We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!”
Review of Hotel La Darsena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Darsena
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed in La Darsena for two nights and it was just perfect. No photo can descrive how awesome the bedrooms are. Even the fourniture inside looks better when you see it in reality. We had the room with two balconies. Best views ever, you'd never go out from those chairs in the balcony. The breakfast is just awesome. Homemade croissants and a great variety of food. And the service is perfect. The hotel doesn't have any common area.... so what? I didn't miss it. If we had to say two "negative" points: very slow internet (although it's for free) and in the morning the light eneters inside the room even with the courtains so it makes it difficult to sleep. The parking is also for free. There are not many free spots but the owner will always be helpful in that sense. And we always found a spot so no problem with that either. In short: if you go to La Darsena, you'll enjoy your stay for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuimBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (835)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 835 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

What a wonderful hotel! My family was staying in the Lake Como region and picked this hotel originally because of its location on the lake, as well as its price point. There were so many more positives we enjoyed that these two paled in the comparison.

We checked in after a long day of travel. We didn't have a car, so it was nice that the hotel was so close to the ferry stop in Tremezzo. The on-duty hotel manager greeted us and quickly got us into our room. What a room! Having two balconies overhanging the lake was nice. The larger of the two balconies, located on the side, did have views of the road, but they were minor compared to the beautiful views of the lake. The smaller balcony had a 180 degree view of the lake and surrounding mountainside. Wonderful little nook to curl up, read a book, or just relax. Fish could be seen swimming beneath the balconies, and ducks played on the water surface next to the hotel.

The rest of the room was very nice. The third bed in the room made it slightly smaller, but that's to be expected with the family staying in one room. The bathroom was very nice, as well, with a sitting tub and a lakeview window.

As mentioned in previous reviews, the restaurant was very good. We ate there the first night. We were seated on the balcony overlooking the lake. Excellent food and service. Just before it began to rain, the staff extended the awning over our heads. It was fun watching it rain while we ate. We also had our breakfasts in the restaurant each morning. Again, the food was top notch. On the last day of our stay, we had to leave before breakfast started. The staff allowed us to have breakfast as they were setting up and have my daily cappuccino before we left.

Speaking of the staff, they were all very personable and friendly. I was especially impressed with the two managers. They were very knowledgeable about the region, and had recommendations that were spot on. It was nice getting to know them and about their families and lives outside the hotel. By the end of our stay, they were more like family than hotel staff.

The area surrounding the hotel was very nice as well. There is a large park area with a walkway south of the property. We walked through it one night and were greeted with a premier movie showing and concert. To the north of property is the ferry stop and town of Tremezzo. Our favorite salumeria, where we picked up meats, cheeses, crackers, and beverages, could be seen from our balcony. The ferry stop was very convenient, as were were able to tour the other towns on the lake.

Overall, Hotel La Darsena is a wonderful place to stay and relax on Lake Como. A presto!

Room Tip: Choose corner rooms with two balconies. Definitely worth the incremental cost. Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peteman901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We spent three night - half board - at La Darsena in mid-July 2013. The hotel-restaurant is located right in the city center of Tremezzo on the west coast of Lake Como, 1 min from the boat to visit Bellagio and other cities on the other side of the lake. The hotel is a relatively small, red building stuck between a very busy road (including many trucks 24/7) and the lake. We were happy to be able to park our car 5 meters from the hotel without any surcharge. We enjoyed the dinners very much (included in our formula), especially when seated on the terrasse literally 1 meter away from the lake. However, the hotel part of La Darsena is a big disappointment and I still wonder how this hotel can be rated #3 out of >130 hotels around Lake Como! First, there is no place to quietly relax during the day except the room. The hotel lobby consists of 2 square meters and one single chair. Period. All the ground floor area is dedicated to the restaurant. No quiet lounge area to sit and relax with a book. No grand terrasse with beds to enjoy the sun or the lake. As for the room, Double room attic with lake view on the second floor, even though I liked the decoration and the superb grand blue bathroom, I found the quality of sleep to be POOR. How can you sleep on such a harsh mattress and more importantly, facing a window exposed East with NO curtain / window shutter whatsoever? No wonder why breakfast starts so early even during summer time (7:30am): no guest can sleep after 8am in this hotel! Breakfast was OK although the orange juice made from concentrate was not good. Internet connection was OK as well: no need to re-login every time (good!) but slow connection. As for service, it was unequal, neither very special nor bad. I will certainly come back to the delicious restaurant but not to the hotel for a simple reason: I like to sleep at night, especially when on holidays.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Voyageur3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiziano P, Responsabile reception at Hotel La Darsena, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Sir,
we thank you for your review and taking your suggestion, we let you know that we just called the technician to speed up our free Wi-Fi line that it will be faster starting from next 10 days.
For the next hotel guests, we want to make clearer some of your points:
- into any hotel description you can find that we have got lounge area or grand terrasse with beds to enjoy the sun or the lake
- our mattresses are Simmons, higher quality
- in all the attic rooms front windows have got adjustable Venetian blinds and the others on the roof have got electronic buttons to close/open the shutters
- breakfast starts at 8.00 am
Sure to do not disappoint you, regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Ezio and his family welcome you like old friends. If you choose a balcony over the lake the view and quiet is stunning. The room is a good size with nice bathroom and air-conditioning. You are close to the ferry to take you to all neighboring towns. A little tourist train for 8 euro will take you to Managio return. Villa Carlotta is within walking distance as are 4 very good restaurants around Grand Hotel which are very affordable, 1 has live crayfish or Lobster. However you will NOT want to deny yourself at least 1dinner at Darsena the food is delicious and cooked to perfection. The veg tortellini was soo tasty and a good starter, but the boneless rabbit was unbelievable..slow cooked melt in mouth mmmm

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We visited Lake Como for the first time 8 years ago staying at the Grand Hotel Tremezzo. During our stay we visited La Darsena for several meals and found the quality of food and service extremely good and sensibly priced. We took a brochure of the Hotel La Darsena and vowed that one day we would return and stay there rather than the Grand. 8 years on and we did just that to celebrate my wife's 70th birthday.
We stayed for 1 week in the best room lakeside with 2 balconies overlooking a magnificent view of Lake Como, and booked half board as we knew the food would be memorable. We were not disappointed. The standard has been maintained impeccably. The family who run La Darsena are incredibly charming and professional, and our stay there could not be faulted. The food remains at a very high standard and the wines are very reasonably priced and the whole staff are extremely helpful and professional. I would not hesitate to recommend La Darsena to the most discerning clients for a memorable holiday on Lake Como. The position of the hotel is exceptional, with easy access by boat to the best locations on the lake.

Room Tip: Stay lakeside to avoid traffic noise and definitely book half board as this is the best restaurant o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greyheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

After a lovely drive up from Milan to Lake Como, we arrived at La Darsena - a beautiful little hotel right on the lake. The room has a balcony overlooking the lake with a breathtaking view towards Bellagio. It was in perfect condition and was quite spacious. The breakfasts were excellent and the two dinners we enjoyed at their restaurant were easily the best we had in Italy (we had traveled through Venice and Milan on our way to Lake Como). The staff was very friendly and helpful. And the location right on the lake is perfect. It's a short walk to the ferry stop which we took to Bellagio and to Villa Balbianello in Lenno. And it's a short walk to Villa Carlotta which is a definite must see in Tremezzo. Don't know when we'll be back in that part of the world, but we'd be sure to stay at La Darsena again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davey314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We have been at La Darsena hotel last october!
More than located in a wonderfull, dreaming place...This hotel is quiet surprising!
We didn't expect what we've lived.
This hotel is so made Italia, romantic and exquisite !
The room was perfect..good bed, beautiful view, big bathroom, clean... So perfect!
The most surprising thing was the restaurant... The pumpkin risotto was the best Risotto of my life!
No the best dish I have ever eaten! Congratulation for that !

Moreover the breakfast in front of the lake was MAGIC !!!

So keep going I will definitely recommend this hotel and come back one day because I will remember this short stay of 1 night all my life!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremezzina
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
858 reviews
3.5 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
2.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Aurora
Hotel Villa Aurora
#1 of 2 in Lezzeno
801 reviews
10.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Darsena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Darsena

Address: Via Regina, 3, 22016, Tremezzina, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzina
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Price Range: £76 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Darsena 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Darsena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Darsena Hotel
La Darsena Tremezzo
Hotel La Darsena Tremezzina, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing