We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty on The Lake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Certificate of Excellence
banner elk nc
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beauty on The Lake”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed in front and corner suites for 10 days. The accomodations were lovely, contemporary
spaces with hot tubs on the private roof top terraces.
Nice bathrooms and plenty of closet space.
We enjoyed the fine dining in La Terrazza overlooking the lake. We were not impressed
with L'Escale Restaurant. Heavy fondue is not appealilng at a summer lake resort.
The pizzeria by the garden pool was nice. We especially liked the Beach Club and
bar/restaurant on the lakefront.
All of the hotel staff were friendly and helpful, especially the rooftop concierges.
We had a wonderful stay and will make a return visit.

Room Tip: The rooftop corner suites a better value than rooftop front suites. The terrace is not as large, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francescaBannerElkNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    131
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
157
654
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

It was one of our best hotels in our life! The location, the service and all the facilities were excellent! Our special private celebration evening with the private waiter "Misi" was wonderful and delicious.
I recommend to everybody

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solicitor2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Pictures and ratings will not do justice to this Heaven in Lake Como.
It is a well round property from impeccable service to comfort and luxury, each dining venue is an experience that should not be missed, cuisine is simply divine.
The hotel has the perfect location on the Lake with a Beach Club that gives you the feeling of being in the coolest place!
The rooms are tastefully decorated and the views are just spectacular.
I will go back in a heartbeat...

Room Tip: definitely Lake View room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiriamO59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The hotel felt like a dream elegantly perched on Lake Como. The grand facade of the building is wonderfully matched by the charming boutique style of the interior and exterior grounds. It has everything we were looking for as a couple on our honeymoon from the quiet beach/pools, tennis courts with an incredible backdrop and a relaxing spa, we truly enjoyed all of the amenities. Each morning the stunning view from our room balcony was priceless as we could gaze at the town of Bellagio and private villas across the water. That beauty was amplified during breakfast when the formal dinning area served a wonderful grand buffet overlooking the water. Impeccably dressed waiters, an abundance of every type of fresh juice, jam, and pastries you could imagine and all the time in the world to enjoy your cappuccino. We did not eat at the hotel during other meals so I cannot comment on the restaurants. We randomly selected spots as we walked around the towns. I regret not asking for or receiving a restaurant recommendation list from the concierge as we found dinners to be mediocre.
Our afternoons were spent on the well-manicured beach and suspended pool delightfully gliding in the Lake. We moved to the Flowers Pool in the late afternoon taking in the glorious gardens. The location of this hotel also allows you to take a quick boat ride to explore other charming towns. While the major city of Como was over an hour away, it offered great shopping and a change of pace one afternoon.
Last July, The Grand Hotel Tremezzo was the perfect honeymoon destination, charming inside and breathtaking outside on the one and only Lago di Como.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Arrived at the hotel and from the beginning the service was outstanding. We had a rooftop room with a jacuzzi, the room was unbelievable. The food in the a la carte restaurant was not very good. The starter was cold and did not have a lot of taste. My husband had lobster to start and that was also cold. We asked for a specific wine which they serve, but took them 20 mins to decide to tell us that they do not have any left. So we were sat there without a drink and cold starters. The main course, I had rack of lamb, very average, I think I can cook a better one at home. The food was overpriced and very bland. My husband did complain, could not understand how they can charge such prices for terrible food. So we looked outside the hotel for restaurants in Tremezzo. We booked La Darsena which is a short walk but it was pouring with rain so the hotel called us their own taxi service. Very expensive 10 euros for a very short ride. We also dined at Al Veluu which is not far from the hotel. The view is to die for. Very nice couple that run the restaurant, the husband is from Italy and the wife is from Walthamstow. The food was good, I had the pasta and my husband had steak. I do feel that staying in Lake Como the food is designed for tourists. Would of loved to have home made pasta but unfortunately could not find or be recommended anywhere. The hotel itself had lovely staff, very kind and attentive. Loved the pool on top of the lake. Just laid there and looked at the beautiful scenery. Behind the hotel there is another pool which is very well kept with a bar. If your lucky enough to have the roof top corner suite with your very own outside jacuzzi, you will not be disappointed. The view is breathtaking especially when you are sitting in the jacuzzi with a glass of champers. Overall the hotel is a good 5 star hotel. The only thing that let it down was the food.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johassan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel is stunning. Beautifully maintained with fantastic gardens, and the views of the lake are spectacular. We stayed in one of the corner junior suite rooms that offered lakefront views. The marble in the bathroom was gorgeous. The only negative with regard to the rooms, because of the charm of the hardwood floors, and given the age of the hotel, you can hear every creek when guests in rooms above and adjacent are moving around. The spa treatments were very relaxing and very qualified and courteous staff. The breakfast each morning was fresh, provided a variety of options for every taste and the staff was extremely attentive. Meanwhile the food at the "beach" was mediocre at best. We erroneously went to grab a pizza at the pool, only to discover it was a price fixe menu at 45 Euro per person for pizza, a few pieces of barbequed assorted meats and dessert of fruit that wasn't even ripe. The staff here seemed less well trained than in the main restaurant. I had to ask for a glass of wine 3 times before it was delivered. My daughter requested a hot chocolate, which they claimed they couldn't provide (meanwhile, all they had to do was go down a flight of steps to the bar area and get it). For the price, the food and service at the beach and pool were disappointing. As a result, we didn't attempt the fine dining restaurant and instead opted for hopping on the ferry and found some great restaurants across the lake in Bellagio

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor so you aren't awakened in the middle of the night by creaking fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kcady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I stayed here on my honeymoon and I was very impressed with the grandeur of the hotel. The property was impeccably maintained, gorgeous gardens and pools. The views from our balcony of Lake Como were breathtaking. Many restaurants on site, no need to leave the resort if you don’t want to. I especially liked the wooden boat ride with a private tour of the lake, while enjoying a bottle of wine and the views. Good location in proximity to Bellagio for taking the ferry/water taxi. Also a short ride to Lugano, Switzerland that offers high end shopping, the hotel arranged for a car for us to be taken around the area for the day. The staff was very nice and helpful, but compared to the other 3 hotels I stayed at in Italy, the language barrier was more prevalent here with fewer members of the staff able to speak English.
Overall, this was one of my favorite places to stay while in Europe and I would definitely come back again. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coxbergeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremezzina
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
812 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Villa d'Este
Villa d'Este
#1 of 7 in Cernobbio
1,250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
792 reviews
10.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Tremezzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tremezzo

Property: Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Address: Via Regina 8, 22016 Tremezzina, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Tremezzo 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be part of the next century of Lake Como tradition and take in the stunning lake views at the iconic Grand Hotel Tremezzo. This art nouveau landmark, which sits adjacent to Villa Carlotta's famed gardens, just marked its 100th anniversary. In celebration, it joined forces with Maestro Gualtiero Marchesi, an icon of the Italian culinary world; taste his haute cuisine on La Terrazza's lovely terrace or in one of its 5 upscale dining venues. Its unique lakeside positioning offers unparalleled views of Bellagio, the Riviera delle Azalee and the stunning Grigne mountains. With its 100 windows overlooking either the blue waters of the lake or the flowering greenery of the garden, the hotel offers 76 elegant rooms and 12 splendid suites. Don't miss to experience the ultra-luxe new Rooftop Suites with panoramic views from terraces and outdoor Jacuzzis - A "must stay" in Lake Como. Other delectable delights: the luxurious and panoramic T Spa, offering exclusive ESPA treatments, the super private T Spa Suite, three pools - including one that floats on the lake! - And a private beach, private tours in the hotel's period Venetian motor launch, and over 5 acres of lush secular park incorporating a panoramic path, a floodlit clay tennis court, fitness and sauna. Other signature features conjure up to the unique appeal of this family-owned property, benefiting of a strategic location that blends exclusivity and proximity: Milan with its boutiques and nightlife is only 1-hour driving distance. Boasting over a century of ageless allure and traditions, the Grand Hotel Tremezzo is today a vintage symbol of Italian hospitality and a place-to-be to enjoy the flavor of real vacation. Discover a world of temptations and the unique atmosphere you'll only find at Tremezzo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Tremezzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tremezzo Palace
Grand Hotel Tremezzo Tremezzina, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing