We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food, great dessert!”
Review of El Timon

El Timon
Ranked #14 of 24 Restaurants in Tremezzina
Price range: US$13 - US$56
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average food, great dessert!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I think this restaurant was an ok value for this area. The portions are not too big, the food was good, but nothing special, but the deserts were great! I would go back just to eat an other tiramisu. We were a group of 3, and all of us really liked the deserts. Service was the usual speed for this area, but we are here to relax, so we don't mind. I wish the stupid motorcycles would not drive so fast and loud in the main street in front of the restaurant, it really ruins the athmosphere, but you have this problem not only at this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andreaDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    42
    12
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good pizza”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stopped here for lunch after taking the ferry to Tremezzo. It was nice weather so we sat outside in the sun which was very nice. We ordered two pizzas and a side of salad - they were very yummy. Just what we wanted!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value, good service”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

After a couple of visits for both lunch and dinner can vouch that all dishes are of good if not excellent quality and offers good value. Unpretentious environment - gets so much better if able to sit outside and view the lake and mountains.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aquarius1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We ate at this restaurant the first night we were in Tremezzo, as we just wanted a quick meal. We had a pizza along with a carafe of house wine. It was good and very reasonably priced. The service was also good. The reason that i only gave an average rating was that we also tried all the other restaurants in the same vicinity and i have to say, that there were other restaurants that we preferred. Maybe, if i had tried something different, then my review may have been better. It wasn't bad, it was just that others were better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cdunn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We ate lunch at this restaurant. It was very overpriced for what you get and service was grumpy and rude (apart from the English waitress). Felt very disappointed with this choice as the other two restaurants next door looked far better value. Portions very small. Would not recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leo_Nora_swimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Timon also viewed

Tremezzina, Lake Como
 
Tremezzina, Lake Como
 
Tremezzina, Lake Como
 

Been to El Timon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing