We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing stay in this beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very relaxing stay in this beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had a great stay here in June for 3 nights for vacation. We had previously been to Bormio where we went cycling for 3 days and were looking for some down time to relax and recover. When we pulled up, an eager employee of the hotel was ready to greet us, take our car, and our bags. The greeting and enthusiasm at check in was sub-par, as it seemed they really did not care are seem happy to see us. Maybe we come off looking like mean people and don't know it? Hey, maybe it was us? I don't know, but either way the hotel should overlook that, as we are nice people and not a bunch of snobs. We checked into our rooms and we were quite pleased with the size of our room and the view out the garden. The grounds of this hotel are top notch and it feels like a sanctuary! Very well maintained and we could not find anything wrong with the landscaping. Our favorite areas of the hotel were the pools. The floating pool on the lake is spectacular, as is the setting of the garden pool surrounded by jasmine and singing birds.

We liked the location of the hotel for catching the ferry to Bellagio and there are decent restaurants to walk to. However, outside of Bellagio, there isn't a decent gelateria nearby, but that's not the hotel's fault.

The service and food at dinner and breakfast were fantastic. One server in particular, Luigi, was quite friendly and seemed to be the most passionate about his job. He made our stay that much more enjoyable and memorable.

One downside I found is the beds were a little too firm for me. The beds felt a bit dated...

Again, the setting and beauty of Lake Como are fantastic. We found ourselves relaxed and forgetting what day of the week it was immediately after check in. Thank you!

Room Tip: Don't get worked up over a view of the lake - the garden views are very nice also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waterman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    131
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
157
657
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had a wonderful stay here in May.

Great location; with terraces looking out towards Bellagio, and only 2 minutes from the Villa Carlotta ferry pier (and Villa Carlotta). The hotel has a couple of restaurants for dinner, but there are also options within 5 minutes walking distance.

The room was a good size; over-looking the lake, very comfortable bed, and quiet and peaceful in the evenings.

Service was excellent through-out the hotel, and we still miss the early evening Aperols on the terrace. It does all add up to a hefty bill though.

Be warned; you may feel like you’re in a Wes Anderson movie…

Room Tip: Being as you're there ... you may as well face the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GilbertoAndJorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pa.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is a true world-class resort with stunning views out of the balcony rooms and public spaces. The staff was exceptionally attentive and friendly. The ferry boats to other lake towns like Bellagio and Varenna stop right next to the hotel. There are decent restaurants within walking distance along the lake and Villa Carlotta is right next door. If breakfast is included in your rate be prepared to eat well first thing in the morning.

Room Tip: Balconies are very small, but balcony rooms have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWellingtonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had the reception following my daughter's wedding here. It was breathtaking and the staff at the Grand Hotel Tremezzo made the event feel both special and personal. There was great attention to detail and everything was done to perfection throughout the whole day. The food was delicious, service exemplary and our 94 quests were thrilled with the whole event. I need to give a special mention to Dario who ran the restaurant impeccably and constantly ensured the flow of service was perfect, and Alberto (events manager) who did such an an amazing job. What a brilliant happy day at a perfect location with the views over Lake Como a with Bellagio and the Alps in the distance were so beautiful. All in all an impressive, stylish hotel and a completely wonderful wedding venue.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gateslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I don't understand why this Hotel is listed as number 3 in Temezzo.
It's got to be number 1. It's beautiful inside and out. The staff is great, the room we stayed in has recently been refurbished. The restaurants, while expensive are great.
We stayed 6 nights, could have stayed a month.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Lunch at the floating poolside. Tremendous. We were not guests but dropped in for a rice salad with shrimp and caprese on the way to Villa Carlotta. Staff were friendly attentive and wonderful. Food was delicious. I want to stay here next time. It is beautiful and Greta Garbo mentioned it several times in the movie Grand Hotel. Right next to V. Carlotta. Do not miss that either.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We recently stayed in the Grand Hotel Tremezzo for three nights, and were delighted with our choice. We were traveling with our 5 year old son, and it was the perfect place for our entire family. The hotel service was top notch, from organization sightseeing on a boat, to setting up wakeboarding, to finding us a perfect restaurant for our anniversary. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and updated. The facilities at the hotel (pools, tennis court, walking path up a hill to a spectacular view from a bench) kept us moving and having fun. Breakfast was included in our room rate, and was wonderful each and every morning. So much variety, and very high quality. We ate so much at breakfast that we didn't really need lunch, and instead usually enjoyed a late afternoon pizza by the pool that was also delicious. The hotel even keeps glass jars filled with various candy by the stairs up to the rooms, which is a nice touch. Honestly there was nothing that we found remotely disappointing about the experience, and we're already trying to figure out when we can go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanAmTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremezzina
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
815 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Villa d'Este
Villa d'Este
#1 of 7 in Cernobbio
1,253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
792 reviews
10.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Tremezzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tremezzo

Property: Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Address: Via Regina 8, 22016 Tremezzina, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Tremezzo 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be part of the next century of Lake Como tradition and take in the stunning lake views at the iconic Grand Hotel Tremezzo. This art nouveau landmark, which sits adjacent to Villa Carlotta's famed gardens, just marked its 100th anniversary. In celebration, it joined forces with Maestro Gualtiero Marchesi, an icon of the Italian culinary world; taste his haute cuisine on La Terrazza's lovely terrace or in one of its 5 upscale dining venues. Its unique lakeside positioning offers unparalleled views of Bellagio, the Riviera delle Azalee and the stunning Grigne mountains. With its 100 windows overlooking either the blue waters of the lake or the flowering greenery of the garden, the hotel offers 76 elegant rooms and 12 splendid suites. Don't miss to experience the ultra-luxe new Rooftop Suites with panoramic views from terraces and outdoor Jacuzzis - A "must stay" in Lake Como. Other delectable delights: the luxurious and panoramic T Spa, offering exclusive ESPA treatments, the super private T Spa Suite, three pools - including one that floats on the lake! - And a private beach, private tours in the hotel's period Venetian motor launch, and over 5 acres of lush secular park incorporating a panoramic path, a floodlit clay tennis court, fitness and sauna. Other signature features conjure up to the unique appeal of this family-owned property, benefiting of a strategic location that blends exclusivity and proximity: Milan with its boutiques and nightlife is only 1-hour driving distance. Boasting over a century of ageless allure and traditions, the Grand Hotel Tremezzo is today a vintage symbol of Italian hospitality and a place-to-be to enjoy the flavor of real vacation. Discover a world of temptations and the unique atmosphere you'll only find at Tremezzo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Tremezzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tremezzo Palace
Grand Hotel Tremezzo Tremezzina, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing