We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible hotel, poor service- avoid, avoid!!”
Review of Hotel Villa Marie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Marie
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“horrible hotel, poor service- avoid, avoid!!”
Reviewed 25 May 2009

We stayed at the Villa Marie after reading all the positive comments below and i must warn my fellow travellers to avoid this place! the "management" (a couple) is extremely unprofessional- any request for information about lake como (our first time there) was met with rolling eyes and curt replies. We were first put into a dank, musty room on the ground floor of the non-main building- it was so uncomfortable and dark that we requested another room in a nice manner- and after much huffing on their part, finally given another room. The street noise from the highway was significant for anyone looking for a quiet getaway. And beware of the midnight curfew- have never seen that policy outside of a youth hostel! The worst occurrence happened when we requested a taxi to another lake town that the wife of the manager told us (and quite abruptly) didn't have direct ferry service- when we found out from the information desk in town that there in fact was direct service, we went back to the hotel to cancel the taxi (much before the arranged pick up time). The wife of the manager started screaming at us and told us how dare we cancel the taxi and that it was "alot of trouble" for her to book one- i was there when she called the taxi service and it took all of 10 seconds to book the car. By that point, we had enough of the verbal abuse and checked out, although we had no other hotel room booked. We finally found another lovely hotel with managers who actually care about their guests. PLEASE avoid this place unless you want your holiday ruined!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank globetrekker21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    97
    13
    0
    4
See reviews for
46
216
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2008

We are a mature couple who spent one month touring Italy. It was our lucky day to find that a hotel that we knew was already booked and found the nearby Villa Marie with non-tour group rooms.
The location is beautiful, overlooking Lake Como with all that lovely vista has to offer. The main building, itself like a well kept private estate villa is lovely with it's high ceiling spacious rooms and painted ceilings in the public areas. The villa is vintage excellance. The annex, with 10 modern spacious, new, immaculate rooms with balconies is also above the usual find for a hotel in this class.
It is a short walk, but noisy because of traffic, walk to one of the best restaurants we found in Italy, La Darsena.
The Innkeepers, Andreas and Elizabeth, were cordial and charming as well as being very helpful with things of local interest.
It is a hotel that we would seek out on a return visit.
PMF

  • Liked — The warmth of Innkeepers and the ambiance
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CBOsprey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire/Staffordshire border
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2008

We stayed at the Villa Marie as part of our trip to watch the Cycling World Road Race Championships in Varese in September. The Hotel is on the main lake road which is quite busy but as we were in the original building in a side room, we were not troubled by traffic noise. The hotel provided free parking both outside and underground the hotel. The main villa could be described as having 'faded elegance' with a magnificent marble staircase and lots of frescoes on the ceilings.
The Hotel owners Andrea and Elisabetta, were helpful when asked, to provide directions and recommendations for things to do/see and Restaurants.
We had three nice meals when we were there, all very different in atmosphere and price but all good. We had a nice pizza at Al Timon on the main lake side of Tremezzo. Our favourite was La Fagurida in Rogaro, which served very typical food of the area (no pizza or pasta) up in the hills behind Tremezzo. The other one, also in Rogaro was Al Veluu, much more upmarket, with a mainly American clientele the night we went. It was our most expensive meal of our trip, but was very good for a treat. The other great place set back from the main restaurants in Tremezzo is Cantina Follie, for perhaps a pre dinner aperitif or a good bottle of wine.
Good links to the ferry over to Bellagio and close to Villa Carlotta, Villa Marie provides a good base for a stay on Como.

  • Liked — Good base to stay.
  • Disliked — No lift in main building which may cause difficulty for less mobile
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cyclist62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central England
Level Contributor
101 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2008

Great family run hotel, right on the lakeside and a pleasant escape from the bigger, package hotels up the road. Fantastic views, nice small pool area (a bonus) and a lovely terrace with bar for an evening drink.
We had one of the more modern rooms (in the annexe) which means you get air-con and good double glazing. The road is noisy but it's the same for every hotel along the lakeside, so closing the windows is the only escape.
The owners will recommend local restaurants if you want to avoid the pizza/pasta palours in Tremezzo.
My only criticism is the breakfast - orange juice from concentrate and long-life croissants is not really acceptable at these prices. But then, nowhere on Lake Como is cheap!

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papa-rupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysian
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights in Sept. Very nice hotel. The hotel was clean and well kept. Rooms are decent size. We stayed in a room which faced the garden and the view was still pretty. The hotel is a 50 min bus ride from the San Giovanni Como station. Just ask for the Bolvedro-Tremezzo stop. It's just a few min walk to the hotel. The owners, Andrea & Elisabeth are good hosts. We had a very early bus to catch on the morning of our departure and Andrea was accomodating enough to get breakfast started for us! They were also very helpful on activities in Como.

  • Liked — Hotel furnishings - traditional & comfortable
  • Disliked — Stairs
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryll27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2008

Hotel Villa Marie was a great hotel and the owners, a young couple were very helpful and friendly. Upon arrival at the hotel the owners took us straight to a lovely room, which was both clean, traditional and a good size. The hotel is about 500 meters walk from the centre of Tremezzo and sits on the edge of the lake. There is a very nice terrace area where breakfast is served and a veranda opposite the hotel where you can sit and relax. I would recommend staying at this hotel and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabadell, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Villa Marie for two nights and we had a really lovely time there. We had a huge room, beautiful in its old-fashioned charm, with a great view of the lake Como. The owners were really really nice, they made you feel a bit like you were staying with friends. There’s a wondeful terrace, not very big but really cozy, overlooking the lake where you can have breakfast or a beer or an espresso. There’s also a siwwming pool in the garden though the weather was not that hot when we were there, but still, it was nice.
I wouldn’t mind staying at the Villa Marie again.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blixen_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremezzina
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
792 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
815 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
3.7 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Marie

Property: Hotel Villa Marie
Address: Via Antica Regina 30, 22016 Tremezzina, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A nineteenth century villa in Tremezzo turned into a comfortable and charming family-run hotel, that offers warm drawing-rooms in liberty style with big windows and ancient frescoes, bedrooms with every comfort, garden with lake view swimming-pool, panoramic wi-fi terrace, bar, private parking and garage, boat-moorage on request. The Villa Marie is an delightful friendly hotel set in a enchanting schenary in the gulf of Venus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Villa Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marie Hotel Tremezzo
Hotel Villa Marie Tremezzina, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing