We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family run & their passion for service is clear”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Perla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Perla
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas area
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Family run & their passion for service is clear”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed with the great people at La Perla for two nights as part of our 12 day tour of Northern Italy, which began in Rome.
We found La Perla to be just perfect for us. As many have stated, the two sisters and their husbands run the place and have a passion for service and making sure that their guests are satisfied at every turn.
To get to Tremezzo, we took the bus from Como, and were happy to find that Sergio was at the bus stop eager to greet us as we pulled in. There are other options to reach Tremezzo (car, boat), but we hadn't done the bus thing yet on this trip, so why not!? It was way cheap, just over 3 euro each and didn't take much longer than a car would have, with the trip lasting about an hour. On our return to the train station in Como, we had a gorgeous day and opted for the the ferry, which was 14 euro each and took us about 30 minutes.
Back to La Perla...the rooms are not big, but very clean and nice, with most having a view of one of the most beautiful places in the world. The hotel also has several common areas with some spectacular views and the staff is very willing to make sure you get every chance to enjoy their hilltop location.
The internet was spotty at times, but served us well overall. Breakfast is good with a number of choices and everything seemed very fresh.
We highly recommend La Perla, and would absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    102
    17
    0
    0
See reviews for
155
521
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Hotel La Perla is a great hotel, situated on top of a hill, which provides a fantastic view of the lakes. And because it's on top of the hill away from the main road, it's very quiet and peaceful. However, it is a little tricky to find, because of all the windy small roads that lead to the hotel. We used the GPS, but it had difficulty catching up even with the slow driving. But after a few trips up and down to the hotel, you get used to it and it becomes easier. The hotel is very clean and modern looking. Our room was very clean, and it had a balcony overlooking the lakes, which is very scenic. Our only minor complaint is that that the insulation/sound proofing in between the floors and walls are not the best, so you can hear the movements that surround you, but it's not that bad. The hotel has an outdoor parking lot at the front entrance, and also an underground garage. The underground garage is nice, but the parking spaces are very tight and requires careful maneuvering. The hotel is run by the owners, consisting of twin sisters and their husbands. They are very welcoming, friendly, helpful and personable. Their service was very attentive and outstanding. They provide a shuttle service from the hotel to the ferry station twice a day, which is convenient.

And speaking of great service, one evening, we were delayed in returning to the ferry station by 6 PM, so we missed the shuttle back to the hotel. So we had to walk back up the hills to the hotel in the rain after a very long day full of excursions. On our way up, we heard a car honking, and when we looked, it was one of the owners on her way up to the hotel. She picked us up and saved us a lot of time and up hill walking. Speaking with her, we learned that when she was returning to the hotel for her shift, she was told by staff to keep an eye out for us possibly walking back to the hotel, because we missed the shuttle. My wife and I were so impressed and grateful for their thoughtful gesture and commendable service.

The breakfast served every morning was very fresh and delicious. The dining area is very well decorated and scenic as you get a view of the lakes. And the restaurants they recommend are very good and reasonably priced.

Overall, it's no surprise that Hotel La Perla is rated #1. Our stay was great, the owners were fantastic, and we'd definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan90638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

What a lovely hotel. The staff, is so friendly and helpful, they go out of their way to ensure that you stay 100%+. We stayed for two nights and had three little children (7year old, 3Years & 2 Years). The rooms were spotless and extremely comfortable. The breakfast menu was fantastic and we opted to stay in for dinner and dine at the restaurant, the food was good value.
Above all the view is breathtaking, from the dinning room you have the best view and we had a fantastic view from our room, so much so that we spent a lot of time sitting on our verandah sipping chianti.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Musicluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

To set this review in context, we had booked La Perla for the second leg of a 10 day stay in Italy. The first 4 days of which we spent in Venice at the most amazing hotel where the highest attention to detail and quality are at the forefront of everything the owners do. Unfortunately we found this was not the case with La Perla. Do not get me wrong, La Perla is spotlessly clean and the staff are very friendly but it was lacking a very important ingredient...soul.

At this price a major complaint was with the daily breakfasts. At an avergage of € 140 per night, I would expect at the very least fresh milk and fresh fruit juice but unfortunately you will not find either (unless you are prepared to pay extra) at La Perla. The breakfast selection was ok but nothing is fresh, even the fruit came out of a tin. Very disappointing.

Another pain was the wi-fi connection which at worst is non existant and at best is very frustrating, especially when doing research on things to do in the area or to get a decent weather forecast.

The location of the hotel is also quite mis leading and despite the free shuttle bus it soon became a chore to travel 2km up the hill after a long day out exploring the area.

On our last night we had a meal at the Hotel Darsena which was exceptional and the staff were equally as nice. With the benefit of hind sight we would have certainly stayed here.

If you are looking for an immaculate hotel with very helpful and friendly staff then look no further you will not find a better hotel but if you are looking for something with charm and quality touches look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank babypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dellac73, Proprietario at Hotel La Perla, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Thank you for your review, as we accept both compliments and criticism as they can only help us to improve. We are very sorry for what you have written about the breakfast, we just wanted to clarify that in our buffet we present fruits in syrup but also a choice of fresh fruit (apples, pears, bananas, kiwi, pineapple etc ....) that you don't have unfortunately even mentioned, we remind you that all the bread and croissants are cooked by ourselves every morning, ensuring their freshness. For the juices (apple juice in bottle) that you have extra ordered every morning , They have never been charged extra on your account and we want specify that we have only addebiate drinks consumed from the minibar in the room which is obviously not included. These details are only due because, in our opinion, was not told the truth. For everything else we accept your opinion and your advice to.

Minetti Clelia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

What can I say the Hotel is as seen on the Web Site, the staff could not do enough if you asked them advice, always smiling which is very rare these days, its obvious that they enjoy their job and are professional with it. Its nice to see the rooms were as advertised and the View was fantastic, Breakfast is what it is great Coffee and a wide mixture of Breads, Meats, Cheese etc, all fresh was fantastic. Is there anything I would change about the Hotel not a chance!!! Travelled the world over but this will always remain as the one you would talk about.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

We travelled as 3 families all with our own specific needs. Sergio, Luca and their lovely wives went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Each request for information was met with a smile and with a detailed and well researched reply.

The rooms were kept immaculately clean and were very spacious. Our group had 2 of the larger rooms with large terraces overlooking the lake.

If we travel again in the Lake Como area we will be sure to stay at La Perla again. The hotel, is not located on the lake edge, but is about 2 km up in the hills. It is located in a very quiet steet away from all the traffic on the lake front. It is very easy to travel around the lake as a 3 min drive from the hotel takes you to the ferry quay where you can then travel to all the points of interest on the lake.

Breakfast is adequate, better than most hotels that you find in Italy, but not the sumptuous breakfasts that me may find elsewhere. That said it was always sufficient.

A car is a must if basing yourself here unless you are prepared to hike up 2km every day. Parking around the hotel and within the hotel is ample.

Overall a great place to stay at while visiting Lago di Como.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

It's our silver anniversary. We stayed for two nights. The room has a beautiful and amazing view, as well as clean. Very friendly people and good services. Very happy to stay. Well recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyHaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremezzina
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#1 of 1 in Sorico
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
3.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Aurora
Hotel Villa Aurora
#1 of 2 in Lezzeno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Perla

Property: Hotel La Perla
Address: Via Romolo Quaglino 7, 22019 Tremezzina, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Perla 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel "La Perla" is located in charming "Tremezzina", away from noisy streets but with a wonderful view over Lake Como. It is an oasis of peace and tranquillity where you will always be hospitably received by our friendly staff. The hotel is beautifully framed in olive beams, a great place to spend your holidays. All our rooms are tastefully and elegantly furnished and offer a fantastic panorama view over Lake Como. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Tremezzo
Hotel La Perla Tremezzina, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing