We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Italian flair of Tremezzo”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Marie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Marie
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Certificate of Excellence
Bonheiden, Belgium
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The Italian flair of Tremezzo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2008

Let me first say that the owners, the young couple Andrea and Elizabetha are very friendly and helpfull hosts, always there to answer your questions and to help you with any problem. The Villa is situated next to a rather busy road but that might only give you a noise problem if you sleep in the summer months in the rooms frontside of the Villa, myself I slept in the independance they build next to the villa, these rooms are all with airconditioning and furnished in a modern style, if the windows are closed you can't hear a thing of the road noise I can guarentee you !! The view is spectacular, and you can overlook also the swimmingpool. Breakfast is served on the terrace which is under a glass roof so even if it's rainy but not to cold you can sit outside. The hotel also has an underground garage for 10-12 cars, this is nice as it keeps your car cool during the summer ! Further the hotel is only a few minutes walking to the village and the restaurants. Same thing for the boat embarkment, this is nice as you can leave your car at the hotel.
This was my first but certainly not the last visit to Villa Marie !! Arrividerci !

  • Liked — the friendly atmosphere, the pool, the airco in the new rooms, the location near the village
  • Disliked — the busy road in front of the hotel (daytime), no snacks for lunch.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank patrick-belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    93
    13
    0
    4
See reviews for
45
209
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2008

Having read a selection of Trip Advisor reviews on various hotels in region, we chose Villa Maria. It was a good choice. Room was air conditioned if you wanted .. beaut balcony looking across the lake .. spectacular .. lovely breakfast + bar area again with wonderful aspect to lake .. rooms were quiet , no road noise .. (this is a real benefit since there is a solitary road round the lake for all traffic and many hotels butt up against the road) .. nice pool area .. 5 minute walk to ferry wharf and from there you could access many lovely villages around the lake .. the proprietors are a young couple who have run the Villa for about 8 years .. very professional .. very warm .. alert to your needs .. people you simply like. I 'll go back for sure.

Minor points to improve .. not much .. pool is a little small .. they could try a different bread supplier at breakfast .. on balance, minor issues only.

  • Liked — The aperitifs!
  • Disliked — pool a bit small
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Disserning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2008

My wife ,daughter and myself stayed for a week recently. We had a really enjoyable week staying in room No 2 overlooking the lake. The room was of a high standard recently refurbished with a wonderful view from the balcony. The hosts Andrea and Elisabetta were very hospitable which added to the overall package. Location for us was ideal as it was reasonably close to the restaurants and ferry terminal and the walk along the lake,was in itself enjoyable, past the Hotel La Darsena ,which is close by, on the lake itself.
We checked out this hotel while we were there,but thought it not as good value as the Villa Marie,although it had a good restaurant-the service was a bit patronising and focused on the "regulars".
We found two very good restaurants, which were located high above the hotel and about 15 minutes walk up a steep hill,but well worth the effort for the panoramic view of Lake Como alone.
Al Veluu is a very good choice for a special event in this case our wedding anniversary. The other restaurant a little further on is La Fagurida , a typical traditional and memorable restaurant ,which serves local rabbit as a special dish which is well worth trying as is the hors d'oeuvres.
The Hotel Villa Marie was overall a good place to spend a week on Lake Como for the first time- with a pool bar and comfortable accommodation .We would definitely return another day to visit this special place.
The only minus is the main road along the lake which is the only access to and from the resort.

  • Liked — The room was very spacious and the overall standard of the hotel was very good, and it was in an ideal location.
  • Disliked — The doors were a bit old and difficult to lock.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesPirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NRW
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2008

Very nice and adequate rooms. Good value for money given the rather high priced hotels in Italy. We had a room w balcony facing the lake in the new building which had a fantastic view. Breakfast is okay but could be better. Family (very committed and friendly) run hotel. We would book it every time again.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank toapayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2008

What a wonderful place ! This is truely a hotel to enjoy and savour. We stayed on our honeymoon for ten days and loved every moment of our trip.

The owners from day one were friendly and helpful and always ready to make sure any needs were attended to. They have worked very hard to get the hotel as it is today and continue to work hard to ensure the standards are kept.

The room we had gave a fantastic view over the lake which was something to savour at any time of the day.

Well positioned for the town of Tremezzo, literally a ten minute stroll to the cafes/restaurants/bars and the ferry terminal. As a base for all that is around Lake Como we could think of nowhere better and will definitely go back in the future.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XRNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2008

I did not stay at the hotel...this only concerns my experience with them concerning a reservation and cancellation, so be warned before booking here.

I inquired on May 22 about reservations and specifically asked for their cancellation policy. Not until the reservation was finally confirmed on June 3 (9 days before arrival) in the same email I was advised that within 15 days the cancellation policy was one night's charge.

The weather forecast was for rain, so I called (and emailed) to cancel the day before I was due to arrive and was told they would charge me. I received an email the following day advising me of this, to which I replied that I felt their actions were not fair, given my request to know their policy was ignored.

I am now in a dispute with my bank over this charge.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank carouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2008

What a wonderful time we had at the Villa Marie! It is a beautiful example of luxury from the moment you enter the huge foyer. Wide staircases with marble walls and towering ceilings that are striking! The owners are a young couple who make you feel special and cater to your needs. Our room was very spacious and wonderfully comfortable - great beds, lovely linens, fabulous bathroom, and views to die for - and, blissfully quiet! Breakfast is ample and includes fresh rolls, yogurt, cereal, fresh fruit, cheese and ham all served with great coffee! There is a small, cozy bar as well. Tremezzo is a terrific town - well located to the ferries, and for driving. Don't miss dinner at Al Veluu. You can call them for info on how to get there - and once you arrive, be assured of a superb dinner and service - and a fabulous view!

The Hotel Villa Marie was indeed a terrific value for the price - that aside, we will return for the beauty, comfort and warmth of the splendid owners!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — no internet access
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seetheworld55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremezzina
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.0 mi away
Albergo Lenno
Albergo Lenno
#1 of 1 in Lenno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Marie

Property: Hotel Villa Marie
Address: Via Antica Regina 30, 22016 Tremezzina, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A nineteenth century villa in Tremezzo turned into a comfortable and charming family-run hotel, that offers warm drawing-rooms in liberty style with big windows and ancient frescoes, bedrooms with every comfort, garden with lake view swimming-pool, panoramic wi-fi terrace, bar, private parking and garage, boat-moorage on request. The Villa Marie is an delightful friendly hotel set in a enchanting schenary in the gulf of Venus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Villa Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marie Hotel Tremezzo
Hotel Villa Marie Tremezzina, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing