We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We splashed out on a drink in the bar and weren't dissappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We splashed out on a drink in the bar and weren't dissappointed”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Ok so we couldn't afford to stay here but when we passed by on foot wandering around the lake I resolved to save £20 to go for one spectacular drink in the hotel bar on my last night. Lipstick on and heels strapped up we entered the hotel lift which was shiny and mirrored, before emerging into the most beautiful lobby, filled with roses and candles. We had the bar almost to ourselves, looking out across the glittering lake. We were serenaded by a live pianist, and served by an immaculate, white coated brass buttoned waiter, who totally got it and treated us like royalty - a little taste of the good life for the length of time taken to sip a martini. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hanaxxbanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    871
    135
    26
    10
    4
See reviews for
165
670
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our family of four stayed at this hotel for four nights and had a great time. Highlights for us were the breakfast overlooking the lake (pick your time though as it gets very crowded and some guests can be rude), the boat ride around the lake organised by the hotel and time spent in their two main pools. We tried room service for dinner once and found it a bit underwhelming so went out to local restaurants after that and were very happy with all three we tried. There is plenty to see and do in the vicinity of the hotel, with our kids liking the train ride that takes you along the lake. We caught the ferry to Bellagio and other stops and enjoyed that. Pizzas and drinks near the pool were most enjoyable one afternoon and the supply of sweets in the hallway was a big hit with our kids. Our last night was spoilt a little by fireworks that went off, I think in conjunction with a wedding function at the hotel. We arranged transfers to/from Milan airport via the hotel and in hindsight think we would arrange these ourselves, they were expensive and on our return trip the driver pretty much left our luggage in the middle of the road and drove off (must not have tipped him enough). I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to spoil themselves for a few nights on the shores of Lake Como, you certainly have great views of the lake.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharltonSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We spent four nights at this fine hotel. All aspects as good as it gets, and while it was pricey, it was still about half the price of Villa D'Este and surely way more than half as good. Our room faced the Lake. It was large and modern and had comfortable firniture. The balcony was accessible and a pleasure to sit out on. Breakfast included and it was fantastic. Workout facility was good and looked over the lake too. Staff was extremely friendly, and the access to the ferry made a trip to Bellagio an easy one. We also took the little train up and down the highway about four miles each direction for less than 10 euros - a real bargain. Restaurants near the hotel seemed to all have the same menu, but the staff at the ones we went to could not have been nicer and the food was great too. Overall wonderful experience at the Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for four nights at the end of April and from the moment of arrival were made
so welcome. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful and the physical location of the hotel was stunning, with amazing views from our room. We had dinner one night at the fondue restaurant in the downstairs part of the hotel, but unfortunately that was not a great experience!.. The waiter was not particularly friendly or helpful and the food was well below the standard of the rest of the hotel. So I would not eating at that particular restaurant, but would definitely go back to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woof54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had first seen this hotel from the lake a few years previously, and were keen to stay if the opportunity arose. April saw us arrive with much anticipation and excitement! The Grand Hotel Tremezzo is indeed a special place. The views are spectacular, the staff exemplorary, and the meals very good. We had a corner suite, which was very pretty and roomy, with a beautiful bed and an enormous and beautiful bathroom. There were however 3 issues with our room worth mentioning to others; the floorboards are incredibly noisy (as others have noted - I thought they were being ridiculous until we stayed here ourselves) and the noise from the piano bar directly underneath us drove us mad every evening from 6pm until about 11pm. Also, the traffic noise from the lake-side road in front of the hotel was really noticeable, and must be much worse in the busy summer months. While we did enjoy ourselves very much, and we certainly are glad that we chose to stay here, we would probably chose a different hotel if we are lucky enough to come by this gorgeous part of the world again.

Room Tip: The front rooms all have superb lake views but be warned they get a lot of traffic noise. The rear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scorpioprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

From start to finish - perfection.
Bags taken from us as soon as we pulled up. This stay was a short one night to finish our travelling in Italy. Complimentary champagne in our room for my partners birthday, great service at check in. Its the little touches that make the wow, the gardens out back with the panoramic views. The spa, the sweet shop in the lobby and breakfast wow what a treat. Every breakfast food, drink, sauce you can think of beautifully presented with the highest quality.
Saving up for our next visit already! Oh and also an evening refresher of water and sweet treats - again complimentary.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandJaccount R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, MD
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We arrived in Italy on 5th, May to celebrate our 30th anniversary. The itinerary was: Roma, Napoli/Pompeii/Vesuvius, Sorrento, Positano/Capri, Firenze/Pisa, Venezia and finally... Tremezzo- (cue the angels singing). The touring part of the trip was amazing- but before we departed, I knew we would need some R&R... So I searched for a place to relax-- This hotel is... almost indescribable... beautiful, stunning--- the views are to die for-- the staff is incredibly helpful & kind-- the ambience in the public areas is old world & relaxing. We had a wonderful room with a balcony facing the lake with extraordinary views. Everything was immaculate & really perfect- except for the fact that there is that roadway directly in front of the hotel- and even though we were there at the beginning of 'high season'-- it was noisy--- it must be a thrill to drive motorcycles & noisy sports cars (Italian or otherwise) along the lakefront road, but it is incredibly noisy & distracting when you hear them from the balcony of your luxurious hotel while you are attempting to relax & enjoy the amazing view. I can only imagine what it is like during the height of 'high season'.-- That said- it did quiet down at night, so we slept very well- and- we arrived on a Saturday-- by Monday, the noise was significantly diminished.- Still--my suggestion would be to forego the room with the lakefront view- opt for a garden/pool view and enjoy the lake scenery & views while having breakfast or pre-dinner drinks and savor the tranquility of being away from the main road!!!-- Definitely follow the trail beyond the pool & tennis courts- you will find memorable views at the top, as well as a friendly teddy bear. --Breakfast offerings cover all bases from made to order omelets to gluten free options. The bar is full service with minimal (crisps, olives, pistachios, etc) Hors d'oeuvres during 'happy hour' (NO free drinks)- but again, the view-- it is to die for. My husband is a Gold's gym rat & kind of went through a bit of withdrawal during this trip- he 'made do' with the facilities available here-- he was the only person in the 'gym' every time he was there- but we walked (A LOT) & the machines were in good working condition- (just not too many free weights). All in all-- an amazing end to our 30th anniversary Italian adventure and we would absolutely choose to stay again!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremezzina
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
826 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Villa d'Este
Villa d'Este
#1 of 7 in Cernobbio
1,279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
800 reviews
10.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Tremezzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tremezzo

Property: Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Address: Via Regina 8, 22016 Tremezzina, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Tremezzo 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be part of the next century of Lake Como tradition and take in the stunning lake views at the iconic Grand Hotel Tremezzo. This art nouveau landmark, which sits adjacent to Villa Carlotta's famed gardens, just marked its 100th anniversary. In celebration, it joined forces with Maestro Gualtiero Marchesi, an icon of the Italian culinary world; taste his haute cuisine on La Terrazza's lovely terrace or in one of its 5 upscale dining venues. Its unique lakeside positioning offers unparalleled views of Bellagio, the Riviera delle Azalee and the stunning Grigne mountains. With its 100 windows overlooking either the blue waters of the lake or the flowering greenery of the garden, the hotel offers 76 elegant rooms and 12 splendid suites. Don't miss to experience the ultra-luxe new Rooftop Suites with panoramic views from terraces and outdoor Jacuzzis - A "must stay" in Lake Como. Other delectable delights: the luxurious and panoramic T Spa, offering exclusive ESPA treatments, the super private T Spa Suite, three pools - including one that floats on the lake! - And a private beach, private tours in the hotel's period Venetian motor launch, and over 5 acres of lush secular park incorporating a panoramic path, a floodlit clay tennis court, fitness and sauna. Other signature features conjure up to the unique appeal of this family-owned property, benefiting of a strategic location that blends exclusivity and proximity: Milan with its boutiques and nightlife is only 1-hour driving distance. Boasting over a century of ageless allure and traditions, the Grand Hotel Tremezzo is today a vintage symbol of Italian hospitality and a place-to-be to enjoy the flavor of real vacation. Discover a world of temptations and the unique atmosphere you'll only find at Tremezzo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Priceline, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Tremezzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tremezzo Palace
Grand Hotel Tremezzo Tremezzina, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing