We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean, comfortable and welcoming”
Review of Hotel degli Amici

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel degli Amici
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Artena
Certificate of Excellence
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, clean, comfortable and welcoming”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night en route from Garda to Santa Maria di Castellabate. The hotel was very reasonably priced (65 Euros per room) and we were made most welcome - nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The hotel was beautifully presented, clean and clearly signed. The rooms were very comfortable, air-conditioned and with en-suite facilities that were top notch. There is ample car parking around the hotel grounds.
The concierge recommendation of somewhere to eat, "Il Federale", was made as the hotel and restaurant have reciprocal arrangements - and we were not disappointed. The restaurant is an absolute gold mine of memorabilia of the Mussolini era and, like the hotel, provides a very warm welcome, an excellent menu and a great family atmosphere. It's a bit too far to walk there an back - but it's well worth spending the whole evening there. We booked (advisable) for 8.00 pm and were just at the beginning of an extremely busy evening. There is plenty of parking available outside the restaurant.
Breakfast at the hotel was typical Italian breakfast, with some excellent fresh coffee.

Room Tip: Please see review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nazzareno d, Responsabile reception at Hotel degli Amici, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Michael,
with very pleasure I reply to your evaluation for our hotel.
I was delighted to read that your break was satisfactory like eat to Federale Restaurant.
I wait your return from Castellabate for the thanking you personally..
Good holiday
See you later
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    64
    31
    2
    5
See reviews for
65
30
5
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed with some colleagues on a business trip. The hotel turned to be an average cheap motel. On the bad side - it was not very clean (small bug in the shower), beds had too-hard mattresses, and breakfast had no vegetables, only cakes. On the good side - the service was attentive, the rooms weren't small and the price was very affordable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nazzareno d, Direttore generale at Hotel degli Amici, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Mr Amit,
thanks for your stay in our hotel ( the motel is a different thing !! )
I am sorry for the insect in the shower because the cleansing is the thing that our guests appreciate more. The attention is a particular of the all us ...for the cleansing, for the services, for the cure the guests. The mattresses are too-hard, because our beds are sommier and no box spring...will be provided for the vegetables a breakfast. The next time you will be in hotel you can eat them
Kind regards
Antonella Graziani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasse, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We were travelling North, and were gambling on finding a hotel along the way. Following the good signposting we arrived at Hotel degli Amici, where we were lucky to get a very nice, clean and well appointed room. Next day we left a little too quickly, because we realised only later that we had forgotten our passports at the reception! When we called, they were extremely nice and mailed our passports to us, immediately. What a wonderful service - thank you so much!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanneFDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I had a 1 night stays during a business trip. The location was perfect if you need to be at Colleferro early in the morning, but you to drive few kms to find an open restaurant (the hotel has no restaurant).
The room was very big, with 2 TV, and the price reasonable.
Room was quite clean, but the frigobar in my room was empty; not a big deal since there is a bar at the reception.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bavaria, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We just went there for business-trip and it was ok, but for holiday I don't know if I would choose it. The reception-guys (or girl) were nice and friendly and everything worked well.
The breakfast was equipped for a minimum and was made really to sweet overall.
We even wonder if there is some restaurant in the evening because we didn't see somebody eating or where the food was prepared, but for a good afterwork-drink it was sufficient.
On the room is a list of restaurants in the near of the hotel that could be reached by car, some of them we tried out.
Directly behind the hotel was some kind of factory, there was allways a kind of smell in the air but fortunatelly there is an air-condition in every room, so the windows can be closed all the time.
Because it is close to Rome we could make a short visit after our business-dates.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pagel_christian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

I have visited Rome in december/january and stayed at this hotel, very good service, the staff is nice, it is very close to Rome and very close to Valmontone Outlet where you can do all the shopping you like. This hotel is a very good choice for someone who is visiting Rome and it's whereabouts, the prices are very good also.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank derecosmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Jamaica
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2007

To begin with- Based on advertisements we were hoping to find the location of this hotel in close proximity to the city centre. However our efforts proved futile when apparently no one in Rome, none of the staff members we spoke to at the informations office in the train station, as well as the tourist information knew the location of Hotel Degli Amici in Artena. It took us almost an entire day to get directions after arriving in Rome at about 10am. We eventually managed to receive help from an Italian resident who assisted us in making a telephone call to this Hotel. Through this telephone conversation we were informed that we would be picked up after getting off valmontone train station, Unaware that it would cost 4Euros for each person for pick up.

We initially booked a double room for 2 adults but was joined by a third person, hence we decided to pay for an extra bed or a single room for the additional person. We were informed by the unpleasant staff that we needed to pay more than twice the amount for an extra bed, which was even much more than the advertised cost for a single room. The head staff hardened their hearts towards us despite us telling them the cost it was advertised for. We were told that it was too late to cancel our reservations. However, with the transportation costs that we would have incurred during our 3 nights and the exorbitant cost for an extra bed it was only possible to stay for only 1night and call the remaining 2nights a loss.

Breakfast was another matter. To eat what was included for breakfast was like 'walking on eggshells.' Uncertainty about what to eat made wanting to eat very uncomfortable for fear of being charged extra.

This hotel on a whole is surrounded by deception as it is in no way located 20minutes by car to the city center. It takes about 45minutes by train which cost 2.50 euros for each trip and 4 euros each way to be picked up by hotel staff which takes another 15-20min by car. Additionally one had to fit in with the time table for drop off each morning by hotel staff else you will be stucked with nothing to do as commuting is a big obstacle to this hotel's location.

The room itself although very cold was ok. However, only if it were located even close to the city center and the staff did a training course in customer service skills or even pretented to be customer friendly then and only then could it be an average experience.

  • Liked — Bed
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Read hotel reviews before booking reservations
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Marcy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Artena
1.9 mi away
Fashion Hotel
Fashion Hotel
#1 of 3 in Valmontone
644 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel La Quercia
Hotel La Quercia
#2 of 3 in Valmontone
87 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Rocchi
Hotel Rocchi
#3 of 3 in Valmontone
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel Nespolo D'Oro
Hotel Nespolo D'Oro
#1 of 1 in Lariano
155 reviews
3.8 mi away
Antonello Colonna Resort & Spa
9.9 mi away
Colaiaco Hotel
Colaiaco Hotel
#2 of 3 in Anagni
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel degli Amici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel degli Amici

Property: Hotel degli Amici
Address: Via Latina Km 2.270 ( S.P. 600 DIR), 00031 Artena, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Artena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Artena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel degli Amici 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artena, in which Municipality there is the archaeological site of the Piano della Civita, called Montefortino until 1873, on which time it assumed the new name following the instructions of the great archaeologist Nibby according to whom on the Plan of Civita, on the mountains behind the village , it once existed the Volscian city of Artena. At the foot of the ancient fortress, considered the center of the pedestrian the widest in Europe, there is the Hotel degli Amici 4-star Hotel designed in a modern and refined style it ensures its guests a stay at the sign of practicality and comfort. The theme park Rainbow Magic Land and the Fashion District Outlet Valmontone, are only 7 km far. In about 20 minutes by car you can reach the GRA of Rome. Surrounded by greenery and well connected with major highways, the Hotel degli Amici offers an ideal location to plan any kind of vacation to discover the wonders of Rome and Lazio. The hotel has all the facilities and comforts to satisfy the needs of customers both for leisure as a holiday or for a business stay. The large private car park, can accommodate both cars and buses, the gardens, equipped to relax during the warmer months, the WiFi connection, free of charge in the entire hotel and the modern conference room are just some of the services at our customers disposal. At any time of the day or night, the courtesy and professionalism of qualified staff are at your disposal to make your stay an unforgettable experience. In addition, the Hotel degli Amici is a friend of the environment because it is completely powered by renewable energy sources through solar panels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel degli Amici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing