We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, quaint lakeside hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Darsena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Darsena
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice location, quaint lakeside hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

In a touristy town on the shoes of Lake Como, La Darsena is different from most properties. On the lake, not across the highway. Small, not stately like the other properties. Family run.

First, a couple of things I didn't like - a bit pricey for what you get. No lobby or place besides your room to work or congregate. Only a stiff desk chair in the room besides the bed to sit on.

Now the good things - welcoming staff, parking on the property, easy to find and really right on the water. Beds were comfortable, bathrooms okay. Mine only had a shower that ran on the bathroom floor.

Restaurant is a high quality gourmet place that attracts a following, especially weekends and lunch. It is very pricey and has a limited menu. Fortunately, more casual places are just a few minutes walk away.

Breakfast on the terrace is a treat. Nice selection of breads and fruit, cereals and hard boiled eggs. Also a wonderful apple juice from a local producer.

This hotel would be perfect for a couple on a romantic getaway. As a business person on a quick, one night trip, I was not as appreciative. I would come back with company and you sure can't beat the location.

Room Tip: Pay to get lakeside view and away from highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M2hra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    112
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
88
562
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level Contributor
171 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Wonderful hotel literally on Lake Como, across the lake from Bellagio. Located conveniently near a boat stop. When they say water view, you actually go onto your balcony and look down at the lake. You are not hundreds of yards away across a highway. Nice restaurant in hotel. One of our favorite hotels in Italy. It is definitely a return stay when going back to the Lake Como area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blue72jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed at Hotel La Darsena for 4 nights in late June and will definitely return. The views from our balcony and the restaurant were breathtaking, even with storms rolling in, it was fantastic to watch. Upon arrival we had trouble getting our TV to work. After asking at reception, the manager came back to our room immediately and fixed it. (there had been a storm the afternoon before which had affected it). All the staff were so friendly and helpful with information on the ferries, walking tracks and the weather. We ate twice in the restaurant and it was romantic and very special.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the lake for the view and the quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RMMMOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Our second stay here in this wonderful part of Italy. This family run hotel is wonderfully located on the edge of Lake Como. Totally relaxed, but with terrific service. Food is exceptional in a lovely dining room. The rooms are extremely well appointed with an astonishing array of technical features. We can't recommend La Darsena more highly.

We will be back.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank PLinacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

What can I say. We planned to stay here, after a recommendation from a guide book, for two nights, once we got there we decided to stay an extra night. It is beautifully located just 50m from the bars in tremezzo, close to the landing station for the boats (the car didn't move for three days!) and right, and in mean, right on the lake. The staff excelled! They could not have been more helpful or considerate. Our room was an attic room but don't get the wrong impression it was plenty big enough and be fitted from having excellent views across the lake. Moving on to the food! The breakfasts exceptional and the evening meal, week, the restaurant has an excellent reputation and is busy, but as a guest if you book in the morning no problem, and you get the best seats. The food is lovely and the wine list brilliant, with excellent guidance from the staff. I cannot praise this hotel enough, as you may have gathered! Enjoy !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bosgellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in Room 102 for 5 nights in early Jul. It was fantastic, breakfast is delicious with lots of choice. The room was spacious and light with a small 1 person balcony showing you a stunning side view of the lake.
My only comment is I'm not a deep sleeper and there is large 2nd full window over looking the road. I found this quite loud and it is busy into the night and from the early hours I struggled to get to & stay asleep. My husband didn't so it is a personal thing!
When we go back (& we def will) I would def need to be lakeside it makes all the difference.
The staff are lovely, so welcoming, friendly & helpful.
We ate 2 fabulous meals here in the eve also. To have the view right across the lake both in the am and at night is just stunning.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in room 107. It had 2 balconies which added to the experience. The room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was very nice too. The staff were extremely welcoming. We ate in each of our nights. The food is restaurant quality rather than hotel and so were priced accordingly. The food was top quality and in a very special setting on the terrace overlooking the lake. Great breakfasts too. The hotel is small and therefore very personal. It is located along a pleasant strip of hotels, shops and restaurants but not really in a village. However it is right be side Villa Carlotta one of the "must sees" in the area. It is also right next to the boat for easy access to the rest of Lake a Como.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 107. Got the evening sun on the side balcony and morning on the lake balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremezzina
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Aurora
Hotel Villa Aurora
#1 of 2 in Lezzeno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
15.1 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#1 of 1 in Sorico
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Darsena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Darsena

Property: Hotel La Darsena
Address: Via Regina, 3, 22016 Tremezzina, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzina
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Darsena 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Darsena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Darsena Hotel
La Darsena Tremezzo
Hotel La Darsena Tremezzina, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing