We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible old world hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My husband booked this hotel for a long weekend, for my birthday.
As soon as we drove up and gave the valet the keys to the car, the service was flawless.

Reception upgraded us to a huge, luxurious suite. Breathtaking views from the balcony over Lake Como. In the room there was a complimentary bottle of local prosecco chilling in a silver bucket, with a plate of fresh truffles and some flowers.

The floating pool was clean and cold, and the waiters were attentive, service was quick.
The pool side menu was full of delicious Italian dishes - parma ham and melon, buffalo mozzarella and tomato, pastas and pizzas.

Dinner at their La Terrazza restaurant was picture perfect. Again, comp prosecco, they knew it was my birthday, gave us the best table in the house. The service was impeccable. The food, was not the best I have ever eaten, BUT it was very good, served hot, not too expensive, and the whole experience, watching the sunset over the lake, made it a lovely evening.

Their pizza restaurant however - T Pizza AMAZING. One of the best 4 cheese pizzas I have ever eaten.

While we were here we visited the towns of Menaggio and Bellagio, both of which are so close by ferry, lovely bars and restaurants, great shopping, do make time to have a quick visit.

Great weekend, highly recommend this hotel. Old world luxury, fantastic service from beginning to end.

NB. Husband ordered birthday presents to be delivered to the hotel in advance and they put them in the room and set it up nicely, like Christmas Day! So love it when hotels go the extra mile.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nikkismart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina_De_Santis, Marketing Manager at Grand Hotel Tremezzo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Mrs Nikki Shannon,

thank you so much for your lovely words!
We all really did our best to make your birthday with us at the Grand Hotel Tremezzo special and unforgettable, and we are so proud that we succeeded!

We just wish you once again all the best to you and your husband and we really hope that in the future you will spend many other birthdays with us on Lake Como !

All our best,

Valentina De Santis
Grand Hotel Tremezzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

859 - 865 of 1,116 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2012

First off, the Hotel is the Grand Dame of Lake Como. in every sense, the views will take your breath away and there was nothing more pleasurable than sitting on the Terrace and enjoying a chilled Rose. Dinner was also stunning and I could not fault the professionalism of the staff. However, I have some observations which might be helpful given the high price tag that comes with the privilege of staying there. Athough our deluxe double room had a wonderful view and balcony, the inside was very tired, and the cleanlessness of the room disappointing. We asked three mornings in a row that our room be swept or vacuumed, yet the floors were never cleaned properly. We also booked a private boat 'tour' but made it clear beforehand to the concierge that we had already travelled to several nearby towns so wanted to avoid those and go further north. It was only once we were out on the water and heading towards Bellagio (again) did we realise our skipper couldn't speak a word of English and he in turn was frustrated and refused to alter course. €160 later, I wished I had stuck to the ferry! I think in future, if the Hotel is going to offer 'a tour' then all skippers should be able to communicate to their passengers in addition to pointing out the highlights of the Lake. There is a big difference between offering a tour and simply ordering a water taxi from A to B. Would we go back? Absolutely as it is a treat, but it's the small things that make the difference.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Jen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina_De_Santis, Marketing Manager at Grand Hotel Tremezzo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Mrs Jen,

thank you so much for your precious feedback and for highlighting both the ups and the small downs of your stay with us at the Grand Hotel Tremezzo.
It is very important for us to know even the smallest details in order to improve and avoid any misunderstanding in the future. As you wrote, it's the small things that make the difference, and we completely agree!

We shared with our Housekeeping Manager your observations about the room and she is further investigating.
Furthermore we are so sorry about the problems you had with your boat tour, especially because the Ruy (this is the name of our period Venetian motor launch) is always a big highlight of our guests' experiences. This was for sure a misunderstanding with our Concierge, that is really afraid that he did not very well understand your desires in order to arrange the tour that you were looking for. As for the issue with the skipper that does not speak very good English, I just would like to explain you that due to very strict policies on Lake Como, our boat can be driven only by very very experienced sailors (exactly the same people that drive the big big ferry boats). For this reason we have two local 'captains' that before working with us never spoke a word of English, but Mr Diego and Mr Tersilio are now attending English classes in order to be able to speak with guests. In general they are perfectly able to understand guests desires, but if guests want a tour with a proper guide of the lake, we always suggest and provide an English-speaker guide.

In any case I am really happy to understand that these two minor details did not impact too much your experience at the Grand Hotel Tremezzo and that you would absolutely come back to stay with us on your next visit to Lake Como!
We are already looking forward to it, and be sure that everything will be perfectly fixed and that you won't find any spot in your experience!

With all our best,
Valentina De Santis
Grand Hotel Tremezzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

In June 2012 we stayed 3 nights in Grand Hotel Tremezzo which is a 5 star hotel located on lake Como with breathtaking view from lake front rooms. The garden view rooms also have nice view of lush gardens.
The hotel and the rooms are decorated in old Italian style with vibrant colors. The rooms are relatively small and have old wood flooring which creaks a lot. Hotel has all facilities of a good hotel. Service was friendly and the breakfast which was included (no wonder for a price of 520 Euro per night) was excellent. Bellagio is about 10-15 minutes boat ride from hotel and Como about 30 minutes.
Although this hotel is pricy but the location, the view and the breakfast (also food if one wants to spend a lot on dining) makes it well worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vahe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina_De_Santis, Marketing Manager at Grand Hotel Tremezzo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Sir,

thank you so much for your beautiful review and your positive feedback about your stay at the Grand Hotel Tremezzo.
We are all very glad that you enjoyed your experience on Lake Como with us!
Thank you also for the very nice pictures you posted!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back, hopefully very soon.

All our best,
Valentina De Santis
Grand Hotel Tremezzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I was here two years ago and based on an incredible stay, chose to come back. We were not disappointed! The staff and management remain incredible and seemingly anticipate your needs before you even ask.

My daughter stayed there a few days before we showed up to join her and she was well treated and supported.

Rooms are fantastic and clean; food is wonderful; and the concierge can make whatever you need happen!

We will be back!

Room Tip: If you are lakefront (street facing) - the higher the floor, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina_De_Santis, Marketing Manager at Grand Hotel Tremezzo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Sir,

once again welcome back to the Grand Hotel Tremezzo!
Just few words to say that we can't thank you enough for the wonderful review, but especially for choosing to stay with us once more.
We just hope that the good memories will just take you back very soon... These (good) things always come in threes, right?

We are so looking forward to welcoming you and your family back for the third time!

With all our best,
Valentina De Santis
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed for a week in May at this beautiful, elegant hotel. It lived up to its 5 stars. We had a lake view room which, despite the very mixed weather, was worth the extra. The traffic noise was rather loud but we'd read the reviews beforehand and went prepared with earplugs! Maybe a room higher up in the hotel would've been quieter, we were on the 1st floor.

We totally agree with the previous reviews about the L'escale fondue restaurant. We ordered the fish barbeque. A small table-top electric BBQ metal plate was placed on the table and we cooked our own very small pieces (thumb sizes) of fish, I think we got 3 plus a prawn. It came with 3 different salts!!! and some dipping sauces, plus 2-3 slices of courgette,a slice of aubergine and a baby tomato! We had to order more bread to fill us up. We also ordered a sweet which was the size of an egg cup. This was such a shame and we felt totally ripped off, as it was very expensive for what you got. This was not in keeping with the rest of the hotel food, especially the breakfasts which were wonderful.

Where the hotel excelled was the service. My husband left his ipod in the pocket of his bathrobe (having spent some time in the spa on a rainy day). On returning to the room the maid was refreshing towels/robes and he handed her his wet robe not realising until the next day that his ipod was in the pocket. He informed the staff the following morning who explained that the laundry was done by an outside contractor so we didn't expect to see it again. About one week after we'd returned home the hotel wrote to say they'd found the ipod and returned it to England free of charge. Brilliant service, and thanks.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina_De_Santis, Marketing Manager at Grand Hotel Tremezzo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Madam,

thank you very much for posting this beautiful and rewarding review about your stay last May with us.
All the Grand Hotel Tremezzo family is very happy that you loved your experience on Lake Como and we really hope that you will always keep nice memories of those days spent with us.

Again, we are very sorry if your dinner at L'Escale did not meet your expectations and did not live up the rest of your experience at our Grand Hotel. We immediately investigated what happened with the service and the portions of the fondues, please rest assured that all the necessary corrections have been made and that now the restaurant is 100% back to its usual 5 star level of service. Once again we are very sorry for the unsatisfactory dinner and we really would like that your stay would not have had any spot or downside.

We are very glad that finally the iPod was found and that we could give you an happy ending. It is also very frustrating when this kind of things happen because we want that our Guests keep only positive and wonderful memories of their holidays on Lake Como. It was very important for us to be able to provide you with the right level of attention to this problem and hopefully also with the final solution!

We are really looking forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Tremezzo soon.

All our best,
Valentina De Santis
Grand Hotel Tremezzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We also had a wonderful stay at the hotel recently but agree with the review about the fondue restaurant - nice idea but really very poor food. We had the beef fondue and all we got was a few pieces of beef each. The dipping sauces were ok but not delicious . We ordered a salad to have with it and for about 16 euros got a few pieces of lettuce!!! It really could be improved!!!! Other guests we spoke all thought the same. Everything else was much ,much better! Wonderful bedroom with view of Bellagio, good breakfasts looking out on lake, great swimming pools and good spa!!!

Room Tip: 4th floor lake view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina_De_Santis, Marketing Manager at Grand Hotel Tremezzo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Mrs Melanie,

first of all thank you so much for giving us this absolutely wonderful feedback!
Thank you also for sharing your feelings about L'Escale experience, it is very important for us to know everything about our guests' stay in order to keep on improving and providing a higher level of service every time.
We are so sorry that your dinner did not meet your expectations, but I can reassure you that we immediately implemented all the corrective actions in order to fix the problems you highlighted. Thank you for taking the time to share this, because we could immediately revert the situation and take back L'Escale experience to its usual level of quality.
We really hope that you will soon come back to stay with us so that we will have the chance to make you change your feelings for L'Escale as well, in order to leave you only wonderful memories of the Grand Hotel Tremezzo.

With all our best,
Valentina De Santis
Grand Hotel Tremezzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

After surviving the narrow, winding road to get to Tremezzo, we were warmly greeted by the hotel staff, upgraded to a lake-view room, and proceeded to enjoy one of our best ever hotel experiences. In addition to the magnificent views and charming ambiance, the staff was, to a person, extremely polite and attentive to our every need. Expensive, but satisfying to know that you actually do get the quality you pay for here. The food was very good, the included breakfast contained everything one could want, and the view overlooking the lake from the terrace while enjoying an aperitivo was breathtaking. Regarding where to go in the area, Bellagio, although highly popular, was a downer in our experience, while Villa Carlotta, next door, was an unexpected pleasure with beautifully maintained gardens and interior of the villa.

Room Tip: Lake view would be preferred, although the rear view (over the pool and gardens) wouldn't be dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina_De_Santis, Marketing Manager at Grand Hotel Tremezzo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Mr Paul,

on behalf of all the Grand Hotel Tremezzo family, I thank you very much for your wonderful review.
We are so happy that you enjoyed everything of your stay with us.
Thank you also for highlighting what is one of the real jewels of Lake Como, our neighbor Villa Carlotta. It should never be missed during a holiday on the lake.

We are really looking forward to welcoming you back soon to our Grand Hotel.

All my best,
Valentina De Santis
Grand Hotel Tremezzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremezzina
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.6 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
849 reviews
10.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
825 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#2 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Tremezzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tremezzo

Address: Via Regina 8, 22016 Tremezzina, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Price Range: £371 - £1,254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Tremezzo 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be part of the next century of Lake Como tradition and take in the stunning lake views at the iconic Grand Hotel Tremezzo. This art nouveau landmark, which sits adjacent to Villa Carlotta's famed gardens, just marked its 100th anniversary. In celebration, it joined forces with Maestro Gualtiero Marchesi, an icon of the Italian culinary world; taste his haute cuisine on La Terrazza's lovely terrace or in one of its 5 upscale dining venues. Its unique lakeside positioning offers unparalleled views of Bellagio, the Riviera delle Azalee and the stunning Grigne mountains. With its 100 windows overlooking either the blue waters of the lake or the flowering greenery of the garden, the hotel offers 76 elegant rooms and 12 splendid suites. Don't miss to experience the ultra-luxe new Rooftop Suites with panoramic views from terraces and outdoor Jacuzzis - A "must stay" in Lake Como. Other delectable delights: the luxurious and panoramic T Spa, offering exclusive ESPA treatments, the super private T Spa Suite, three pools - including one that floats on the lake! - And a private beach, private tours in the hotel's period Venetian motor launch, and over 5 acres of lush secular park incorporating a panoramic path, a floodlit clay tennis court, fitness and sauna. Other signature features conjure up to the unique appeal of this family-owned property, benefiting of a strategic location that blends exclusivity and proximity: Milan with its boutiques and nightlife is only 1-hour driving distance. Boasting over a century of ageless allure and traditions, the Grand Hotel Tremezzo is today a vintage symbol of Italian hospitality and a place-to-be to enjoy the flavor of real vacation. Discover a world of temptations and the unique atmosphere you'll only find at Tremezzo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Tremezzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tremezzo Palace
Grand Hotel Tremezzo Tremezzina, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing