We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Bazzoni et du Lac
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel La Darsena(Tremezzina)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rusall(Tremezzina)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Marie(Tremezzina)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia(Cadenabbia di Griante)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa La Mirabella(Cadenabbia di Griante)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Edy(Tremezzina)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Perla(Tremezzina)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lario Hotel(Mezzegra)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior(Cadenabbia di Griante)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (655)
Filter reviews
656 results
Traveller rating
118
252
153
72
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
252
153
72
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspacked lunchtravel departmentbooked through inghamsbuffet stylelake comoenjoyable holidayhand towelsshop next doorhalf boardbus stoplocal drinksmain coursea bit tiredfresh towels every daychanged dailypasta dishesdotto train
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
425 - 430 of 656 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Last minute holiday, we love Italy for its scenery & food. Arrived late at night so first view of the lake from balcony next morning was superb, we were in a party from Bristol with lots of Irish & Scottish holiday makers in hotel. Our room was good size, comfortable bed, busy road in front was not too noisy. Self service breakfast was good for quantity but a bit pedestrian, dinner also self service had more choice, but repeated each night - the desserts however were excellent.
Staff were pleasant & helpfull, but nothing to do in hotel each evening luckily the Irish holiday makers we quite happy to have a sing song on several evenings & there were several good wine bars near to hotel. Our tour had included excursions, however the ferry stopped 30 metres from hotel & the bus stop was next to hotel so it was easy to explore. Each lakeside destination was virtually a village so a comfortable pair of shoes to cope with the cobbled streets were essential. Fabulous to have snow on the peaks of surrounding mountains.
We enjoyed are break on Lake Como, the hotel suited us well, the upgrade for a Balcony & Lake view proved a winner. Understand the hotel is being refurbished during winter

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WalesWelshsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

nice quite area around hotel. reception staff not the friendliest except for the gent with the beard who we think was the manager, he was quite polite. had to climb about 10 steps to get to the lift wit heavy suitcases. saw elderly people strugling with no help, room good bathroom excellent looked like it had recently been upgraded ,the only downside was there was no air conditioning which was hell at night , we had a fan which was better than nothing, also had a lakeview which was breath taking....certainly had the wow factor. food ok but choice limited , orange juice at breakfast watery.no tea or coffee after dinner had to order this from the bar. found a little cafe run by an english lady with great english tea called the victoria 15 mins down the road near the sister hotel grand cadenabbia which was certainly grand -hard to believe they were related ! swimmimg pool accessed by fire exit down stairs then up steps to pool which was awkard to get at as 3/4 of pool surrounded by thick plastic/ glass pannels around thd edges for safety as pool was elevated , only a handful of sunbeds around pool small elevated garden not well kept very disapointing overall a real let down. our 3 previous visits to other parts of italy have been great experiences with great hotels and even better gardens ..dining room staff unfriendly .

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank brantheman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

We were quite concerned after reading all the negativity but we found the staff helpful and friendly. Although their English was excellent they were happy to indulge me in Italian conversation depite the fact that their English is far better than my very basic Italian. I am a vegetarian and my husband a carnivore but we both found plenty to choose from and everything we had was very enjoyable and well cooked. Yes the veg was cold but it was meant to be - it was with the salads. The desserts were lovely - usually a choice of 16 ranging from fresh fruit to cakes and blancmanges. The rooms weren't the largest but we had everything we needed and although the cleaners were very speedy they did a good job. The noise was only due to the traffic as the hotel was on the main road around the lake - this would have been the case in almost all the hotels in that area as there is basically just the main road which has the vast majority of tourist buildings. All in all we were very happy with the quality of the hotel and its facilities bearing in mind it is a three star in an expensive area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chrisaskew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We had a lovely holiday at the Bazzoni. I have read some of the reviews and I am astonished at some of the negative comments. The hotel offers very good value for money in an expensive area. The food is good and even our picky teenage son could find something to enjoy at every meal. We have stayed at several hotels in Italy and they have all been at least 4 star establishments. We found the Bazzoni's breakfast to be the best we have ever eaten in Italy and the Bazzoni is a 3 star establishment. The evening buffets offer lots of choice. The vegetables are meant to be cold; that's why they are served with the salad selection. If people want chips they should go to McDonalds in Como! The rooms were clean and we got fresh towels every day. Our rooms overlooked the lake and the view was spectacular. The pool was clean and never too crowded. It isn't large, but my daughter is a swimming champion and she found it big enough. The staff were unfailingly good natured, helpful and efficient. Nothing was too much trouble, despite the fact that they were all working flat out as we travelled in the peak season. Bazzoni was very well-situated for the buses and ferries and we were not disturbed by the noise from the ferries at all. Lake Como is beautiful and we would highly recommend the trip on the Bernina Express to St. Moritz. The train journey was amazing. The tour guides on all our trips were superb with totally fluent English. We liked Como and Bergamo too. Bellagio is lovely and we enjoyed hopping on and off the ferries around the lake. Take the 11 euro all-day option; it is worth it. We felt our last minute deal was superb value for money and would happily go back to the Bazzoni.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlisonCanterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

It always amazes me that people complain about the food - but what you are given is what the people eat. Food salad (plus tinned halved peaches in this case) has always been part of a continental breakfast - tinned at this 3* hotel, I've had fresh in a 5* hotel. The breakfast is self service and varied - croissant, bread, cheese/ham/salami, butter/jams, cereal/museli, fruit salad/peaches/prunes, various coffees/hot chocolate/fruit juices. Dinner is four courses - soup. salad selction (including fish/meat/vegetables) hot food consisting of meat/fish/pasta and varied potato dishes. A selection of desserts that are lovely - especially the tiramisu and the creme caramel - there are plates if you wish to try more in one hit - too tempting! Drinks:- of beer, fruit juice and wine can be bought (added onto you outgoing bill, you sign your order each night) Wine bottles come with your room number on and if you put the cork back in and ask them to save it, they will bring it out the next evening - but you must ask or they will presume you have discarded it. Hot drinks are taken away from the restaurant place (in the seated area downstairs - menus on the table).
The food is what you would expect from a 3* star hotel - it is plentiful and some of the casseroled meat is lovely - very tender. The vegetables are purposely served cold and placed with the salads.
The rooms are kept immaculate - very clean. We paid more a larger room and one with a terrace with sunbeds, table and chairs. It is still warm/hot in the night even with the door onto the terrace wide open - but the temperature was over 20c outside during the night.

With hills/mountains enveloping the lake, buildings are around the lake and there is just one road - next to all the hotels and houses, so if anyone does not like the sound of traffic, these hotels are not the place to be - unless of course you choose to pay for a 5* hotel which may have air conditioning, so you don't have to open the door at night.
We found all staff courteous and polite and very helpful tracking luggage (on the internet ) that did not arrive from Gatwick airport.
The best part of the holiday is the lake/scenery and surrounding area and we made the most of it, being in the hotel just to eat and sleep. This hotel seems to cater for this type of holiday as apart from the pool at the rear, it doesn't have any outside area/gardens where you can relax and read books.
All in all, a very reasonably priced and adequate hotel base to explore the lake and surrounding countryside and towns. Larger towns and cities are well within reach using boats/buses and trains.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christina53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews