We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would Have Been Excellent...if Not For One Noisy Russian Wedding Party.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Al Veluu Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Al Veluu Suites
Ranked #2 of 4 Tremezzina B&B and Inns
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
483 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“Would Have Been Excellent...if Not For One Noisy Russian Wedding Party.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

With An incomparable view with stunning vistas from all sides, the Al Veluu is a charming and memorable B & B. We enjoyed our stay and won't soon forget the excellent service from the owners, who were both very warm and kind people. The one night that we ate at the restaurant downstairs, was inspired and so tasty, if not a bit pricey. Food is a bit over priced in my opinion. Breakfast is included and was thoroughly enjoyed as we sat looking overlooking Lake Como.

I would easily have given this establishment an excellent rating if not for one thoroughly annoying evening on our third night. We arrived back at the Al Veluu on our last night expecting to relax and we noticed that they had set up for a wedding. Easy jazz started around eight PM and soon deteriorated into loud disco music sung by off key singers. Apparently the owners had booked a Russian wedding party for the evening and failed to warn us. If we had known we would have stayed out later to avoid the late night loud music and dancing. The party was right outside our window. When my friend went down to ask the owner how late the music would last he said, "why don't you come down and dance with us!" Not the right answer. We should have been warned prior to our arrival in my opinion. The next morning when we expresses our disappointment the owner told us he was sorry but he couldn't do anything about it. Just as we were leaving the guy who organized the party came in and said he was sorry to the owner for the excessive noise and the owner said, "oh no problem at all". I guess that explains everything. Our business was not as important as the obviously lucrative Russian wedding party. It's sad because this is really a great place. Too bad it ended on a sour note.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Grigna suite for 2 nights and we loved everything about it. The location was wonderful; the house is perched high on the hill and the view is to die for. About a 10-minute walk will get you to the nearest ferry stop, from which you can get to Varenna (amazing!) and Bellagio (overrated!). The best thing about Al Veluu was the large parking area right in front of the house; driving in Italy can be stressful and finding a parking spot is close to impossible, so the no-hassle parking was a pleasant surprise for us.
The apartment was spacious and the bed was comfortable. But the best feature of the apartment was the balcony. We could (and did) sit there for hours.
We ate at the Al Veluu restaurant a couple of times. We thought the beef carpaccio was excellent and the zabaglione was a real treat. The staff was very accommodating and brought the food to our suite so that we could have a private dinner on our balcony.
I would recommend this place to anyone without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeSn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Crocione Suite at Al Veluu over the Easter Bank Holiday weekend. We were pleasantly surprised by the location of the property, which has good access to the village of Tremezzo. We took the 10 minute steps to the village which was easy but you have to be fit to use them! Otherwise it is easily reached by car, and they have parking outside - a luxury in Como! Cheryl & Luca are lovely hosts - it is amazing how they have set up such a beautiful restaurant with spectacular accommodation! Our suite was high spec - with Apple Tv, a nespresso machine, underfloor heating, a fire and a fully equipped kitchen. The best thing about the suite was the incredible view and that it was a 2 minute stumble from the restaurant where we chose to eat twice as the food was the best we had our whole trip! (this will come as a separate review I think!) I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, and I'd like to thank Cheryl & Luca for making our stay so comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suchipatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

My wife and I would like to add our voices to all the others who report a marvelous stay at Al Veluu in Tremezzo, a family-owned bed and breakfast offering two lovely suites above its great restaurant. Cheryl and Luca are wonderful hosts, the view of the Lake is breathtaking, our apartment suite was lovely, comfortable and spacious, and the restaurant food was the best by far of any of the places we dined at in the Lake Como area. All the good things that have been said about Al Veluu are true, and we would only like to add our personal thanks to these warm and wonderful people for making our trip to Lake Como truly memorable...!
Peter&Barbara

Room Tip: Tends to book early during the summer months - so plan accordingly. September was a perfect time to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterBarbara2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed in one of the two available suites, which are really one bedroom apartments at Al Veluu! Simply fabulous. The view is like none other. High in the hills of Tremezzo sits this beautiful family owned Villa with suites and an excellent restaurant. Cheryl and Luca are delightful, warm and very helpful. Adriano is a dream...sincere, warm and full of insight and charm. The suites are very well appointed. We ate at the restaurant several times and were never disappointed. Many dishes are made with fresh ingredients from their organic garden and the attention to detail is noticeable. We will return to this beautiful establishment and highly recommend it to anyone who wants a personable experience away from the tourists and the crowds of the Lake Como Hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Segundo, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

My husband and I stayed for five night in June it was perfect. The view from our apartment was so beautiful and tranquil we would sit on our terrace enjoy a glass of wine and local olive oil, bread, olives fabulous cheese while looking at Lake Como sometimes the church bells would ring it was so relaxing after the hustle and bustle in Paris this was the perfect way to spend the last week of our vacation. The apartment was great doubt you could find a better view and the food at the restaurant was fresh and delicious the family brings the veggies right from the garden to your plate I can't say enough about Al Veluu and the wonderful family that runs it but one comment. I would like to make is people complaining about it being too expensive we never felt like that next time were going straight to the Crocione apartment at Al Veluu.

Room Tip: We liked the Crocione apartment but the view would be the same.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RUBYREDPAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We booked one of the suites for a week and ate at the restaurant for four evenings. I looked forward to the evenings to return to the tranquillity of the area and a view which reduced me to tears (where there was surely no better) with tastefully well appointed accommodation as well as the delights from the kitchen with food beautifully and expertly prepared with produce from the home garden. Service was unhurried and genuine from Luca and his team. The wine list had something for every taste and pocket. We couldn't have chosen a better place to spend our week in Lake Como. We hired a car so that helped with shopping and sightseeing but could have managed without as were able to manage the steep 30 minute walk to the waters edge of Tremezzo and the return journey feeling much fitter by the end of the week. This holiday was a special celebration where cost less important than quality of accommodation and delightful cuisine. Al Veluu delivered on both counts and more.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CareyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremezzina
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Marie
Hotel Villa Marie
#4 of 8 in Tremezzina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#2 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Veluu Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Veluu Suites

Property: Al Veluu Suites
Address: Via Rogaro 11, 22019 Tremezzina, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tremezzina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Al Veluu Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Veluu Suites Tremezzina, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing