We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Azalea Restaurant Excellent”
Review of Hotel Azalea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Azalea
Ranked #4 of 4 Tremezzina B&B and Inns
Solihull
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Azalea Restaurant Excellent”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We visited this restaurant twice in August and they were the best two meals we had. The menu has a wide range and is sensibly priced, the service is great and view across the lake is brillaint. Didn't stay in the Hotel so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotspur63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    25
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
10
41
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Braine-l'Alleud
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

we just ate at the restaurant and got a table on the small terrace over the lake : beautiful ! Make a reservation or get there early to have a table there ! The service was great and the food excellent ! I am surprise not to see more rating on this place. Do not know about the B&B but the restaurant is worth stopping by !

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina1420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Great location for the ferry to Bellagio etc and walks along the lake. Fabulous breakfast served / eggs cooked to order. Lovely views across the lake. Friendly helpful staff. Free wifi in the bar downstairs. Clean and tidy. Restaurant good and priced the same as the others in the area. Main downside was the noise. There is a bar below the bedroom windows that was open til 0230 one night and at least 1 am the others and the noise was horrendous. No aircon so you need the windows open. Bathroom 'compact' and shower very small but clean.Comfy beds and clean sheets every day. Would recommend for a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussiemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Perth
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We spent three weeks in Tremezzo from mid June. We did not stay at the Hotel Azalea but when we asked our hosts at La Perla to recommend a restaurant for one of our last evenings ... it was the Azalea on their lake terrace restaurant where you hang over the lake & your food is carried across the road (busy) to our table. We were surprised because we had passed the hotel many times & there is nothing from the front that would make you think there is a very good restaurant there. How wrong we were ... we could not fault them ... the location & the view are perfect, the service, the food & the wine would be quite at home at 'so called five star restaurants'. Our only concern was for the young man who looked after us ... we hoped they had him covered with good insurance as he crossed the road! Nevertheless he looked after us with perfection. If you in Tremezzo ... go there & enjoy.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JudMen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We stayed for one night on the first week of november.
We got an upper floor room (no elevator). Very small lcd tv and a very small but complete bathroom (wc, shower, sink) with hot water. Breakfast was included.
Across the street there is a small parking, which was empty because of the season, so we had no trouble finding a space.
The night of our stay (friday) there was a dinner buffet for €10, which included a glass/cup of wine or any other liquor. The food was great and there was plenty for everyone. Later it went from restaurant to lounge. Very cool atmosphere.
However, when we went to sleep (3rd floor), we could still hear some music, but thankfully it didn´t bother us.
The breakfast was delicious and included juice, many kinds of bread, coffee, etc.
The hotel is very near the ferry station. and has a magnificent view, even with fog...

Room Tip: room 10 is quite warm. ideal for autumm/winter stays
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGSS83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed 5 nights with my wife and found the location to be pretty good, close to the ferry and within 1 hour driving distance to the town of Como and up north the Swiss town of Lugano. Recommended if you'd rather spend your money shopping and eating (Breakfast is provided) than on sleeping - quite comfortable beds as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We chose Azalea because of the excellent location and relatively good price. We've been to Lake Como three times and I think Tremezzo, and especially the area around Azalea, is definitely the best area to stay in. Many nice restaurants (Azalea, El Timon, Cantina Follie, La Darsena...) and shops just around the corner. Ferry dock is withing walking distance. Fabulous Villa Carlotta is also nearby. "Shuttle train" runs between Lenno-Tremezzo-Menaggio regularly, quite cheap but very slow. Our room had a french balcony and a stunning view to the lake! Room was very clean and quite spacious. Staff were really helpful and nice. Hotel has a bar and a nice restaurant with a very cool "panorama" terrace by the lake. Free wlan (works only downstairs) was a huge plus. There is lots of parking space in front of hotel but parking costs 1e/hour (between 9am-7pm).

Room felt a bit unsafe because the door and the lock were very old and in poor shape. Bed was extremely uncomfortable, rock hard and you could literally feel and hear the springs. Bathroom was very compact but ok. Bumping disco music woke me up 2am. Had to use earplugs the rest of the night. Breakfast was probably the worst I've ever had: white bread, butter, youghurt, juice, tea/coffee, that's all.

All in all, an excellently located, family run budget hotel. Recommended for short stays or if you're not planning to spend time in your room too much.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with lake view. Room no. 7 had a nice lateral lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rauskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremezzina
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
801 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,048 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#3 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
828 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bazzoni et du Lac
Hotel Bazzoni et du Lac
#8 of 8 in Tremezzina
606 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azalea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azalea

Property: Hotel Azalea
Address: Via Portici San Pietro 1, 22019 Tremezzina, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tremezzina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Azalea 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Azalea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Azalea Tremezzina, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing