We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!”
Review of Hotel La Darsena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Darsena
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel La Darsena for 3 nights (9/18-9/20/12) while on our honeymoon and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We requested a room with a balcony overlooking the lake and the views were spectacular! The room was comfortable and the large bathtub allowed for some relaxing baths at the end of the day, though showering took a little bit of maneuvering so as to not end up with a puddle of water on the floor. There was free wi-fi and we had no trouble with the connection. Breakfast was served in the restaurant which also has great views of the lake and a nice breeze when the windows are open. We enjoyed the freshly made pastries (the croissants were delicious!), ham and cheese selections, yogurt, coffee and juices. We also ate at the restaurant--my husband ordered the cheese ravioli which was by far the best pasta we ate during our 2 weeks in Italy! Since we were traveling without a car, we took the C10 bus line from the train station in Como, which dropped us off just in front of the hotel. It was also very easy to take the ferry to travel around the lake since the ferry stop was a few feet from the hotel as well. In terms of hospitality, you can't find anyone nicer or more pleasant than Tiziano and the rest of the staff at La Darsena. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would look forward to a future visit as well!

Room Tip: Reserve a room overlooking the lake!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mari E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (812)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Darsena
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 812 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2012

We chose this hotel on the back of the glowing reviews in Tripadvisor, with the intention of having a memorable stopover on our way to Genoa (where we took a ferry to Sicily). It didn't disappoint, though as elsewhere in Italy, prices seem high - especially given the state of the economy and the problems within the Eurozone. But here you are also paying for location - the hotel hangs over Lake Como, with balconies jutting out over the water and offering lovely views across to Bellagio. The restaurant on the "ground" floor offers a similar balcony where we enjoyed both a lovely evening meal and breakfast. A wonderful setting.

The bathroom in our room (105) was large and well appointed; in fact, proportionately large to the bedroom itself, which was relatively modest but more than adequate. The balcony was small, but it was simply a place to stand and admire the views.

The staff were friendly and very happy to advise on what to do, and because it was raining a little the next morning, we decided to visit the Vila Carlotta (see other review). It's only a few minutes' walk from the hotel. There's also a small park by the side of the hotel where locals gather and use it as an entry point to take a dip in the lake.

There are no real communal areas in the hotel other than the restaurant, though the small size of the place adds to its sense of intimacy. Wifi was included.

There is some parking at the side of the hotel, though I had to jam my car in next to the hotel building because all the regular spaces were full by the time we arrived from Switzerland at around 5.15pm.

We paid 350 Euros for one night including an evening meal at 130 Euros for two adults and a child, including wine. You have to decide for yourself on value, but this is a memorable place to stay. We enjoyed it.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank ttree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed here for 1 night and dined in the restaurant based upon the reviews.

+ Near the ferry terminal so very easy to find
+ Check in staff were very good and friendly
+ Restaurant has a good wine list. Although the wine we chose was out of stock the alternative suggested by the waiter was very good and slightly less expensive
+ Dining and breakfast room have open doors to the lake so great views
+ Breakfast jams are home made and are superb
- There was no shower curtain over the bath so the water can go on the floor
- Hotel is next to the road, it was quite during the night but we got some traffic noise from 6:30/7am
- Restaurant prices are typical of the area (no bargains here); food was good but not outstanding. There are several restaurants within an easy walk of the hotel that good alternatives,
- As mentioned by other reviewers the restaurant staff are efficient but don't expect service with a smile

In summary I would stay in the hotel again but dine elsewhere

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notebene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Our eighth visit to this hotel to once more relax amongst friends. Maria, Tiziano and Ezio are without exception helpful and accommodating. They always make us feel welcome and we feel that we are arriving at our second home. The hotel is spotless, food wonderful and breakfast offers such a wide variety including many home made products - for exampe, Ezio grows and makes the breakfast jams. All of the staff make us feel so at home that it would be unthinkable not to return next year!
Peter & Barbara Jarman

Room Tip: Lake view rooms offer wonderful views over the lake. All rooms are of a good quality
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HertfordshireJm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We ate here because it was close to our hotel and because we had walked by here on several occasions during our 3 days in Como. Also, TA reviews were very good, so we thought what the hey. Interestingly enough, the menu posted outside had a bolognese pasta dish on there and that was a big reason why my wife wanted to do there one evening - she loves that stuff. Anyhew, we get there and the real menu doesn't have bolognese on there, so, we decide to leave, simple as that...on our way out we are very honest with the folks, and as we exit, the mgr says No Problem, I'll make bolognese for you if that's what you want. That was, my fellow TA reviewers, a great way to start the evening. The night went by really quickly and although we had to sit inside, there are a couple of outside fences (smoking allowed) and a couple of patio tables on the water (no smoking, but semi-outdoors). Overall, I'd say it's a charming place to dine. They were very busy as the night progressed and you could tell that the wait staff were working their tails off. While that didn't provide for poor service, it certainly wasn't service with a smile by any means. The food overall was decent, but nothing out of the ordinary. The bolognese was nice and my pork dish was also just nice - pork is not easy to prepare because it has a tendency to dry out very easily and Darsena probably did the best job of prepping the dish because it wasn't as dry as some of the pork I'd tried in Italy till that evening. The Darsensa dessert sampler was also okay, and I commented to my wife that their pineapple slices smelled like farts...it's true, they did. Candidly this should be a 3 star review, but, because the mgr stepped up and offered us the bolgnese, I've bumped it to 4 stars. I'm really not sure if there are great places to eat in Como, but, La Darsena would be worthwhile if you're in the Tremezzo area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wong561hb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

After reading so many wonderful reviews on tripadvisor, I was very much looking forward to our 3 night stay in a Lake View room. Maybe I built up the expectations too much in my own mind prior to our arrival . . .
The location is breathtaking, our lake view room was perfect and we loved it. Close to the ferry terminal also, which was very handy. The food was some of the best food I've eaten, absolutely fabulous and I could eat there every day.
The service I found strangely not so good, which I was not expecting. We were given NO information at check in, we didn't even know what time meals were. I NEVER saw anyone at reception to ask any questions. Also I don't advise you pay up front for the half board option, you get shoved in a corner like you're invisible in the dining room and have to wait 40 minutes for your plates to be cleared prior to ordered the next course. After all, they already have your money, no extra effort required.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lcookie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

This hotel is absolutely as wonderful as the Tripadvisor reviews said. We had only two nights to spend here but found it a perfectly delightful spot with the nicest manager around. Our room (103) had a gorgeous lake view and two balconies, a sleek, modern bathroom and ample space. Air conditioning (it was a warm spell) worked well as did the complimentary wi-fi. Breakfast in the open lakefront dining room was delicious and offered lots of variety in the ultimate setting. The hotel is an easy walk from Villa Carlotta and the ferry stops, as well as a very helpful tourist information center. Of particular note is that the hotel owner/manager personally came out and helped us to flag down the C-10 bus when we left in order to get us to the Como train station in time for our departure because the previous bus had failed to stop. There is ferry service quite late back from Bellagio in the summer via the car ferry which stops a little further down from Villa Carlotta if you happen to go there for dinner but the hotel also has a gourmet dining room. We can't recommend the Darsena highly enough!! You will love it.

Room Tip: Room 103 is wonderful. Book early as this popular hotel fills up quickly.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremezzina
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
846 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,102 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
2.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Aurora
Hotel Villa Aurora
#1 of 2 in Lezzeno
785 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Darsena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Darsena

Address: Via Regina, 3, 22016 Tremezzina, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzina
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Price Range: £84 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Darsena 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel La Darsena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Darsena Hotel
La Darsena Tremezzo
Hotel La Darsena Tremezzina, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing