We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect value!”
Review of Hotel Azalea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Azalea
Ranked #4 of 4 Tremezzina B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed at Hotel Azalea for 5 nights in August 2012. We were on a bit of a tight budget, and booked a room here as it was one of the cheapest we could find round the mid-lake area. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised! Although not luxury, the hotel had absolutely everything we needed. Our room was clean and comfortable, the staff were friendly and the breakfast was great. The location is ideal - very close to the ferry stop to access other towns on the lake, also right next to the bus stop. Getting everywhere we wanted (and back) was very easy. Just a stroll down the road is a beautiful park with access to the lake for swimming, having no pool at the hotel was not a problem at all. The staff were always friendly and helpful. We ate one evening meal at the hotel restaurant, on the balcony over the lake. What an ideal setting!! And the food was absolutely amazing - that WAS luxury, but at a reasonable price. We would definitely stay at the Hotel Azalea again, and if you're looking for value for money this is definitely the place for you! :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2012

We spent 2 nights the begininng of Sept. Very nice people. Room was fine. Breakfast was great hot chocolate, have, salami, cheese plus egg and all kinds of juice. Nice smaller town to stay in. They are right on the water

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy5060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We did not stay at the hotel but ate at the restaurant and it was stupendous.
The staff was very friendly, the food was absolutely was delicious and the price was excellent for the quality.
We had spinach gnocci for an appetizer and it was very creamy, fresh made and delicious. I had the fresh catch of the day grilled which was light, perfectly seasoned and excellent. My husband had local rabbit which he rated as the best rabbit he has eaten (he often orders rabbit when eating out). We were staying at the Grand Hotel in Tremezzo and this restaurant was the best meal during our entire stay.
Would definitely recommend eating here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tsmks5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Listen, check out my near 30 reviews and you'll see that I am very stingy with my 5 star ratings. Also, know that you don't need to be eating at French Laundry for a place to be deserving of 5 stars. There are plenty of places like Azalea that warrant the highest rating because their food is good, the prices are good and people are humble and kind. This was our favorite lunch during our 2 week stay in Italy, and, this was our last lunch in Italy, so, by the time I ate here, I had already experienced 13 other lunches in many parts of the country. The settting by the water is excellent, but, candidly, on Lake Como, there are many places offering you similar views. The thing that made this 5 stars for us was the Chicken (pollo) salad they had available on the menu - it was a very welcome change for us because we just hadn't seen something like this on the menu in other places. Also, the pizza (I think it was the Azalea) was very well prepared. The german beer they had was sa-wheat and the prices were on the money as was the service. The simple oil and red wine vinegar dressing for the salad, although basic, made it taste so damn great that i've been replicating it at home now. We walked outta there in an hour and spent less than 20 E and were more than satisfied. It's just outside Hotel Tremezzo and a place I would highly recommend. Remember, they have 2 outdoor seating areas - the one we sat at was on the other side of the street, right on the water. Please enjoy!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank wong561hb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed at this B&B for a weekend on a budget and it was great for what we needed. Great location and friendly staff. The rooms aren't much to write home about, very basic and not very modern but they were cheap for the area and that was what we were after for that trip!

The restaurant downstairs is fantastic. Best pizza I have tried on the lake, would highly recommend eating here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

We only ate lunch here, so can only give comments about the bar situated over Lake Como. But man, what a view!

We ordered the gnochetti and pizza, and the food was decently done and inexpensive. But it's the ease of parking and view that completely blows you away. Also a short drive to the ferry that takes you to Bellagio.

Overall, Lake Como is stunning, and being able to eat so cheaply and well makes this bar a no-brainer dining spot!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrocker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We visited this restaurant twice in August and they were the best two meals we had. The menu has a wide range and is sensibly priced, the service is great and view across the lake is brillaint. Didn't stay in the Hotel so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotspur63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tremezzina hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
837 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Edy
Hotel Villa Edy
#6 of 8 in Tremezzina
166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Al Veluu Suites
Al Veluu Suites
#2 of 4 in Tremezzina
41 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa del Portico
Casa del Portico
#1 of 4 in Tremezzina
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azalea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azalea

Address: Via Portici San Pietro 1, 22019, Tremezzina, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tremezzina
Price Range: £68 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Azalea 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Azalea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Azalea Tremezzina, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing