We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and serene”
Review of Villa La Mirabella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa La Mirabella
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful and serene”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

A wonderful oasis amidst the bustle of Lake Como. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was wonderful, the facilities perfect for this grade of hotel. We were very impressed. One night we tried the dine-in, fixed menu, option, which was very good and worth the very reasonable cost. All in all, a lovely place to stay, and very convenient for other local amenities and boats.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    23
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
194
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Staying in this small hotel has the feeling of being a house guest in a grand lake side villa.
This family run establishment is loaded with atmosphere. We were fortunate to have a lake front room. French doors with a balcony, and views that dreams are made of. Just magical.
The furnishings are simple yet very comfortable with a good bathroom..
Dinner was served in the conservatory. A fixed menu. The gourmet home cooked dinner was fine dining and a superb wine list. A real surprise. We didn't really want to leave.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gforgerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My wife, son & I stayed at La Mirabella in July for a few days and it was a perfect base from which to explore lake Como.
The hotel is quiet and tastefully decorated with antique furniture in the rooms. Our room had a lovey view across the lake to Bellagio.
There is some unavoidable traffic noise from the road that runs beside the lake but it wasn’t constant or troubling and, with the windows closed at night and the aircon on, we all slept well. There is a pool which is cut into the sloping garden and has an infinity like view from the edge across the lake.
Paulo – who speaks excellent English – and his family run the hotel. He could not have been more helpful with information & advice. Breakfast was taken in the breakfast room again with a view of the lake and was delicious with local breads and homemade jams, cheeses, meats and fruit from the garden.
We ate an evening meal at the hotel one night. It was home cooked and delicious with after dinner coffee and liqueurs served in a lovely sitting room.
Villa Carlotta is a few minutes’ walk as is the boat dock and there are plenty of small restaurants within walking distance.
I can’t recommend this hotel too highly. If you like a small, smart hotel with personal service, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GC T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Read the reviews and the hotel and management surpassed them. Excellent attentive service and superb local knowledge from which we benefited.
Superb location and views, very convenient for local boat travel and restaurants.
We had an excellent room, spacious with first class facilities. The hotel has great gardens and swimming pool again with views over the lake. On site parking.
We replanned our itinerary based on the advice they gave us and are glad we did. They could not have made us more welcome and we would recommend the hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bwg_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This sensational bed and breakfast is located on the western shores of Lake Como, directly across from Bellagio. It is very close to the ferry service and also to Villa Carlotta. Paolo and his family went out of their way to make us welcome and to look after us on our three day visit there. Breakfast is included in the charge, and dinner can also be provided on request. The villa is easy to get to from Como, just a 50 minute local bus from Como station (C10 or C20). The pool is located behind the villa but has the most spectacular views of the lake. We just wish we could have stayed longer in this beautiful location. We will be back!

Room Tip: We had the lake view room - worth the extra for the beautiful view every day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamtarts2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My husband and I stayed for only two nights -- we wished we had scheduled our trip to spend more time here; next time we come to the Lake Como area we will definitely spend more time. We had a lovely room with a balcony overlooking the lake, The room was big, as was the bathroom. The hotel and pool are vey serene. The staff are very helpful and patient, and willing to answer many questions.

The gelato/coffee place nearby is good and a much better value than the shops in Bellagio (good quality, bigger scoops and slightly cheaper).

The hotel is a very short walk to the ferry to Bellagio, which is a very enjoyable 10 minute trip The fares are about 9 euros roundtrip. There is also a 15 euro fare which lets you take several ferry stops to various towns. Be forewarned, while the ferry near the Hotel La Mirabellla runs about every half hour, some of the other ferry stops have less frequent service, so make sure you check the schedule so that you are not stuck in some little town for three more hours than you planned. Also, we took one ferry that actually left the dock about 2 minutes early; not a big deal, if you are the type who gets to places early, but if you are the type who dashes to the ferry at the last minute, be aware that may leave you waiting for the next ferry. Also, the ferry stops running at around 11:20.

Keep in mind that this is rated a 3-star hotel, so don't expect top quality linens or room service or other 5-star amenities. I am, however, giving this a 5-star rating because the hotel really delivers on beauty, service, and value. I would definitely stay here again next time I come to the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aristippe77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and I, our family and friends all stayed together in this superb hotel from June 13-16th 2013 for our Wedding. Even before we arrived at Villa La Mirabella Paolo could not have been more helpful and attentive via numerous email communications.

The hotel and guest rooms have been lovingly restored in traditional Italian splendor. Paolo and his family are welcoming, friendly, knowledgeable and provide the most fantastic service. We wanted for nothing and were so very well looked after.

The evening meals are top quality and excellent value for money for the area.

We could not fault a single thing, would not hesitate to recommend it and would definitely return there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadenabbia di Griante
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
814 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,024 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#2 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
966 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
2,891 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Mirabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Mirabella

Property: Villa La Mirabella
Address: Via Regina 13, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa La Mirabella 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa La Mirabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Mirabella Hotel Cadenabbia Di Griante
Villa La Mirabella Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing