We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Hotel Tremezzo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Grand Hotel Tremezzo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Our first trip to the Grand Hotel Tremezzo was in August of 2012, for our honeymoon. The hotel staff and accommodations were superb, especially Vincenzo and Rafael in the T-bar. We loved spending the day at the T-beach and floating pool. Tremezzo is centrally located on Lake Como, making it the perfect location for day trips to many towns along the lake. Late afternoons by the garden pool or in the T-spa were the perfect way to unwind before a night spent at one of the many spectacular restaurants. One week is hardly enough, there is too much to do on Lago di Como! We returned just 8 months later (May 2013) and our second trip was even better than the first. It will be difficult to beat Grand Hotel Tremezzo. We will definitely return!
Danny & Katie
Chicago, IL

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    808
    129
    23
    10
    4
See reviews for
148
624
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

The Grand Hotel Tremezzo was our first stop on a two-week trip to Italy. We arrived at the hotel right from the Malpensa airport before Noon, but they were able to get us in our room early and allow us to relax in this beautiful hotel overlooking Lake Como. I highly recommend a room facing the lake and the very cool floating pool.

Tremezzo is centrally located so it's easy to get to Bellagio (10 min walk plus 10 min boat ride) or anywhere else on the lake. Every person working at the hotel was extremely nice and helpful. Relaxing by the floating pool or having a glass of wine by the lake were great experiences.

We also took a three-hour boat tour of Lake Como on the hotel's private boat the Ruy. This was one of the highlights of our trip as we enjoyed the incredible views and the Captain showed us many of the villas of the rich and famous (Clooney, Branson, Versace, etc.)

The room by itself is only 4-star, but still nice. The king-size bed was comfortable and the room very clean with decent wi-fi, it was just an older hotel with nothing exceptional about the room. However, when you factor in the view of Lake Como, the nice and helpful staff, and the private boat, it was certainly a 5-star experience. I researched hotels on Lake Como extensively before selecting this hotel and we were not disappointed.

If you are looking for a nice place to relax and enjoy scenic views, Lake Como is definitely worth the visit.

Room Tip: Lake view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atlanta-RickR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Pines, CO
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

This was a terrific find on our trip through Italy. Tremezzo is about 1/2 way up the Lake and is across from Bellagio. Great location, right on the lake and the ferry is 2 mins walking. You can take the ferry to many of the lake towns, including Bellagio, Como, Menggio and Vernna, to name a few. The dinning room at the Grand Tremezzo overlooks the lake and the service, food and wine list were excellent. Breakfast is included in the room rate and was a complete buffet with hot cooking stations, such as an omelet bar, fresh juices, an assortment of homemade bakery items, complete with a variety of honey. Every morning, we woke up to a spectacular view of the lake with the Swiss Alps in the background; truly memorable.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room, truly specatular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No. California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Fourteen day trip to Italy and only two days in Lake Como. Shame on you Travel Agent. Should have been here at least four days. So restful and peaceful. Not only a beautiful hotel structure but extremely well run. We operate a hotel and know what it takes to make everything perfect. From Marco who greets you to Sophie at the reception to Rodolfo the Restaurant Manager all, I mean all the staff were perfect in every sense. The restaurant breakfast was extremely well presented, lots of selections and well served. We had dinner one night and Rodolfo took wonderful care of us. Great dinner and wine list. The dining rooms staff in their black jackets for dinner and white for breakfast were so graceful, of course as was all the staff. If I were writing a book on the top ten hotels in the world this would be one of them. The views of the lake are spectular and Lake Como itself and the entire area is worth seeing if you are going to Italy. If you haven't seen Grand Hotel Tremezzo and/or Lake Como you have not seen a part of Italy which is a "must see".

Room Tip: Lake view rooms, but even if Lake Rooms were booked, I woud stay here as all the public areas have s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortNo_California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We booked a garden view bedroom for 4 nights and when we arrived we had been upgraded to a premium garden view room. Sadly the weather was not on our side so we did not get to experience the outdoor areas so we just have to return next year. Any excuse!

From the minute we drove up in our car and pulled off the road outside the hotel the porter was there ready to park our car. The service from everybody we came in contact with was impeccable and this is another reason we want to return.

The décor of the Grand Hotel was beautiful and the ambience made for a very relaxing stay.

As the weather was not on our side we used the inside spa area with pool so we spent a relaxing few hours.

During our stay we enjoyed an evening at the Wine bar and enjoyed cooking our own barbeque food on a hot plate in the middle of the table. Once again the Sommelier and team were very friendly and very attentive making it for an enjoyable evening.

The bar and adjoining seating area where we began and finished our evenings had a drinks menu of many pages so I’m sure all needs would be fulfilled on the drinks requirements. Once again the staff were professional but still the friendliest of people.

We had no complaint about our room and it was lovely to enjoy the view of the beautiful gardens and surroundings.

Breakfast was included in our room rate and the buffet choice excellent.

We did not see much of the surrounding area but did take a 10-minute ride by ferry over to Bellagio. The ferry collection and drop off point was a very short stroll from the hotel.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pompeyminime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawthorn Woods, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel is fabulous! The location is great to explore Lake Como which is stunning. Overall, we found the service, dinner at the restaurant, and cocktail lounge to be outstanding. This was the last stop of a couple of weeks in Italy and it was clearly the top. Complimenting the view across the lake, the piano player in the cocktail lounge made the late night drink very enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

The Grand Hotel Tremezzo Palace is kind of like an upmarket English sea-side hotel - huge, sweeping public areas, lots of crystal chandeliers, high, high ceilings and a certain sense of charm and elegance which is hard to manufacture. They're tried hard to funk it up: brightly coloured furniture makes a statement from the lobby in resplendent greens, oranges and purples; the suite we had had a Loewe media system (more in a minute on that) and there's a sense of an old lady trying to embrace modernity which is not without success.

Criticisms? It's very expensive. The media system is so high end and complex is needed a technician in our room each of the three nights we were there (and on the third, even he couldn't work it). He told us he had taken a one-month course to learn how to operate it. But that's about it.

The Grand Hotel Tremezzo Palace is not slick and it's not perfect. But we enjoyed every minute of it, absorbed its unrivalled charm, revelled in its efforts and applauded its staff for being wonderfully engaging, helpful and kind. What more could you want?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r777rms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremezzina
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.6 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Villa d'Este
Villa d'Este
#1 of 7 in Cernobbio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
10.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Tremezzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tremezzo

Property: Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Address: Via Regina 8, 22016 Tremezzina, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Tremezzo 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be part of the next century of Lake Como tradition and take in the stunning lake views at the iconic Grand Hotel Tremezzo. This art nouveau landmark, which sits adjacent to Villa Carlotta's famed gardens, just marked its 100th anniversary. In celebration, it joined forces with Maestro Gualtiero Marchesi, an icon of the Italian culinary world; taste his haute cuisine on La Terrazza's lovely terrace or in one of its 5 upscale dining venues. Its unique lakeside positioning offers unparalleled views of Bellagio, the Riviera delle Azalee and the stunning Grigne mountains. With its 100 windows overlooking either the blue waters of the lake or the flowering greenery of the garden, the hotel offers 76 elegant rooms and 12 splendid suites. Don't miss to experience the ultra-luxe new Rooftop Suites with panoramic views from terraces and outdoor Jacuzzis - A "must stay" in Lake Como. Other delectable delights: the luxurious and panoramic T Spa, offering exclusive ESPA treatments, the super private T Spa Suite, three pools - including one that floats on the lake! - And a private beach, private tours in the hotel's period Venetian motor launch, and over 5 acres of lush secular park incorporating a panoramic path, a floodlit clay tennis court, fitness and sauna. Other signature features conjure up to the unique appeal of this family-owned property, benefiting of a strategic location that blends exclusivity and proximity: Milan with its boutiques and nightlife is only 1-hour driving distance. Boasting over a century of ageless allure and traditions, the Grand Hotel Tremezzo is today a vintage symbol of Italian hospitality and a place-to-be to enjoy the flavor of real vacation. Discover a world of temptations and the unique atmosphere you'll only find at Tremezzo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Tremezzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tremezzo Palace
Grand Hotel Tremezzo Tremezzina, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing