We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts”
Review of Il Rifugio di Ela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Il Rifugio di Ela
Ranked #17 of 21 Furore B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I think the attitude of the hosts can make or break a B&B - here, our hosts were extremely nice and helpful.
We received a local delicacy (a type of pastry) with our breakfast, apart from a croissant, and were also asked if we would like some bread, ham, or cheese.
I asked for tea in the evening for a sore throat and got a whole potful, with lemons and a lovely tea-set.
Our room had its own terrace.

The location is a bit out of the way, about 7-8kms from the main Amalfi road. I imagine that in summer, when Amalfi towns are swamped, it is a welcome getaway. Because you are high up, the views are great; also, the "fjord" is nearby.

It was a bit chilly (in March) and the AC took a while to heat up the place, and there is no heating in the bathroom itself; but we were comfortable.

Parking is simple and free.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aliz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2011

Staying in Furore requires a little work, but if you want to get away from crowds, save some money, and enjoy the Amalfi coast this is an ideal place.

Situated nicely between Amalfi and Positano Il Refugio de Ela has kept me coming back
The hosts are warm and hospitable without being hokey...I think it must be an Italian thing, because they don't do insincere customer service as well as us North Americans.

We got around using the local SITA bus service and although the hairpin turns are perilous, I can't imagine driving these roads myself. Its close enough to take day trips to Positano, Amalfi and Ravello and there are a few nice hikes in the area.
If you want to take a trip to Sorrento the bus journey is quite long, so if you can optimize your trip along the Amalfi you may wish to stay in Sorrento first. I have heard the Sirens sing and many tourist buses crash along their shores....

Il Refugio de Ela is located next to a restaurant that serves passable food, but if you are stuck for cheap eats you can enjoy the wonderful selection at the grocery store 150 metres away. Tomatoes and canned tuna were a staple for us.
In addition, the coffee shop next door serves drinks with Amalfi aplomb and if you plan on taking the SITA bus, you can get tickets and schedule here.

The evenings are sublime and quiet. A nice respite if you seek it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank percevol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

My wife,daughter and I stayed here for 4 nights. Rooms are very clean,breakfast was great,nice location but best of all "the service" and warm atmosphere. They are a family that looks after things and treat you like family. Carried our bags on arrival and departure and where always there to help for anything. We didnt have a rental car so they offered us a ride to the fuore beach and recommended places to eat and explore.
One day when we had an excursion booked to Capri, Rosa waited to make sure we got on the bus.When our bus was full to Amalfi, Rosa immediately went and got her car and drove us to Amalfi which is about 30 min one way! Thanks Rosa!
We travel quite a bit and unless you where really looking for negative you couldn't find it here.
Can't say enough- they made our vacation! Thanks

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed 5 nights in the Consuela room at the beginning of July and had a wonderful time. The room was very clean and had everything we needed - and even a large terrace with beautiful view overlooking the sea. We also had free parking in the lot right in front of the hotel. The father, mother and two daughters made us feel right at home. They always very friendly, helpful and willing to answer all our questions - patiently and with pleasure. Every day we asked them for advice on how to find a particular beach, where to park at various places, or which bus to take. Although we had rented a car and mostly used that, it is probably not necessary, as we also used the local bus and found it very convenient - to Amalfi, Positano, etc. etc. You can buy bus tickets in the little plaza next to the hotel - where there is also a post office and a convenience store if you want to take some snacks for your daily excursions. In the mornings, we enjoyed the freshly made espresso/coffee and the mother's homemade lemon marmalade - we bought a jar to take home with us. We wish we were back in Furore!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjh33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

My boyfriend and I had an AMAZING time in Furore when we visited and this place was incredible. The family is amazing: so kind, gracious, and slow-speaking (which was an added bonus for a beginner Italian-speaker).

The breakfasts were superb, the room was amazing, and this place left us feeling all warm and fuzzy. If you can, go to the restaurant up the way-- it's called la Gatta Centerola (Cinderella)... or something like that.

I had the BEST meal in Italy there.

It was nice staying someplace that was relaxing and away from all of the chaos of the Coast in the summertime. I'd recommend this to anyone!

:)

-Danielle

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Loved our 4 night stay at this family run B&B. Our hosts were extremely helpful even giving us a ride to Amalfi. Always friendly and offering assistance where possible. The rooms were great, our room 'Consuela' with Balcony with outlook to the mediteranian and always perfectly cleaned when we arrived back at the end of the day. Location provided great scenic views and was peaceful but with limited eating places.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed here for 5 days in May and as others have said, it was absolutely lovely from start to finish. Antonio and Daniela are wonderful hosts, helpful and generous in every way. Breakfast on the terrace was delicious and tranquil, overlooking the ocean surrounded by their lemon trees and under the kiwi vines, with lavender and wisteria was something we looked forward to every day. Their homemade lemon marmalade is excellent. We will certainly go back if and when we are in the area again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Furore
1.3 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holidays Fico d'India
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bacco
Hotel Bacco
#3 of 5 in Furore
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Da Clotilde
0.4 mi away
La Locanda del Fiordo
0.4 mi away
Le Marelle
Le Marelle
#2 of 21 in Furore
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Rifugio di Ela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Rifugio di Ela

Address: Via Mola 21, 84010, Furore, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Furore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Furore
Price Range: £85 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On holiday like at home The Amalfi Coast known for its sun, sea and exclusive holidays does not limit itself just to Amalfi. Come and discover Furore where everything is genuine. Il Rifugio di Ela Vacation House is situated in Furore, on the Amalfi Coast. Furore has maintained its ancient traditions and has many wonderful products to offer. You will be enchanted by the wonderful views and our warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Il Rifugio di Ela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing