We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Hotel La Darsena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Darsena
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This was our first visit to La Darsena and it won't be our last . The two brothers-in-law who own the hotel were wonderful to us even accommodating us at the last minute for dinner when we didn't have reservations and it was raining so hard, we couldn't leave the hotel. It was very much appreciated. The view on the lake were spectacular and the breakfast was spectacular, with the best fresh fruit salad ever.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (812)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Darsena
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 812 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

We wanted a place with a balcony overlooking the lake that wasn't a huge hotel for 3 nights. You are made to feel really welcome upon arrival and throughout your stay.. Breakfast was just as good as the view Including home made jams. The best fresh bread and croissants we have had so far. Our room was spacious and pictures show the good bathroom. We booked dinner there and it was also delicious and made for a delightful evening. Other nights guests having dinner are heard if windows left open but no sounds if closed and all is ended by midnight even on a Saturday night this was no problem for us any night going to bed 11 pm. Mid lake location can be more difficult to get to late in the day by boat if coming a long distance but the bus runs there departing Como lakeside 8:30pm about 50 mins. Last ferry from Bellagio isn't late enough if you wish to have dinner there unless you use boat taxi.

Room Tip: Lakeside room for view to Bellagio is with the extra dollars as road is directly behind hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We took a trip to Lake Como for a friend's wedding and picked La Darsena as our hotel base. It was a fantastic stay - the location is right on the lake (as opposed to most of the accommodation in the area that is across the road from the lake), the staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was very good. The hotel incorporates a restaurant that is used for the breakfast buffet and sitting at the table looking out across the lake is absolutely wonderful. I would definitely return and thoroughly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob0018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

From the moment we arrived, the staff and owners of Hotel La Darsena in Tremezzo made us feel welcome and comfortable. Our room was perfect, lakefront with our balcony literally over the lake, an absolute delight! The room was comfortably appointed, the bed (2 twins but they were somehow attached in the middle, and the slight gap was not uncomfortable at all) was good, bathroom very functional, a nice mini-fridge with snacks and beverages, alcoholic and non, and everything was SPOTLESS! I am picky and finicky, and I was completely satisfied with everything about our room. My ONLY distress was that the air conditioning was a bit weak, it was unseasonably warm while we were there, and the a/c really wasn't adequate to keep the room very cool. However, that they had a/c at all was exceptional, as many places in Italy do not. Just a few minutes walk to catch a ferry which would take you to any town on the Lake, and a bus stop right near the ferry station, Hotel La Darsena was a perfect location for our stay on Lago di Como! Delicious breakfast every morning, and we had lovely dinners there two evenings. The dining room has a terrace overlooking the lake! Such a spectacularly beautiful lake, and such a relaxing environment. We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: If you can stay lakefront with a balcony, it's well worth it!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed at La Darsena in 2010 and enjoyed it so much, we returned again in Sept 2013. We are not ones to normally return to the same location/hotel, so this says alot. Lake Como is postcard perfect and La Darsena is on a great section of the lake, convenient to the mid-lake ferries, restaurants, etc.

The owners were once again great hosts, made suggestions for dinners out, and provided us with wine glasses for a mid-afternoon drink on the balcony. The rooms are large, especially for Europe, nice large bathrooms, and everything is spotless. Totally agree to request a lake view room as it is so nice to open the door and enjoy the lake views whenever you're in your room.

Great place in a great location.

Room Tip: Lake view is a must, and get the room with two balconies if you can. Nice large covered terrace in...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geaux1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The Hotel is right on the Lake about two minutes walk from a boat terminal which is on the regular boat route around Lake Como. For those travelling by car it has plenty of parking and is on the main Lake road. It is two minutes walk from Tremezzo and close to Villa Carlotta. The service is spot on and very friendly and personal. We had a bottle of Champagne and a welcome card which i thought was a nice touch. The staff speak relatively good english and are always delighted to help. When booking make sure you get a lake side room. Book early as they only have a small number of rooms. The road side rooms can be a bit noisy and if you are staying more than two nights may detract from your stay.The rooms themselves are a good size and functional not luxurious but comfortable.The hotel also has a very good restaurant which is also popular with the local's. Always a good sign!

Room Tip: Book Lake side with balcony....you get one of the best views on the Lake
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JayViator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The hotel was recommended by a friend and we were not disappointed. This was one of the best hotels we have stayed in whilst in Italy. We stayed for a week while attending a wedding nearby. The hotel is located a short walk just along from the ferry dock at Tremezzo and is right on the edge of the lake. It has fantastic views over the lake to Bellagio. The main bus between Como and Colico stops just over the road from the hotel and the mini train from Menaggio also stops at the ferry dock. Do not be put off if you stay in one of the 'attic rooms'. It was busy when we stayed due to the Grand Prix at Monza and the only room available was the attic room. It has two velux windows which provided lots of light and are operated electronically. All the facilities in the room and the hotel itself were of top quality. The bedroom and bathroom were spacious and clean. The room had a TV, free WIFI, minibar, safe, air con, hair dryer and the bathroom had a good sized shower. Everything was in good order. The staff were friendly and the standard of food in the restaurant was excellent. The best meal we had all week was at the Darsena. Breakfast was always fresh and they had a good variety of food available to eat while you look out over the lake. Definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake are quieter. The rooms on the other side are near to the road, so no lake view...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremezzina
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
845 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,100 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
2.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Aurora
Hotel Villa Aurora
#1 of 2 in Lezzeno
785 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Darsena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Darsena

Address: Via Regina, 3, 22016 Tremezzina, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzina
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Price Range: £84 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Darsena 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Darsena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Darsena Hotel
La Darsena Tremezzo
Hotel La Darsena Tremezzina, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing