We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the bathroom”
Review of Hotel Azalea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Azalea
Ranked #4 of 4 Tremezzina B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Shame about the bathroom”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Great location and extremely friendly service, shame about the bathroom. Located on the water with a great lakeside eating area, charming staff and a traditionally built Italian building which is let down by their extremely small and old fashioned, squeezed into your room bathroom!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Slates68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    26
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
11
42
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We ate lunch twice at this restaurant as we had such a good lunch the first time. There is a terrace on the water, a courtyard and a proper dining room area giving plenty of choices of where to sit. Their marinated salmon with their home made foccacia is delicious as is the ricotta bad spinach crepe which my daughter had on both occasions
A perfect option for a hungry vegetarian.
Service feels personal as this feels like a family owned and run restaurant. Prices were so reasonable for the generous portions delicious food and attentive service. The wine per glass was good compared to other restaurants here when one only wants to order one glass. We stayed at the Grand Hotel Tremezzo a short walk away! Recommended

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrieblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Very much enjoyed my recent stay at the hotel. The staff were lovely, helpful and had a good laugh with us. The best beer I've had before - pint of flensburger goes down well! Our room was spacious and had a great view. The room my parents had was slightly cramped (especially the toilet) but was still okay. I'd recommend asking for room 5!

The restaurant's food was lovely and I'd definitely recommend eating there at least 1 night.

Location is perfect as the c10 bus stops right outside and the boat taxi stop is about a 100m walk.

Thanks for the experience!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank VikashP1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I can not recommend this hotel. This is unfortunate because there are a number of positives. The staff are very nice and friendly, the location is excellent (although there was a lot of noise at night) and the restaurant is very good (and recommended). However, our room was very small and the bathroom (more like a cubicle) was horrible. Overall, the hotel needs some care and attention. I would recommend spending a little more to find a hotel with better rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesDick100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tremezzina hotels

Surrey, UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Only ate here!
We were a group of 7 who dropped into the restaurant at The Hotel Azalea just to have a quick lunch. They were totally accommodating, immediately moved tables together and made us feel welcome. Our quick lunch tuned into a long leisurely lunch as we liked it there so much. The food was excellent, unpretentious but delicious and good value. The service was brilliant, we were quite a rabble, a bit indecisive with our ordering, but all got what we wanted and felt well looked after!
The restaurant looks out over the beautiful Lake Como.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gateslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varese, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had lunch last week and we definitely recommend this restaurant. We had a table on the little terrace on the lake and we really appreciated the service, the location and food. It is very simple but adorable. If we come back in Tremezzo we will stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MirMar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We went to the Azalea restaurant after trying nearly all the other restaurants in Tremezzo. It was a lovely evening so we sat on the decking on the lake (this was the first bad move - mosquito's or thunderflies kept us busy). The menu had a few different items on, so i ordered the mixture of lake fish. It was good, but nothing spectacular, and we had eaten at several other places that were cheaper, had better service and much better food. It was the small things that spoilt this meal. We had to ask for Grissini and bread - even though we were paying a cover charge for it. The table was a bit dirty and i had to change a knife.
i am not one to complain, but overall i came away feeling a bit let down, especially with how good some of the other restaurants were.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdunn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremezzina
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#3 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
1,008 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
808 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel Ristorante National
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
2,997 reviews
13.1 mi away
Locanda Milano 1873
Locanda Milano 1873
#2 of 3 in Brunate
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azalea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azalea

Property: Hotel Azalea
Address: Via Portici San Pietro 1, 22019 Tremezzina, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tremezzina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Azalea 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Azalea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Azalea Tremezzina, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing