We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, good food but owners a bit neglectful”

Al Veluu Ristorante & Suites
Ranked #4 of 24 Restaurants in Tremezzina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$45 - US$101
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Opening hours daily except TUESDAYS Lunch from 12.00 till 14.00 dinner from 19.00 till 22.00
London
2 reviews
“Great view, good food but owners a bit neglectful”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Really great food and lovely location, excellent service from our waiter but the owners were rather neglectful and seemed very preoccupied with other guests that they knew which was a shame as we felt a bit forgotten in a beautiful location.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    66
    33
    33
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We loved this little restaurant. The food and view were both outstanding. The service was spotty. We ordered things that never got served and had to remind them about other things. But we would recommend it for a good meal in a lovely setting.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveler20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Go by car or taxi.”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We were staying in Tremezzo from where you can take one of two paths to get to the restaurant which is above the town. We tried the short but near vertical route which was indeed a challenge.
The restaurant only has the view going for it as the food was very average and expensive. The "owner" is more interested in the obviously wealthy clients rather than anyone else. At the end of it we rather regretted the effort of getting there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Les B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Felt that we had been gouged”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We were staying at Bellagio without a car. Our hotel booked Al Veluu on our behalf and also arranged for complimentary  transport provided by the restaurant (or so we thought) from ferry stop at Cadenabbia (3 minutes drive away). Transport was waiting as promised shown to our seat which was "in the front row",  with stunning view across lake Como. We had a very nice meal dessert & wine.When finished we requested the bill (for which we had to wait about 15 minutes) and when the bill arrived were very curtly told that there was a 25 euro charge for the transport as they were unable to order a taxi.  Whilst shocked I did not question this charge as it was a special occasion and did not wish to ruin  the evening. Did we have a good evening?  yes it was fantastic! Would I recommend this restaurant?  yes however with the caveat of making sure you clarify the cost of any "complimentary" transfers.  Perhaps I was incorrectly advised regarding the  transfers however felt very much like we had been gouged as fairly overpriced to begin with and took some of the shine off the evening; hence the rating.Have eaten better at places however not at places that match the view . Spectacular view is however is very much incorportated into price of meal. I very much doubt that my wife and I will patronise this restaurant again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FatCharlie225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointment comes at a great cost”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Don't bother. We are certain there are plenty of other places along the shore that have just as nice a view but at a fraction of the cost and a more accomodating service. For what we paid--50 euros each--the food was a disappointment. The service varied from average to terrible. We warned the restaurant that we would be late, and we eventually arrived as the kitchen was closing at 1400. We later had the impression that they resented our presence. When we later got the bill, we saw that they had even charged the four-euro-per-person service for my friend's son, who is less than three years old. A dispute ensued with the waiter, who told us that we should be grateful that he did us a favor in receiving us at 1400. Whatever. There's a severe crisis in Italy and business owners complain that people aren't spending any money. With service like this and prices like these, who can blame them?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilles044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Veluu Ristorante & Suites also viewed

Tremezzina, Lake Como
Tremezzina, Lake Como
 
Tremezzina, Lake Como
 

Been to Al Veluu Ristorante & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing