important.

However, there a couple of things to be improved. First, we stayed in the smaller room (Margherita apartment), which is just next to the breakfast room. It is not possible to sleep until late, because you will ear people talking and kitchen's noise. Second, the mattress was uncomfortable. Third, there was to many light in the room after the sunrise. Even though, we had an excellent stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tegomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    16
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
43
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

A very nice place with good service from the host, Small and nice appartments with a fantastic sea view. Close to a good restaurant and also a shop with what you would need. They (shop) can make you a baguett on your way down to the beach, 776 steps (PS! You can take the free bus) A much better place to stay than the crowded cities along the Amalfi coast, still very close to everything.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KurtE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

We stayed in the Amalfi Residence in the Melograno apartment. Spacious and clean, good beds, nice living with comfortable couch, dining table and chairs, and a miniature kitchen. Lovely balcony with beautiful views of the sea deep down. Bathroom is ok, with hair drier and a magnifying mirror. shower space is a bit small.
The owners Luigi and Marianna were very kind and helpful. We had a nice Italian breakfast each morning on the terrace overlooking the sea. One night they served us a wonderful dinner, all made by Marianna. Luigi was a great help when one of us hurt a shoulder and an x-ray in hospital had to be made.
Close by in quiet Conca dei Marini are some restaurants and bars and a supermarket.
Bear in mind that the apartment can only be reached from the road by a 40-step stairs. We therefore would not recommend it to older people. Parking is free but limited.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank elsav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2010

My husband and I had a fantastic time at this hotel in mid September which is a great time to visit the Amalfi, the weather and water temperature is perfect. The views from the balcony were magical, the room (bougainvillea) is spacious, includes a living/kitchen area and private courtyard. Parking is free and easy. The hosts are a lovely husband and wife team , Marianna cooks fresh italian croissants every morning for breakfast and Luigi provides great advice and tips of where to eat and what to do in the area. We would have loved to stay here for weeks and weeks. A perfect location to relax and visit the Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginasanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

I dont want to go on and on about how disappointed we were so I will sum up my review in 3 catagories

Pros:
The view is amazing
The town - everyone at the little store down the street was very friendly and helpful and when we had to stop to get our bearings a shop keeper was very helpful to us
The price is very reasonable

Stuff that was not the owners fault
Location - it's in between Positano and Amalfi so if you want to explore the coast at all you have to drive, walk or hire a taxi - the ferry doesnt stop here. taxi's can get pricey and driving or walking is slightly stressful to say the least
Noise - you can hear EVERYTHING that's going on next door, in the hall and above you. Chairs, walking, talking and our favorite part, peeing. When someone used the toilet in the room above ours (i think the owner's) or next door it was like being in the room with them. Not particularly conducive to a good night's rest.
The stairs - if you have any amount of luggage at all those stairs up are a KILLER.
Difficult to find - their street is actully the set of stairs as far as we could tell - the street that they are actually on is called sometihng else

Stuff that is under their control:
Cleanliness - adequate, not great. The kitchenette was a little funky
The bed - awful, bad sheets, bad pillows, like sleeping on a table
The towels - awful, like burlap sacks and super old and worn out
Dishes - no napkins or paper towels, one worn out old dish rag, and NO wine glasses... I mean really, it's italy, no wine glasses??? Especially frustrating after driving 5 hours from Tuscany.
Breakfast - awful orange juice, decent coffee, some average breads and pastries presented in a less than thoughtful way
The owners themselves - I see many reviews that give them props. We found their hospitality to be awkward at best. I got the impression that the wife doesnt really like the fact that they have gotten into this business. And while I thnk Luigi trys, he seems out of his element. Also, when we called from nearby looking for some help finding the place, the wife answered and told us shes doesnt speak English and basically hung up on us. we were lucky to have found the place. Some very distinct directions when they confirm would be very helpful. We tried to make the best of it but after the first night we decided that this was not going to work for us. We told Luigi we were going to check out and he became very angry, said we had to pay for the whole stay (even though if we had canceled we would have been on the hook for one day) and then threatened to call the police on us. I dont know anything about thier history or how they came to own/run this property, but it was pretty clear to me that they are in the wrong business. It's apparent they have much to learn and that they likely dont love what they do. It's too bad, because with a little more care and attention to detail it could be a great place if youre looking for something quaint and off the beaten path.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

I've just spent 4 days staying in Amalfi Residence with my boyfriend and it was one of the most romantic places I've ever been, especially given it's superb value. The room was spotlessly clean and the view was just incredible, I got up briefly at 5:30am every morning just to check it was real! Luigi and Marianna were extremely friendly and helpful and helped us book transport down to the Lido and to Pompei en route to the airport. Andrea, the guy they booked to pick us up from the airport (180 Euros return to Naples) was great. Definitely would recommend hiring a scooter so you can explore the area properly, we relied on the SIta bus and walking which was fine but does limit what you can do, not really a problem because we were only there for 4 days but you'd def want one for a longer stay. If you plan to get Sita then buy tickets in advance incase the shop in Conca is closed. Amalfi residence was just completely perfect for what we wanted, no frills but so cute and a perfect romantic getaway if you are up for some seriously easy-going time away and want a big room with a good view and a fridge big enough for a few bottles of Prosecco!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joannab1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2010

My husband and I together with our 10 year old son have just spent a wonderful week at Amalfi Residence in Conca dei Marini and we're already missing it! The apartment was lovely and with a spectacular view. Amalfi Residence is right in the middle of the Costiera Amalfitana and once could not surely ask for a better place. Conca dei Marini is close to Amalfi, Ravello, Positano, Sorrento. Capri, Ischia and even Naples. Although one should preferably travel by car, the bus service is very efficient too. Grazie ed arrivederci cari Marianna & Luigi. Tanti saluti dalla famiglia Muscat di Malta

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMuscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conca dei Marini
0.8 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Conca Azzurra
Hotel La Conca Azzurra
#2 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
605 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Terrazze
Hotel Le Terrazze
#4 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#14 of 29 in Amalfi
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holidays Fico d'India
2.4 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalfi Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalfi Residence

Property: Amalfi Residence
Address: Via I Maggio, 46, 84010 Conca dei Marini, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Conca dei Marini
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Conca dei Marini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalfi Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious home offering the best in hospitality In pure tranquility, halfway between the historical Amalfi and the well known Positano, the Amalfi Residence is situated in one of the most panoramic corners of the Amalfi Coast, where it is possible to relax and take in the wonderful scents of the lemon and orange groves. Offering the very best in accommodation, each apartment is beautifully decorated in the typical Mediterranean colours with every comfort and amenities plus superb terraces where it is possible to enjoy a quiet drink or a candlelit dinner, overlooking the sea and the Isle of Capri on the horizon. We also offer free private parking and there is a door to door shuttle service to and from Amalfi and the local beach so as to ensure that your holiday is as relaxing and carefree as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Amalfi Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalfi Residence Amalfi Coast, Italy - Conca Dei Marini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing