We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“wonderfull” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Locanda Ripa delle Janare

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Furore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Locanda Ripa delle Janare
Ranked #12 of 19 Furore B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderfull”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

After arriving by car (our own right-hand drive) an experience in itself ! .we got the most homely welcome from Pino & Ilaria . The room was just fantastic so quaint and what a view looking out onto the med . The surrounding area of the Amali coast was just as stunning with magnificent views around every turn . Before we set of on a drive each day we would always get advice of were to go and when we went to capri, Pino drove us to and from the cove where we got the boat (be prepared to get wet). Even though we were there for 8 nights never did we get a repeat menu in the evening, the food was outstanding with great service from jonny . Yes a wonderful trip

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BUCKO60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    38
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
126
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

We had an amazing two week holiday in Amalfi coast and stay in Locand Ripa delle Janare. We stayed there first week together with my husband and his parents and second week with group of friends and everyone enjoyed the stay very much.
It's a beautiful reasonably priced B&B in Furore, a walking distance from Fjordo Furore, where the is a very beautiful small beach with very nice beach restaurant. The hotel owner, Pino and Ilaria are wonderful and they take very good care of us. They also have a very good restaurant, where Pino cooks excellent food. We ate there several nights. There are also very nice wine yards close by with excellent wines. If you have a car, Furore is a good spot to stay and visit Sorrento, Napoli, Capri and the beautiful cities of Amalfi coast. With an extra fee you are able to use the swimming pool of the five star hotel which is located 500m down the hill, we didn't try it though because the beach at Furore was so nice (and cheapest sun chairs as well as best food compared to any beaches close by). We had an amazing holiday in Italy!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariawZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saddleworth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

We stayed for a week but wish it was more. The hotel owners and staff are really lovely and can't do enough for you. Our room had a balcony with a fantastic view overlooking the fjord, if your scared of heights, don't look down!! The room was lovely and very clean, with fresh linen every day. The breakfast was served on the terrace, as was the eveing meal. We ate here every night as the food was so good. We were glad the hotel did not have a swimming pool or we would never have stirred out and then we would have missed the beauty of the area. We parked the car up for the week and travelled on public transport all the time, once you see the roads you will understand why, but the buses are so good and a day ticket will take you anywhere,there is so much to see. You have a bit of a hike up the hill to the bus stop, but I would recommend that you buy a few bus tickets at a time (you only validate them on the day you use them), this will save you a bus stop as the bar that sells them is a little further up the hill!The cruise to Carpri was beautiful and a must, just be prepared for the crowds. Naples was an experience, if you go by boat make sure you get the early one as the later you leave it the less time you have there. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone who wants peace and quiet, good food, good company, lovely views and great owners and staff. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruth1Saddleworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

Pino and Illaria run this charming bed and breakfast and make every moment spent there an absolute pleasure. They are personable and kind and willing to help their guests with everything from finding a place to eat (though I recommend staying at the Janare because the food is outstanding!), driving guests to Amalfi for a day trip, making delicious coffee in the morning and everything else in between. The rooms are beautiful, with gorgeous Italian tiles and large bathrooms. Each room overlooks the sea and the lemon trees that grow in the gardens of the b&b. The breakfast is simple but tasty and the menu for each evening is carefully chosen and prepared by Pino and his sous chef. The prices are very reasonable considering the quality and flavour of the food you get. A meal for two with lots of wine will cost around 30 Euros. But what really makes this place special is the family that runs it. Illaria and Pino are the sweetest people and when you are a guest at their b&b you feel more like family than a visitor. I would recommend that anyone going to the Amalfi Coast stay at Locanda Ripa delle Janare and I know that, like me, you won't want to leave!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

This B & B (with optional, delicious, very reasonably-priced dinner) is located overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. Pino and Illaria - the couple who run the establishment - made us feel very welcome and went out of their way to make us comfortable throughout our stay. The guests were of various nationalities and ages, and it was possible to maintain privacy, or mix and mingle - whatever we chose. The rooms all have a sea view, private bathrooms and are kept immaculately clean. The atmosphere is warm and friendly and we left after 6 nights wishing that we could stay much longer. We are determined to return one day.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2010

When we booked this hotel we took our time to read reviews about it on both TripAdvisor and Booking.com. The reviews were great and that was one of the decisive factors taken into account. We weren't disappointed.
This hotel is situated in Furore which is very close to Amalfi village, one of the main attractions on the Amalfi Coast. It's very clean and situated at the top of "Fiordo del Furore" which you must see when you're going there. The location is very convenient as it's not in the busy (more expensive) Amalfi but not very far from it either (15-20 minutes drive). If you don't have a car you can take the local buses to Amalfi and back which are operating at short intervals.
The owners of the hotel (Mr Pino and his wife) are lovely people, very friendly and always have handy tips about where to eat or places to see in the area.
The whole place smells of cleanliness, the rooms have lovely coloured tiles on floors and bathroom (ceramic is very popular in the area) which will make you feel like you are in a different world.
We had the best time in this hotel and it was probably the best holiday we had in recent years. Definitely would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice relaxing break!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IuliuValeriu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2010

we had a very nice time in the locanda. We arrived without a car; but Pino offered us to take us everywhere we wanted in the village (restaurant etc.), so that we didn't need to always climb the steps! Pino and his wife are very friendly, the breakfast is great; the view very nice, the rooms well decorated... What else? a big thanks!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clem-Steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Furore hotels
0.0 mi away
Holidays Fico d'India
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bacco
Hotel Bacco
#3 of 5 in Furore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Locanda del Fiordo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Vela
La Vela
#14 of 19 in Furore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Marelle
Le Marelle
#2 of 19 in Furore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa del Melograno
La Casa del Melograno
#8 of 19 in Furore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Ripa delle Janare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Ripa delle Janare

Property: Locanda Ripa delle Janare
Address: Via Aldo Moro 3, 84010, Furore, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Furore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Furore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Ripa delle Janare 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda Ripa delle Janare, favorite adobe of creatures from woods and seas. The refuge stands on the peak of the spectacular fiord that breaks the Amalfi Coast in a salsh and holds the sea with its unceasing force that gives to this place the bizarre name of Furore. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing