We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Hotel Rusall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rusall
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We spent 5 nights here prior yo our wedding at Villa Carlotta. The service was fantastic and the food very good.

Breakfast was buffet style with a good choice, but you could order eggs however you liked and they were more than happy to oblige.

Before arriving we requested a room with air conditioning and Lydia (the owner) was happy to arrange this. Both owners were friendly and always spoke to ensure we felt welcome and cared for.

They allowed us to have other guests of the wedding party to the hotel to eat and also let us arrange a mini hen do the night prior to the wedding where they made some lovely canapés for us before our meal. The evening meals were lovely.

On the day of the wedding they came to check everything was ok a few times and upon leaving for the ceremony they were all waiting outside and clapping and cheering. Lydia also took some lovely photos.

The views from the hotel are spectacular and although it is a shorts walk down the mountain to the lake I would recommend it as it feels so much more calm, quiet and tranquil. On this note, the walk down the mountain is lovely, but I'd recommend a taxi up and it will cost approximately 15 euro.

Towels are provided for around the pool so no need to take your own and the pool area is very clean and well looked after.

Rooms were very clean and beds very comfortable.

We will be returning and wish to thank everyone at Hotel Rusall for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms with air con so request this when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

We have just returned from 4 days at the Hotel Rusall.
A group of us stayed here for a wedding at villa carlotta on Tuesday 22nd July.
We decided to take a taxi to the hotel from malpensa airport as it worked out cheaper and the bus cannot go up the mountain to the hotel as the road is too narrow and steep, however if you have a car they have an underground car park.
Arriving at the hotel you can clearly see why it is so popular, it has the most impressive views over the lake.
We were greeted by the owners who were very happy to see us, chat about our journey and take us to our rooms.
There are 2 areas of the hotel with rooms, the main building and the annexe. The annexe is where the family rooms are situated which is right next to the pool but totally separate from the hotel. The annexe has larger rooms with aircon but the view not quite as good as the main hotel rooms.
The hotel rooms are small but adequate. I did my research beforehand and found that the room DO NOT have any tea and coffee making facilities so I brought a cheap kettle with us as the thought of going anywhere with a cuppa in the morning terrified me! Yes I need my tea before I can face the world!!
We had a room facing the lake with a balcony and my god is the view impressive!
Smoking is allowed in these rooms.... Yes I'm sure some non smokers will not like that but the laws are different in Italy and smoking is not the taboo subject it is here in the uk.
The beds are comfy and although they are large it is essentially 2 singles fixed together.
Due to lack of space most suitcases will slide under the bed. There is a wardrobe with 2 drawers a desk with 1 drawer with mirror and a light over and 2 very tiny bedside shelves. A full height mirror also on the wall. The bathroom again is small but adequate with a VERY powerful shower but again cubicle is very small. All bathrooms have a bidet too with plenty of towels and mini toiletries replenished each day including a toothbrush.
Rooms all have ceiling fans which do the job but you will need to adjust it by climbing on the chair or bed to put it at a faster setting to get better relief from the heat, so just be careful. Lights are each side of the bed too.
All rooms have shutters for the balcony doors, some are electric and they can be very noisy but we didn't bother closing them as it was so warm at night we kept the doors open and shutters up. It also gave us a spectacular view of the storm the first night we arrived.
Yes previous reviewers are correct the walls are thin, but you only really hear the loo flushing unless there is a romantic couple enjoying their healthy nightlife with their balcony doors open lol.
Although the info supplied gave times for food they are more than happy to cook for you, but please do NOT order polenta..... Just trust me on this! Service was excellent and they will do whatever they can to help you. I wouldn't agree with previous reviews that the owners completely understand English. There is still a barrier there so be very basic and clear about what you want.
As for drinks, they do NOT measure spirits and I nearly choked on what I thought was a gin and tonic to realise it was actually just gin with a little bottle of tonic on the side lol. You will not need much money to get yourself merry in Italy! They are very generous!
Breakfasts are the BEST. Sat outside whether rain or shine under the balcony on the varender with a continental breakfast of ham, cheese, salami, bread, cereals, fruit and yoghurt. Jams and Nutella. Plus some kind of fruit pie. They also cook eggs to order fresh, either boiled, scrambled or omelette, at no additional cost. There is a coffee machine and fruit juice and tea. You can help yourself to as much as you want.... I recommend the blood orange juice and a latte macchiato! I ate mostly Nutella with fresh rolls as it would be rude not to!
I enjoyed my mornings at breakfast and would spend a good 2 hours sat out there just relaxing.
Unless you are very fit you will need a taxi to the bottom and yes it's about €15 to the lake. But this is Europe and it is expensive for a taxi. There are no buses to the hotel and walking up from the bottom is not pleasant. The hotel will call you a taxi whenever you need one.
The pool is nice and clean, a lovely area with sun beds and parasols and the hotel supply towels in the pool house which has indoor and an outdoor shower as well as a toilet. The hotel is well maintained with a very strict morning routine for cleaning, the hotel is very clean and they clearly pride themselves on this.
The hotel has a small bar and a very large lounge area with lots of new leather sofas and furniture. There is a basement with toilets, motion detector lighting and flushes that you put your foot on to flush the loo, I especially liked that.
There is also a lift at the hotel.
The other meals are very good but expensive. There isn't any pizza on the menu either so anyone with children might struggle.
Our last night at the hotel we had to move into another room with a mountain view as our booking was extended at the last minute, however we still had a lake view too but no balcony which wasn't a problem as by the time we had got in from the wedding we didn't need the balcony.
This room was slightly larger and the bathroom was huge it also had a bath.
I have some advice overall about the hotel so it will help you decide if it's the right place for you!
Definitely take a kettle as the rooms do not have them.
Hair dryers are supplied and perfectly adequate.
If you like lots of pillows ask for more. You only get 2 each and they are very good quality. The 2nd will be in the wardrobe as only 1 per person is on the bed on arrival.
Whether you are still in the hotel or not in the morning, the cleaners will tidy the room, make the bed and replenish bathroom.
If you want to pay in advance for your room, be very insistent! The owner tried to charge me for an extra night, but I questioned my bill at the end. Another couple were also charged extra so always make a note of anything you eat and drink as it will be charged to your room and mistakes can be lost in translation!
In my opinion the Rusall isn't particularly child friendly. Kids will get bored easily if the pool can't be used because of bad weather and the owners don't like children running about.
The hotel is very regimented and you can see the owners are not very relaxed, but they are always concerned about your comfort so if you get offended easily this may be a problem.
They can be very abrupt with customers, for instance I accidentally broke a cup but it slipped from the stand while coffee was filling it, it was the vibration. But they seemed quite angry which in turn made me a little embarrassed in front of other guests but I wasn't that bothered.
If you are visiting in July or August take a small 6" fan with you if you don't like the heat and take a European plug with a normal uk extension lead as there aren't many sockets if you have chargers etc to plug in.
There's no entertainment, it's not that kind of hotel.
Wifi is free here just ask for login at check in.
Breakfast about 7.30/8 till 10/10.30.
Bar open till 12am.
For myself and my husband this hotel was fine, we enjoyed our stay and I think 3 stars is a fair rating but the rooms are very basic. You won't get a better view in any of the other hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We came upon the Hotel Rusall by chance 4 years ago and always promised to return. I cannot understand the previous reviewer. The owner is the friendliest and most helpful person. Same with his wife. They both go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. Unfortunately the weather was a little wet but nothing could be done about that. We still had good days and loved every minute in and out of the rain. Views from the hotel are spectacular and since we were last here they put in a lovely pool which overlooks the lake so you can work on your tan and see the view at the same time. Try to get a room in the main hotel overlooking the lake. We had one of the larger rooms in the new block without a view but this worked for us as we had our daughter with us. Everything is super clean and we'll maintained. Meals are freshly prepared and although not gourmet are very tasty and plentiful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank wgoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We had to open a tripadvisor account just to warn others about this hotel. The owner was incredibly rude and unaccommodating. The hotel food was also uneventful and overpriced. Just look around before committing to this place.

Room Tip: There is no A/C. Bring your own fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edwin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My wife & I spent ten days recently around Lake Como, basing ourselves in well-known Bellagio. On the Sunday we attended an Anglican church service in Cadenabbia, followed by Sunday lunch at the Hotel Rusall, located in the hills above the lake in the hamlet of Rogaro. It involved a walk of over an hour from Cadenabbia, but it was invigorating and well worth the effort for the views along the way and those from the hotel itself.

The best was yet to come, which was the meal itself. We were greeted most enthusiastically by the owners and were then taken outside on the terrace for drinks and yet more views of Lake Como and its surroundings. The dining room was beautifully set up and we immediately felt as though we were experiencing a genuine slice of the real Italy, as it seemed as though all of the other guests were local Italians and many in fair-sized family groups.

Everyone sat down at 1.00 pm and the food began arriving shortly thereafter. The two of us had different pasta dishes for starters, one a local polenta dish, the other lasagne. Then came our main course, both of us having chosen the roast of the day, a slow-cooked veal roast with lots of fresh vegetables. Absolutely fabulous if you will pardon the well-used expression. We would have loved to have carried on, as the desserts on offer were ever so tempting, but we had the walk back to the ferry to catch and didn't wish to test ourselves any further.

Throughout the meal there was lots of laughter and happy noise, as there were many children in attendance. To us, this simply added to the lovely atmosphere that prevailed. It would seem that Hotel Rusall is family-owned and run, and their attention to detail and the like shows that they really do care about their guests and the kind of place they have. After our coffees we sat on the terrace at the back and digested the views as well as the food before setting off back to Hotel Metropole in Bellagio. A wonderful afternoon that we will never forget. Go and experience it for yourselves and see whether you agree - one can always get there by car/taxi if not up to the walk we took.

Room Tip: We only ate Sunday lunch here and did not stay or see any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigfish44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Lake Como is one of the most beautiful lakes in the world and Bellagio is its most attractive spot. Hotel Rusall overlooks Bellagio and it offers stunning views of it.
It is a family owned and run hotel that is very efficiently run with a truly 5 star restaurant offering very good quality and decent variety of food in a smart combination of buffet for starters and set menu with limited choices for main courses. Wine selection is excellent and very attractively priced. The service is impeccable with Franco and his wife Lidia running the show and making all guests very warmly welcome while the brother of Franco performs his wonders in the kitchen.
The outside verandah is really all the money and having your breakfast or a drink there is a daily ritual because the view of the lake and Bellagio is just breathtaking.
The rooms are basic but spotlessly clean, they offer great views with small balconies and are attractively priced. The hotel is really busy during weekends and this means that unless bookings are made in advance it is usually difficult to find a room at the last moment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake and especially Bellagio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelLimassol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Our friend recommended Hotel Russal and we loved it. The owners are very attentive and helpful. The room was perfect with a great view and breakfast on the terrace overlooking Lake Como was great. We hiked up and down the mountain to catch the boats. Its had everything we wanted and was a great place to stay. We had dinner there the first night and it was delicious. We saw the owners constantly working and taking care of everything. Being restaurant owners ourselves we know what a tough business it is and we really appreciated their hard work. Thanks to Lidia and Franco for providing a wonderful atmosphere with a feeling of a bed and breakfast! We have to thank our friend Luigi for sending us to you. It made our stay perfect!

Room Tip: Get the Lake View if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mcatherine14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremezzina
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
820 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#2 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
1,068 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3,095 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Victoria
Grand Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Menaggio
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rusall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rusall

Address: Via San Martino 2 | Village Center, 22019 Tremezzina, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Price Range: £98 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rusall 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rusall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rusall Hotel Tremezzo
Hotel Rusall Tremezzina, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing