We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value for money hotel with excellent amenities”
Review of Hotel Villa Marie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Marie
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2009

We stayed for 3 nights at the Villa Marie and wished we had stayed there longer. We had a room in the new annexe which was spacious and had a lovely view over the lake.
The service we had was faultless. The hotel owners were very friendly. The pool area was well kept. The breakfast was good, though it would have been nice to have some more choice of fresh bread.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidayfanatic50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2009

We have just returned from the Villa Marie a few weeks ago after a six night stay, and are planning to return there again in the near future. The hotel is situated within a flat 10 minute walk to the restaurants and ferry terminal in Tremezzo. We stayed in a room in the new annexe with a balcony and a Lake View. The rooms were a nice size and were spotlessley clean.If you are looking for a large hotel with all the facilities then then this is not the place for you. However if you looking for a small hotel within easy walking distance of Tremezzo and the local ferries which is welcoming, clean and friendley then you could ask for no better.
There is a small swimming pool and sun-bathing area in the gardens which we used at sometime on most days. The views from the rooms were very good, and like most hotels in the lakes has a road running in front of it, however the noise is not that bad if you want a hotel that has lake views and is not noisey then your choice is limited.
There are a number of restaurants within walking distance , we tried the La Dersana which was very good but a little bit pricey. We found a first class Taverna up in the hills just behind Tremezzo i can not remember its name but it was very close to the Hotel La Perla
We will be coming back to Lake Como again in the near future and will have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAPTAINBUDHELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

We stayed for five nights at the Villa Marie and had a fantastic time. The whole place is spotless and beautifully presented by owners who are friendly, work very hard and really care about their guests. The original building has great charm and the new annex has modern rooms with air conditioning which we opted for over old world charm as August is hot on the lake. The annex rooms are also incredibly soundproof and have great views, the ones on the ground floor open onto their own small private area with table and chairs, then directly onto the lawn and pool area, which gets sun all day long till about 6.00 pm. This is an ideal arrangement which would be great if you had young kids. There is ample car parking, although we arrived by public transport, which was really easy with trains from Malpensa airport to Como and then a boat up the lake. We heartily reccomend La Fagurida restaurant in Rogaro in the hills above the lake, quite a hike but rewarded by the best farmhouse food immaginable, we loved it so much we booked for the next night on the spot ( I think the portions were even more generous the second night ). The hotel's buffet breakfast was better than many I have had in Italy and nothing was ever too much trouble. The view from the terrace on the top of the hotel's tower is breathtaking so make sure you find time to go up. The hotel does close at midnight each night which has been mentioned in some of the reviews. The owners try to ensure that noise from the terrace is kept to a minimum after most guests have gone to bed, it is not a curfew, it is just common sense.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2009

This is the 1st holiday in Italy for about 8 years, Hotel was 1st class the owners could not have been more helpful & frendly, would recommend this hotel & location to anyone, will be going back I have fell in love with Italy again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanLakeDistrict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

We stayed at the Villa Marie in mid May. The location is stunning. Yes it is by the main road but so are all the other hotels! Ask for a room in the new annexe which is back from the road, behind the swimming pool. The rooms were new, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast is served outside with lake views and is buffet style. The owner did tell us that he locks the gate at midnight but he also said that if you are later you can ring the bell, so no problem if you want to stay out longer. It is a 10 minute walk to the cafes/Tremezzo Palace/Villa Carlotta and the walk is stunning. Cross over to the lakeside and cut through the park it is beautiful, you can stop for a glass of prosecco on the cafe terrace to break up the "journey" !! We also loved cocktails at the Candle Bar at the Tremezzo Palace which really was something special! To eat there we spent around 200 euros for 4 people, but a fab experience! There are also cheaper cafes lakeside just before you get there and we ate there the other nights - main courses approx 8 - 9 euros. Dont miss Villa Carlotta either that is gorgeous! We also visted Bellagio and Como by boat. Bellagio is quaint with cobbled streets but Como I wouldn't rave about, worth the journey to see all the other lakeside villages (and George Clooney's villa of course!). All in all a fantastic holiday and I would definitely go back to Villa Marie I have never stayed anywhere with such a beautiful view!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mochachocca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

We stayed at the Villa Marie after reading all the positive comments below and i must warn my fellow travellers to avoid this place! the "management" (a couple) is extremely unprofessional- any request for information about lake como (our first time there) was met with rolling eyes and curt replies. We were first put into a dank, musty room on the ground floor of the non-main building- it was so uncomfortable and dark that we requested another room in a nice manner- and after much huffing on their part, finally given another room. The street noise from the highway was significant for anyone looking for a quiet getaway. And beware of the midnight curfew- have never seen that policy outside of a youth hostel! The worst occurrence happened when we requested a taxi to another lake town that the wife of the manager told us (and quite abruptly) didn't have direct ferry service- when we found out from the information desk in town that there in fact was direct service, we went back to the hotel to cancel the taxi (much before the arranged pick up time). The wife of the manager started screaming at us and told us how dare we cancel the taxi and that it was "alot of trouble" for her to book one- i was there when she called the taxi service and it took all of 10 seconds to book the car. By that point, we had enough of the verbal abuse and checked out, although we had no other hotel room booked. We finally found another lovely hotel with managers who actually care about their guests. PLEASE avoid this place unless you want your holiday ruined!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank globetrekker21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2008

We are a mature couple who spent one month touring Italy. It was our lucky day to find that a hotel that we knew was already booked and found the nearby Villa Marie with non-tour group rooms.
The location is beautiful, overlooking Lake Como with all that lovely vista has to offer. The main building, itself like a well kept private estate villa is lovely with it's high ceiling spacious rooms and painted ceilings in the public areas. The villa is vintage excellance. The annex, with 10 modern spacious, new, immaculate rooms with balconies is also above the usual find for a hotel in this class.
It is a short walk, but noisy because of traffic, walk to one of the best restaurants we found in Italy, La Darsena.
The Innkeepers, Andreas and Elizabeth, were cordial and charming as well as being very helpful with things of local interest.
It is a hotel that we would seek out on a return visit.
PMF

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CBOsprey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremezzina
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
835 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Aurora
Hotel Villa Aurora
#1 of 2 in Lezzeno
801 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
10.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Marie

Address: Via Antica Regina 30, 22016, Tremezzina, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Price Range: £103 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A nineteenth century villa in Tremezzo turned into a comfortable and charming family-run hotel, that offers warm drawing-rooms in liberty style with big windows and ancient frescoes, bedrooms with every comfort, garden with lake view swimming-pool, panoramic wi-fi terrace, bar, private parking and garage, boat-moorage on request. The Villa Marie is an delightful friendly hotel set in a enchanting schenary in the gulf of Venus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Villa Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marie Hotel Tremezzo
Hotel Villa Marie Tremezzina, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing